We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”
Review of Hotel Constantin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Constantin
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Staff were very pleasant and helpful. I called in advance, expecting a late arrival due to traffic congestion in Luxembourg along our route, and the receptionist was very accommodating.
I cannot say enough about "Barbara" the head cook, who was able to chat as we were the only late night supper guests at the restaurant. Welcoming, pleasant and very knowledgeable. It was our first night in Germany, and she was fantastic! It will take a long time to forget the wonderful Schnitzel!
The Family Room that we had booked was very clean and comfortable. Frau "Iona" held our bags for us in a locked room the following room (after check out) so that we could explore without the nuisance of baggage, which was very helpful. Everything was about a 20 minute walk away, and helped work off the Schnitzel and Beer :)
We would definitely stay here again...Thank you, especially toBarbara!

Room Tip: Book in advance for good rates. Family rooms are very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parisisalwaysgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

The only downside was that the hotel's reception closed for check-in at the remarkably early hour of 10 pm. This was despite (or perhaps because of!) the location of the hotel on a street full of night-time opportunities (strip bars, sex shops, erotic cinemas, and such like). Our room, although spartan-looking, was clean and comfortable, with possibly the largest bathroom I have ever seen (it was just a pity that there was no bath in it).
The hotel is not in a bad location at all. It's a fair trek from the station with luggage, but the city centre is perfectly walkable and our room overlooked the Roman Bridge over the Mosel. We never did try the breakfast, and nor did we try the WIFI. Overall, the hotel was a respectable, comfortable place and was good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

On the fringe of the City Central, within walking distance to just about everything, this friendly hotel was perfect for our needs. Very comfortable bed, lots of hot water in shower, easy parking for car (although 4euro fee to carpark owner on exit). Breakfast was wonderful. Good value for money. WIFI worked in our room.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank GlynnF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This hotel was apparently remodeled this past winter. We were here with friends for the start of a 10-day bike tour from Trier to outside Koblenz along the Mosel. Our room was clean and comfortable, and we had a nice view of the Roemerbruecke and Mosel. The location is quite nice and was an easy ride on the local buses from the train station (to that end, really recommend getting the DB Navigator app from Deutsche Bahn - covers buses point-to-point too...). Breakfast very good as well. If you're a bicyclist they do have an area in the underground garage for secure bike storage. No complaints. Yes it is on a busy street but with the windows shut it isn't much noticeable. Interestingly too there were some businesses around the corner on the street that weren't ideal (a porn shop?) but we never saw any questionable activity, so not a problem. Mention it only because I find you may have photographs of the hotel but unless you can check Google maps street-view you won't necessarily know what's around, a good thing to remember to check. Bottom line - I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I liked facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liza W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed here for two nights in April, 2013. The hotel was a 10-15 minute walk from the town center. The hotel is located on a busy street but the room was quiet. We were able to get free internet connection only from the lobby. BUT the lobby and all the hallways smelled like an ashtray. The two rooms that we had retained a smokey aroma. It seemed worse after the cleaning crew was finished Perhaps they smoked in the room while cleaning?? I went to the front desk to complain about the smell and noticed the staff was smoking in the back of the check in area.

Room Tip: Breakfast was 7 euro per person per day. I would skip this and pick something up to eat in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phyllis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed in this hotel for the weekend in December 2012 to visit the Christmas markets. It was a nice hotel and we had no complaints, it was also only walking distance to the town centre. We had a nice room overlooking the river, the only criticism I can make is that on their web site the hotel goes to great lengths to say how comfortable their beds are , I did not find them very comfortable at all .

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jilloutlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

I stayed here for a week in March and was very happy with the hotel. It was very moderately priced and our room was very spacious with a double bed and a pull out couch. The hotel was small and quiet, although it is on a busy street and the staff was really friendly. It has a very interesting decor, with museum-like displays. Breakfast was in their restaurant upstairs and this was also very good. In the beginning, we were a little hesitant to visit the restaurant for dinner because it was so small and there are other much flashier places around, but on the last night we were tired and ended up going there for dinner and it was one of the best meals we had that week. It tasted like a home cooked meal. There isn't much of a selection in the off-season, but what they had was amazing. Compared to other hotels in the city, its proximity to the main area of town is a little farther, but Trier is small and easily walkable, so it wasn't a big problem. I would definately come back again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NotAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trier hotels
1.1 mi away
Stadtwald Hotel
Stadtwald Hotel
#15 of 49 in Trier
133 reviews
1.7 mi away
Berghotel Kockelsberg
Berghotel Kockelsberg
#13 of 49 in Trier
233 reviews
4.3 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Handelshof
Handelshof
#49 of 49 in Trier
43 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Keisers
Hotel Keisers
#23 of 49 in Trier
30 reviews
3.6 mi away
Klosterschenke
Klosterschenke
#16 of 49 in Trier
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Constantin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Constantin

Address: St.-Barbara-Ufer 1-2, 54290 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Trier
Price Range: £50 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Constantin 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Constantin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constantin Hotel Trier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing