We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit awkward, but ok.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residenz am Zuckerberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residenz am Zuckerberg
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A bit awkward, but ok.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

I stayed 1 night when visiting the Deutschlandrally in August 2011.
The hotel is only a few minutes away from the city center (Dom, Porta Nigra, shopping area, etc. ...).
Before you book, you should bear in mind this hotel is part of an elderly home, where the permanent guests may have their 'homes' next to your hotel room. This is the awkward part. On the other hand, it did not bother me at all. People were very friendly, both residents and staff. Breakfast was served near the reception area and everything was available.

My room was huge, with a separate kitchen area and a balcony looking to the street. They should have cleaned it too, however, as there were cigarettes all over the place

All in all, this was a fairly good experience and I would recommend it if you were to look for a quiet place to sleep, with good breakfast facilities. If you would want to spend more time in your room, then you may want to look for an other hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillermo21Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    28
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
25
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

A unique combination of old persons' luxurious retirement apartments, and superior 3* hotel accommodation, which worked surprisingly well. Our accommodation had spacious bedroom and living room with dining area, plus bathroom and kitchen with facilities for tea/coffee making and cooking simple meals. There was also a well stocked mini-bar fridge, access to washing/drying facilities, and a library with free computer/internet access. Outside was an attractive garden/courtyard. The staff were very helpful and attentive, spoke good English and other languages. All was spotlessly clean and well maintained, beds and furnishings very comfortable. Breakfast buffet was excellent, and the tea room and restaurant, mainly used by permanent residents, was open during the day and served well prepared food at reasonable prices. There was also a varied programme of activities/entertainments for permanent residence to which we were invited, but we were far too busy exploring the delights of Germany's oldest city to sample any of them.
Location is excellent. Just a leisurely stroll to the pedestrianised area and along a choice of shopping streets (with restaurants) to the Porta Nigra and city centre attractions. You wouldn't know you were on the "Sugar Mountain", it's a level walk to town and, in the opposite direction to the river bank promenade.
We liked:
Spacious accommodation, range of provision
Easy pedestrian access to town and river bank
Quiet, relaxed amosphere
We disliked:
Nothing really, but perhaps not really suitable for families with young children.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank geodent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

We stayed here 1 night and found it excellent value for €99. The room was actually an apartment with a kitchen, large bedroom, lounge with a balcony.

The lady on the front desk was very helpful and we felt right at home - it's a pity we couldn't stay longer and we will be staying here again if we ever return to Trier.

The residence is primarily an old persons' home but that was fine by us and the elderly people liked to talk to our baby daughter - I probably wouldn't come here with noisy teenagers though.

There is also a laundrette as part of the complex and a load cost €3 to wash and dry which is very cheap by European standards. They also have free internet in the library or you can have it in your room for €5 via an unwieldy plug-in broadband modem.

The place was spotlessly clean. It is a 20 minute walk from the train station and 10 minutes from the middle of town (which you pass through on the way to the station).

All in all this place was tops for us.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny_Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2008

My wife, son [4] and I stayed here for 2 days in December 2008 for a visit to the Christmas market.
Apartments were first class and the staff were very friendly. Great position only minutes from the centre of Trier.
Travellers with children will appreciate having a proper apartment with a bit space as it is so much better than a normal hotel room.
For a quiet relaxing base to explore Trier it is hard to beat.
This is the second time we have visited Trier and our first stay at the Am Zuckerberg.
If we ever visit again we will be staying at the Residenz Am Zuckerberg.

  • Liked — Lots of space. Separate bedroom, sitting area,dining area, kitchen and large shower-room.
  • Disliked — Hard to fault.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Innes-NP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2007

I escorted 57 people to Trier for their Christmas markets and I found the Residenz am Zuckerberg with the help of the Trier Tourist Board.

Excellent value and not one of the 57 people had a complaint. The room is more like an apartment and it was spotless. The staff is more than helpful and the location is a 4 minute walk from the Marktplatz. The breakfast is great and you can't beat the price. I have to say also that the bed was the more comfortable in Europe and I have travel everywhere.

The street is quiet and I would definitely return.

  • Liked — Everything and no hassle for me with such a large group
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rocnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trier hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Plaza Trier
Park Plaza Trier
#3 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Trier-Europahalle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aulmann
Hotel Aulmann
#14 of 49 in Trier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Deutscher Hof
Hotel Deutscher Hof
#4 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenz am Zuckerberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenz am Zuckerberg

Property: Residenz am Zuckerberg
Address: Frauenstr. 7, 54290 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenz am Zuckerberg 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, HRS, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Residenz am Zuckerberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing