We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Efficiency in Trier”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residenz am Zuckerberg
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Sussex, New jersey
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“An Efficiency in Trier”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed three nights 1 night before and 2 during a Rick Steves Tour. Accommodations were excellent and it was more of an efficiency than a room. With an entry way, bedroom, living room/dining area and kitchen. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Senior occupants were friendly and curious of the extra activity. Breakfast was very good. Room was very clean and we had no problems with outside noise. Great location, close to attractions and some restaurants. All in all an excellent choice for staying over in Trier.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheCards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    28
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
27
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed here for three nights at the beginning of a Rick Steves tour. It's very close to the main shopping/sightseeing area of Trier at the opposite end of town from the Porta Nigra. We encountered several different members of staff, all of whom were friendly and efficient, and all of whom spoke passable - if not very good - English. The rooms are more like suites, with a bedroom, living room, kitchenette, entry hall and bathroom ... definitely the biggest hotel room I've ever had in Europe. (The kitchenette has a usable fridge and a coffee maker, but no cooking utensils.) We also had a small terrace overlooking a courtyard. There was no air conditioner, but the electronic blinds allow you to darken the room while allowing air to circulate. Breakfast was very good, and you may very well be dining at the same time as the residents. I didn't encounter any difficulties or uncomfortableness with the hotel/senior residence set-up. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tineurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

Ask for garden view since there's also street side apartments since it's quieter. But then, though the balcony is bigger for the garden view, youbse all the old people in the interior. staff are super friendly and try to be helpful but English there'd as well as much of trier is a problem so brush up on your German. When you check in make sure the room has utensils and enough for your entire party. The grocery stores are aldi by the awesome toystore and another one thats closer on on Karl Marx street. Breakfast is boring after three days and though it's nice, never varies.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This hotel is also a retirement home, so the rooms are really apartments, even including a kitchen. It is not your typical European hotel. The location is great- walking distance of all the main attractions in Trier. We would have never found it except we were on a Rick Steves tour.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carol f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Storping on the Swuft
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed three nights at this hotel at the beginning of a Rick Steves tour. It is a combination assisted living facility and hotel, so the rooms are actually wheel chair accessible apartments, with separate living room, kitchen, and bedroom. They are astonishingly spacious for the price, and quite clean. There is no air conditioning. Since the building is generally U-shaped, the rooms on the back side face the street, making them a little noisy at times. However, all the rooms have electrically lowered exterior blinds which substantially reduce noise and light. We called them "blast shields." Room rental includes an excellent European style buffet breakfast. The front desk staff spoke English and was friendly and helpful. Wi-fi is available in the rooms for 5 euro a day, and there is a computer in the library which can be used for free.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank drefson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I stayed 1 night when visiting the Deutschlandrally in August 2011.
The hotel is only a few minutes away from the city center (Dom, Porta Nigra, shopping area, etc. ...).
Before you book, you should bear in mind this hotel is part of an elderly home, where the permanent guests may have their 'homes' next to your hotel room. This is the awkward part. On the other hand, it did not bother me at all. People were very friendly, both residents and staff. Breakfast was served near the reception area and everything was available.

My room was huge, with a separate kitchen area and a balcony looking to the street. They should have cleaned it too, however, as there were cigarettes all over the place

All in all, this was a fairly good experience and I would recommend it if you were to look for a quiet place to sleep, with good breakfast facilities. If you would want to spend more time in your room, then you may want to look for an other hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillermo21Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

A unique combination of old persons' luxurious retirement apartments, and superior 3* hotel accommodation, which worked surprisingly well. Our accommodation had spacious bedroom and living room with dining area, plus bathroom and kitchen with facilities for tea/coffee making and cooking simple meals. There was also a well stocked mini-bar fridge, access to washing/drying facilities, and a library with free computer/internet access. Outside was an attractive garden/courtyard. The staff were very helpful and attentive, spoke good English and other languages. All was spotlessly clean and well maintained, beds and furnishings very comfortable. Breakfast buffet was excellent, and the tea room and restaurant, mainly used by permanent residents, was open during the day and served well prepared food at reasonable prices. There was also a varied programme of activities/entertainments for permanent residence to which we were invited, but we were far too busy exploring the delights of Germany's oldest city to sample any of them.
Location is excellent. Just a leisurely stroll to the pedestrianised area and along a choice of shopping streets (with restaurants) to the Porta Nigra and city centre attractions. You wouldn't know you were on the "Sugar Mountain", it's a level walk to town and, in the opposite direction to the river bank promenade.
We liked:
Spacious accommodation, range of provision
Easy pedestrian access to town and river bank
Quiet, relaxed amosphere
We disliked:
Nothing really, but perhaps not really suitable for families with young children.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank geodent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trier hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aulmann
Hotel Aulmann
#13 of 49 in Trier
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zum Christophel Hotel-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Plaza Trier
Park Plaza Trier
#3 of 49 in Trier
783 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paulin Hotel
Paulin Hotel
#16 of 49 in Trier
63 reviews
0.8 mi away
ante porta - Das Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenz am Zuckerberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenz am Zuckerberg

Property: Residenz am Zuckerberg
Address: Frauenstr. 7, 54290 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenz am Zuckerberg 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Residenz am Zuckerberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing