We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Pieper
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Reviewed 5 November 2013

stayed 1 night during 2012 xmas holiday. it's a lovely neat hotel. there's only staircase and the parking facility is good but be mindful that they close the door after a certain time. we came back late after dinner and the garage door was closed but managed to find someone in the hotel to opened it up for us. Hotel staff spoke a little english and were pleasant. we managed wt communication some how and didn't find their lack of english language a problem to us.

we booked a room for 4 people but ended up with 2 rooms next to each other. we had to split, each adult wt a child as our boys were young to be left alone in a room. we didn't mind this at all.

being xmas season, the breakfast was superb. such a variety of cookies, cakes, meat slices & etc.

it was a lovely stay.

Room Tip: their english isn't the best and can be a wee bit difficult to understand. we booked a room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

Having a high score in Trip Advisor and guided through the photos published, we trusted we were making the right choice for our stay in Trier but it was not.
It is an old Hotel that needs the owners to invest in painting and carpets of the entrance, stairs and corridor to the rooms. Disgusting!
The bathroom also old, though the room it was clean.
It was a hot night so we had to open the window and the noise of the cars all night long was quite annoying.
We felt we paid too much for the poor quality of this hotel considering above comments and the fact the price doesn't even include the breakfast.

Room Tip: choose another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AUKASISA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed in hotel Pieper near the end of our 18day tour of western Europe.
Booked through Booking.com and didnt expect much as the price and some dodgy reviews made me think it would only be ok for a night as there was nothing else around in that price range.
We were very pleasantly surprised!
Have to check in with staff at the bar, and they barely speak english and i only speak French and Italian! But it was fine as we muddled through and they are very nice people.
2 twin rooms were good sized with ok en suite.
Decor was pretty dated but clean and functional.
We only stayed one night and we ate at the bar, One of the best meals we had on our epic trip. I had a fillet of beef which was stunning, was brought a massive peice of beef with a small salad, then she came back with a huge basket of lovely chips!
Everyone else just pointed to something on the menu and was happy they did. Food was great.
We had breakfast here too.
Buffet breakfast was VAST! I went back 3 times just to try a bit of everything. Only to find out from the Mrs that i had missed half of it!!!
I think i had breakfast included in my room price, but i would happily have payed £10+ for it!
Only bad thing as someone else mentioned is the parking. We easily found a space out the back (down adjoining alley) but if we had got there 20 mins later who knows were we could have parked! No spaces on the street! And i couldnt see any carparks.
To sum up, if you speak a little German are on a budget and dont have a car this place is perfect. But i would definately eat here even if i stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davehornet6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This was literally the only place with rooms available, so we didn't have much choice in the matter, but Hotel Pieper was adequate. The bathroom was nice and the room was fairly large. Third floor was quiet. Check-in was a bit strange; we had to go into the bar (I nearly knocked out the poor man holding the door with my backpack!) to register, and then we had to wait for ten minutes for someone from the hotel to show up. It's a very secure hotel; there's a fob to get into the outer door and then the hotel, and a different key to get into your room. Five-minute walk through residential/business area to get to the Porta Nigra; also about five minutes to the train station.

Room Tip: There's a bar on the ground floor, so the higher up, the better, I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank batty87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel with a 6-month-old baby. The rooms were nicely decorated and very clean. The staff was very helpful and agreed to do some extra arrangements so we can stay there and book the last available rooms for the weekend.
The hotel is well located, just a short walk away from the Porta Nigra (the main sight in the city).
The food at dinner was tasty and the the lady was extremely generous in giving us a complete tasting session of the local wines she had, so we could order a bottle of the wine we liked the most.
The breakfast buffet was extremely good and had a surprisingly large variety to choose from, from cereals, cold cuts, and eggs, to salads, plenty of fruits, and amazing bread. This has to be one of the best (if not THE best) breakfast buffets i have had in my experience staying in hotels/B&Bs in Germany since I've been living here (four years).
All in all, great hotel to stay at, and a magnificent bargain for the more than reasonable price you pay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esteban_Altamirano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stopped in Trier on a whim and picked this Place out of the Rick Steves travel book. The room was large and clean with a huge TV and nice shower. The breakfast buffet was the largest and best we had on a two week trip throughout central Eurpoe. We were able to walk to the city center shopping in 5 minutes. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

This hotel is a good option for Trier, being just out of the city centre. It was a bit hard to find, driving into town – we were looking for signs to Porta Nigra as the nearest tourist attraction, but didn’t find any until the driver and navigator were just about at screaming point with each other. Make sure you print a good map of the town to take with you! We realised later that it’s not far from the main railway station so looking for signs for the Hauptbahnhof might be the best bet. Note that the hotel has only limited parking, and parking can be quite hard to find on the street outside. Staff were friendly without being special. Unexpectedly we realised that Trier was quite badly bombed during the war so outside the main square, which has been restored, there’s not a lot that’s really attractive about the town; and we found it really hard to find good local restaurants – everything seemed to be pizza, which isn’t what I want to eat when I’m in Germany. The best place by far that we found was a beer garden and restaurant at the back of the Basilica; we also had quite a good meal at the Rathaus restaurant in the central square. The best thing about Trier is the Mosel Valley which is beautiful and full of lovely wineries. When I come to this area next time I would prefer to stay in one of the Mosel villages rather than Trier; Trittenheim, Bacharach and Bernkastel were all interesting and pretty places. We recommend for wine the Weingut Clusserath-Weiler in Trittenheim which also seemed to have a guesthouse.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trier hotels
1.1 mi away
FourSide Plaza Hotel Trier
0.1 mi away
ante porta - Das Stadthotel
1.5 mi away
Berghotel Kockelsberg
Berghotel Kockelsberg
#12 of 49 in Trier
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Am Ufer
Hotel Am Ufer
#34 of 49 in Trier
38 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Deutscher Hof
Hotel Deutscher Hof
#5 of 49 in Trier
425 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Keisers
Hotel Keisers
#24 of 49 in Trier
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Pieper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Pieper

Address: Thebaeerstr. 39, 54292 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Price Range: £69 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Pieper 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HRS and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Pieper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing