We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable clean but parking a problem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Kugel
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Newport News, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable clean but parking a problem”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The room met our needs for a one night visit to Trier. Located away from the center city we expected access and parking to be easier than we found. Parking for hotel guests was given over to revelers in the beer garden. No one was attending to the needs of guests after 6 pm and we had to move our car several times. Getting to our room required several twists and turns but it proved to be comfortable and clean. Breakfast was quite good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pastorsam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    12
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schagen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The hotel has different owners since 2 months and the "biergarten" was closed / gone cause of a new parkingplace.
The towels, we left on the floor for changing, were again hanging on the door and no new ones .. bah !
Also the WIFI was more NOT working then working.
The (hungarian) restaurant also had new owners and has nothing to do with the hotel anymore.
The food here is great ! and would recommend it if you stay in this hotel or in the neighboorhood.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Kugel is situated in a quiet area about 8km from the city centre of Trier. It is good value for money. Nearby are some restaurants and a kebab house. The restaurant of the hotel is closed on Thursday. Parking space at the hotel is limited, but we had no problem to park our car nearby. The room was clean, but the corridor was smelling. The staff was friendly. The breakfast was excellent for an additional 5 euro per person.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

This hotel is in a quiet but run down area of Trier. Did wonder whether the motorbikes would still be there in the morning! The room was basic, dark, and the ensuite had a list of things broken in it, although the shower did work but had no holder. The parking was in the access road to the front of the hotel, and although it was free it was not so secure, although the bikes were still there unmolested in the morning. There is nothing going on in this part of town and the bus service was sparse.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkyandPerky099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trier hotels

Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

Hotel Kugel is a really what I would call in German a "Pension" - which has come to mean a smaller, modest hotel that offers good value and a friendly, home-like service. Rooms were very clean and actually a little larger than expected. Showers/lavatories looked like they were recdently upgraded. Room cost includes good quality German breakfast buffet with very friendly service.
Location is in a suburb of Trier that offers plenty of low-cost dining options within walking distance. Drives to Trier and Luxemburg were short and easy. I understand there is also quick bus and train service to Trier. Hotel is not on a main street, which keeps noise down. The restaurant in the same building was very nice, real Italian, and serves great portions of tasty food at very reasonable prices.
In short, this hotel does not offer luxury, but is clean, friendly, with great value, and lets you feel that you are more than just a tourist.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Auf Wiedersehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trier hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Keisers
Hotel Keisers
#22 of 49 in Trier
25 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Schuetz
4.3 mi away
Berghotel Kockelsberg
Berghotel Kockelsberg
#11 of 49 in Trier
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Stadtwald Hotel
Stadtwald Hotel
#14 of 49 in Trier
115 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Ehranger Hof
Hotel Ehranger Hof
#28 of 49 in Trier
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Kugel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Kugel

Property: Hotel Restaurant Kugel
Address: Kirchenstr. 17, 54294 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Restaurant Kugel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Kugel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing