We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zum Christophel Hotel-Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at Zum Christophel for two nights in May 2014. The location is excellent, a quick five blocks from the train station, next to the Roman Porta Nigra gate, at the north end of the main shopping street, and a quick walk to the cathedral and museums. The breakfast in the restaurant downstairs was quite good, and allowed us to watch folks walking into the town center. The hotel compared very well to other small German hotels we stayed in. Room had pair of twin beds pushed together and sofa. Only snag: the staff at checkout didn't know how much our room rate was, and we had to show her our confirmation e-mail.

One challenge for me: I stayed in the same hotel in 2003, and I remember it as more comfortable ten years ago - slightly more comfortable rooms and exceptional breakfast. I'm still glad I booked here rather than getting a room at a cheaper but farther out restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert2765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband and I spent one evening here following a Christmas party, and it was a lovely stay. The rooms themselves are fairly spartan, but comfortable, and we had a room that overlooked the Porta Nigra, which was terrific. Breakfast was excellent, with a wide variety of choices, and the location can't be beat. Terrific for a quick getaway.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcmcdonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Nice clean room, a bathroom with a window and a view of the Dome and rooftops of the old houses in the area. Very friendly an helpful staff. We had a very nice dinner at the hotel one of the nights. Buffét breakfast was all right. Close to everything - shoping, sightseeing, restaurants, bars and cafés. Stay here if you are visiting Trier!

Room Tip: We had a room on top with a wounderful view of the rooftops, the Dome and the mountains in the dista...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunkershall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I booked this place 3 weeks before arrival, asking for a room overlooking the Porta Nigra and specifying (and therefore paying) a parking place. I never got any answer concerning the room, and was given a "stupid room" (no light next to the massive armchair and none either on the desk that doesn't allow any comfortable reading, when taking a bath, my head was hitting the awkwardly fit heater...). Worse, we were told there were no parking spaces available and had to park in town, even though our booking did specify we requested and would be charged for one. Pretty inconvenient if you don't speak german or do not know the area well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cimmerianbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed everything about this hotel. The location couldn't be better - an easy walk from the hbf, right opposite the Porta Nigra and tourist information office, and about 150m from the main shops and Christmas markets. There are bus stops right at the door too.

Our room was comfortable with plenty of space for 3 people even which the sofa bed in use. The breakfasts were amazing and kept us going all day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banjo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Had pork filets on top of a pile of spatzle with jäger sauce. So damn good! Came in a clay/ceramic pot. A must have.

The hotel room was nice with a view of the Porte Nigra and within walking distance to several tourist areas.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stopped one night at this hotel. It's beautifully situated for all of the sights and the staff were very welcoming. The parking was a couple of hundred metres away but was easy enough to find. The wi-fi hardly worked on the second floor but that was the only problem we had. Breakfast was excellent. I'd definitely stop here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmg513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trier hotels
0.3 mi away
ante porta - Das Stadthotel
0 mi away
Altstadt Hotel
Altstadt Hotel
#44 of 49 in Trier
71 reviews
0 mi away
Romischer Kaiser
Romischer Kaiser
#24 of 49 in Trier
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vinum
Hotel Vinum
#29 of 49 in Trier
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Trier
Park Plaza Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zum Christophel Hotel-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zum Christophel Hotel-Restaurant

Address: Simeonstr. 1, 54290 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Price Range: £69 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zum Christophel Hotel-Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Zum Christophel Hotel-Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Christophel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing