We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Porta Nigra
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
9
24
13
3
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
24
13
3
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrecommend this hotelper nightporta nigrahbfsupermarketdeskreception
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

A lucky find in the old Roman town of Trier on a very busy weekend. Stayed just one night but would be fine for longer and there's a lot to see in Trier.

Quiet 2nd floor room, (the only room on 2nd floor); comfortable, clean and good price for Trier; grocery store next door; good location ½ block from the Porta Nigra Roman Gate; excellent full breakfast; short walk to historic churches, squares, restaurants, shopping, market stalls. Only minor issue was the very poor Wifi connection. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: rooms facing the back quieter but no view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JML544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. It was clean and comfortable. It was also reasonably priced compared with other hotels in Trier. The location is great and staff were very friendly. We would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We found this hotel, which is in the centre of town, to be very reasonably priced. It included a very good breakfast. The staff were all very helpful, although their english was limited other than one woman, however they were great about trying to respond to our questions and giving accurate information. They apologized for the size of the room, since we got the last available room that day, however it was very nice and not too small. The room and bathroom were both spotlessly clean and the beds were comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't on the top floor. The rooms at the top are smaller due to the roof line and you will need to climb a few stairs even after you take the elevator all the way up.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annoyingly_Picky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We came to Trier had a dinner and were looking for a hotel room. Everything was booked out that night in Trier, and then we found this little hotel that had last room free just because of it's cancellation. The owner was really friendly and helpful. Room was really average but had no problem with it. It was clean, had towels - everything you need for one night stay when you are really tired and need a good place to sleep. You have nice continental breakfast. And what we REALLY appreciate is that this hotel is pet friendly so we could stay there with our doggie. Not to forget to mention that this hotel is few steps from the centre. We would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend but as I mentioned, be prepared for average rooms. Parking place cost 5 euro - ok price.

Room Tip: We had a street view on the top floor.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinaSt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Arrived in Trier on 25 May 2012 without a booking. Went to the tourist information centre and they told me would be lucky to get accommodation as it was a long weekend. However they phoned a few hotels and were glad they were able to arrange a room for at this hotel.
The owners were polite and welcoming and spoke good English.
Hotel rooms were small but very clean and had everything that we needed. Only issue we had was that hotel room smelt of cigarette smoke but we went next door and bought a scented candle and after we lit that and opened the window the smell soon went.
Hotel is well located and city centre is only across the road.
Breakfast was included in the price which was the usual German breakfast with cold cuts etc. Was very good quality.
Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you can ask for a non smoking room
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsala20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews