We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tailormade Italian meals”
Review of Vapiano

Vapiano
Ranked #39 of 461 Restaurants in Saarbrucken
Price range: US$13 - US$19
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Takeout
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Tailormade Italian meals”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Vapiano means go slowly and yes the service is very slow.
When entering the restaurant you get a badge which allows you to order what you want. There is choice between salades, pasta and pizza. Unfortunately you have to wait in the row for +/- half an hour (it certainly is when you chose paste) before you get at the desk. The cook prepares your choice of pasta (freshly prepared on site) and sauce in front of you.
You can chose wine by the glass: choice of 20 bins from Italy and other countries. Excellent wine houses such as Firriato from Sicily.
Once you received your food you can eat inside, on first floor or outside at large tables.
You pay after you have finished by giving your badge to the desk.
Beside the long delays, the price / quality value is very good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    120
    54
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Why eat terrible food in a town with many decent italian options?”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

A self-service restaurant serving low quality italian food. I tried a fresh pasta dish (which actually did not make much sense to me for the heavy sauce I had -- I would very much prefer a decent dry pasta to go with it) -- but also the is pasta really bad. It tasted like chinese instant noodles, too soft, and very greasy. I am appalled that the restaurant is so popular given the wide availability for decent italian places in SB (starting from basic ones -- e.g., Vino Salentino serves nice and uncomplicated pasta for 8 EUR to some very fine places like Gabbiano). The red wine I had was oxidized (which is surprising given the number of customers? how come they had an old bottled?). My friend had a very similarly disgusting pasta.

The only good point it is dirty cheap but then it was virtually uneatable.

Worst meal of the month :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saarbrucken
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Young modern atmosphere & Italian food”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This is a real nice place to get a casual Italian lunch or dinner; Pizza, Pasta, Salad, desert...
Prices are fair, although you need to have patience to wait in the lines to get your food prepared (especially the Pasta).

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dv600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedara, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“LOVE Vapiano!”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

This is the second Vapiano restaurant I've been to and I love it. I went with a friend to the one in Wiesbaden and this time I brought my family to the one in Saarbrucken. The food is delicious and I like the self service style. Parking is close and the Christmas Market is in full swing.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S8325WNlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki,Finland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Pizza!”
Reviewed 24 September 2009

It is a sort of a "self service" restaurant but they do have a really good food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ddude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vapiano also viewed

Saarbrucken, Saarland
 
Saarbrucken, Saarland
Saarbrucken, Saarland
 
Saarbrucken, Saarland
Saarbrucken, Saarland
 

Been to Vapiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing