We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid rooms on the street-side!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel One Saarbrucken
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Saarbrucken
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2013

OK - it is a great no-frills hotel and a great bargain, clean and modern. I don't usually tolerate inexpensive hotels, but this one is fully acceptable. Free wifi, bonus. Two very annoying issues however leading to my review - 1. no outlet by the little desk to plug in laptop, only one outlet in the entire room which just seems against building code; 2. rooms facing the main street are VERY loud and they WILL NOT MOVE YOU if you didn't notice it within 1 minute of being in the room. I made the mistake of putting things in my room and then immediately running out to meet someone. When I came back an hour later and had time to notice the street and the noise they said it was "too late" to change, that the room was "used", and then I got a lecture from the guy at the desk about how the windows are double-isolating glass so that "you can't hear the street". Excuse me? I assure you that I can indeed hear the cars, quite loudly and distinctly. I think I would have been almost OK with the refusing without the patronizing "oh, you can't hear the noise" lecture. I have given this feedback to the hotel in their comment form and hopefully the management will pay some attention. Otherwise, I recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: avoid the street-side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

I stayed here last month (March 2013) and was suuper happy with the hotel.
If the penthouse is available its definitely worth paying the extra few€.
The Rooms are clean big and spacious.
The Hotel is smack bang in the middle of the Saarbrucken nightlife area but the hotel is very well insulated and there is no noise from the street.

Room Tip: Penthouse all the way :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hickey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

This hotel in the centre of Saarbrucken is just perfect for a quick stopover. The rooms are small but have all you the facilities you could need. Housekkeeping is excellent. Breakfast is an amazing selection of goodies. It has secure parking and is directly in the centre of town.

Coming from the main road it would be easy to miss, even with SatNav. So go slowly and enjoy.

Finally, this hotel is outstanding value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel and we were very happy with our choice. I changed to this hotel at the last minute because of the great feedback on this site and am so glad we did. The hotel is very new and you can tell. It is very modernistic in it's design so don't expect any "old world charm". The room was a decent size for a European hotel room. There are shelves on one side of the bed for clothes and on the other side there is a very small closet. Not a ton of storage but workable. Small work desk and stool (which I used as a night stand). Our room was at the end of the hall and seemed to be a bit bigger than some others. We had a small loveseat. Other rooms looked to have a chair. The bathroom was small but very nice with a great rainshower head. The staff at the hotel was very helpful and friendly. Even with a language barrier (we speak almost no German) they always tried to help. We opted to have breakfast at the hotel each day. It was 7.50 Euros per person and if you took the breakfast your inroom wifi was free. Otherwise the wifi was 5 Euro. The breakfast was very good. Your standard yogurt, rolls, cold cuts, fruit and hard boiled eggs. More than enough to get you started. Small parking garage so make sure you call ahead for a reservation. Last but not least the location could not have been better. The old town with the Christmas Market and shopping was right behind the hotel. Great restaurants within walking distance also. Only negatives to us were the fact that since it is a lower cost hotel, the rooms were missing a few normal items. There are no phones in the hotel rooms which is a bit weird. The bathroom amenities were liquid soap for body & hair. No bar soap and no tissues.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel53NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I have to say that the hotel is brand new and you can see it everywhere in it. Everyone is very polite,the hotel location is the best in the city,the rooms are practical and the price is great. Then why 3 stars? The first night we where so tired and we were going to sleep when we found a 30cm black hair on my pillow and a few 5-6cm long hair on my girlfriends pillow .(she is blond and i am bald so we can't say that maybe they were our hair...).The whole situation was unacceptable and although the next days we didn't have any complaint this thing made us to feel a bit awkward with the hotel.
Bellow i rate it with 3/5 in cleanliness because i don't want to destroy the hotel grades but my realy true grade would be 1/5.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stelios F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Loved staying in this hotel, the people were all so friendly and helpful. the breakfast is nice and the atmosphere is relaxed and pretty. The rooms are a little small but I didn't stay in there much. Bed was comfy. Shower was great. I especially liked the location, right near the center square which is so lovely. I liked Saarbrucken very much, the people are friendly and welcoming. Enjoyed the food too. Zum Stieffel was traditionally German. Would go back to the hotel and city in a heartbeat. My one request would be for them to do free wifi.

Room Tip: rooms are a bit snug and I enjoyed not being on the road side. less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This hotel (no idea, why they're calling it a motel... :-) ) is brand new, offers great design, very interesting prices, night reception, and so on. Very well situated in the heart of Saarbrücken (old part of the city), you can enjoy a great time along the river Saar.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salvitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saarbrucken hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Am Triller
Hotel Am Triller
#1 of 33 in Saarbrucken
409 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Saarbruecken City
0.5 mi away
Ibis Saarbruecken City
Ibis Saarbruecken City
#10 of 33 in Saarbrucken
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Saarbruecken Sud
1.6 mi away
Victor's Residenz-Hotel Saarbrucken
1.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Saarbruecken Ost
Ibis Budget Saarbruecken Ost
#9 of 33 in Saarbrucken
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Saarbrucken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Saarbrucken

Address: Schillerplatz 4, 66111 Saarbrucken, Saarland, Germany
Region: Germany > Saarland > Saarbrucken
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Saarbrucken
Price Range: £68 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Saarbrucken 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel One Saarbrucken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing