We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OVERRATED”
Review of Hotel Madeleine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Madeleine
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Saarbrucken
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Having read the fantastic reviews about this hotel, we had looked forward to staying here; however, it was rather a disappointment. On the plus side, the room was nice enough and included free wi-fi. However, apart from the bed, there was no place to sit (neither sofa nor chairs). What we hated most was that the hotel keeps its front door locked 24/7. So, you have to ring the doorbell to enter, have to wait for someone to come to the door (there was never anyone at reception), have to stand at the door while someone looks you up-and-down as if you are a criminal; then, hopefully, you look decent enough for the door to be opened; then, you have to give your name so that they can check if you are allowed in the hotel. We found this procedure very unpleasant, intrusive, indiscreet, and unexpected of a hotel of this price-range. If you are badly-dressed, looking a bit rough, or have any notion of inviting someone up to your room, you may want to think again. The hotel and reviews make much of the hotel’s organic breakfast. We found it to be very uncomfortable, formal, and pretentious. Every food item has a card which describes what it is and verifies its “organic” origin – even the salt and pepper on the table had a card with a description! This was simply too much. Overall, we would not recommend this hotel nor stay there again. There are better, less pretentious, more relaxing, and much cheaper options in the city.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kasparus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

Me and another 5 friends stayed there on April 4 2012.
What can I say, it shows a 2 star hotel at the entrance but let me tell you, I have been many places and usually a 2 star is a 2 star, but for this one in particular the stars do not make justice! It is impeccable, looks and must be new, it is extremely clean and modern throughout, starting from the rooms and all the way down to the dining area, very modern indeed.
Location is great, downtown, across the street from the Townhall and municipal parking, step to Obertoberstrase plaza and market, the place to shop and eat. Great location and priced accordingly, €78/ night plus €78 for what they call "Bio" breakfast...all "Organic" for the North Americans. Amazing food and variety. Tasty and plenty!
Fully recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aquauomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Madeleine in March while attending a conference at the University. The hotel is basic, but comfortable, with a simple room, good shower, and a good breakfast with a focus on organic ingredients. The hotel staff were friendly, with no problems even with a quite late arrival. The location is close to the center, making it easy to walk to a number of good restaurants, but isn't really that close to the university (which, from what I could tell, is at the edge of town). Overall, a pleasant, but not particularly memorable, stay, with a good price to value ratio. Free wireless was a plus.

Room Tip: I don't think the room placement is that important, the hotel is on a side street that dead-ends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

I stayed here for several night on a trip to University Saarland, so they rented the place for me. I was not particularly impressed (it is a budget hotel) and comfortable enough. Breakfast was much better than I expected for a budget place (nice breads, cheese, meats, etc). Location is quite central (but Saarbrucken is small so probably this is not a problem in general). Still I suspect the price is a bit too high for a budget hotel in a small not touristic town. But still I stayed a week later for one more day, so you can see that I was satisfied enough.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank meenhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank ronhermanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Tomtom1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saarbrucken hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Saarbruecken City
0.6 mi away
Hotel Am Triller
Hotel Am Triller
#1 of 33 in Saarbrucken
398 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Saarbruecken City
Ibis Saarbruecken City
#10 of 33 in Saarbrucken
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Motel One Saarbrucken
Motel One Saarbrucken
#3 of 33 in Saarbrucken
192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Domicil Leidinger Village
Domicil Leidinger Village
#6 of 33 in Saarbrucken
149 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Saarbruecken Sud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madeleine

Address: Cecilienstr. 5, 66111 Saarbrucken, Saarland, Germany
Region: Germany > Saarland > Saarbrucken
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Saarbrucken
Price Range: £73 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Madeleine 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Madeleine is the perfect host. A small boutique hotel with 31 rooms for business travelers and city-loving individualists who value sustainability. Sustainable as well as environmentally conscious action are now indispensable part of our company management. For this reason, we are the hotel of Madeleine and have certified us by Viabono and also by the CO2 footprint, as the first hotel in the Saarland, we have made a clear commitment to the practical protection of our climate. The Madeleine is a delightful and stylish place, so you have to love it. Enjoy our breakfast buffet with many organic products (including vegetarian and vegan products, checkpoint ABCERT AG DE-ÖKO-006) and make use of the proximity to all the sights of Saarbrücken. The best available rates are available from bookings through our hotel website! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Madeleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing