We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 beautiful days in Chemnitz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Chemnitzer Hof
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Chemnitz
Certificate of Excellence
Wroclaw
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“3 beautiful days in Chemnitz”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I have travelled to Chemnitz on a private tour with my over 90 year old mother. The rooms are vey spacious and nicely equipped. The staff very friendly and helpful. My mother could spend some independent time in the care of the hotel staff on the nice terrace overlooking the Chemnitz opera house.
The restaurant has a very good chef and food, which we enjoyed very much.
Chemnitz train station which is currently undergoing a complete overhaul is just around the corner - but the noise level, we experienced had been very low.
Trams lines are across the street and a park area in close vicinity.

Room Tip: A Room with a view - on the opera house
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    46
    21
    4
    0
See reviews for
18
18
10
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Spent 2 nights at this hotel which we enjoyed greatly. Has real charm since it was built in the early 1930s and has many Art Deco features. Rooms are very comfortable and breakfast was excellent. We also had a very enjoyable dinner in the restaurant. It's built on a square which also has an old church and great art museum so very pretty, and about 10 minutes walk into the centre of town.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms and based on our experience, try and get one away from the street as it can be a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katja F, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Chemnitzer Hof, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Herr David M.,

vielen Dank für Ihre positive Bewertung und das große Lob an alle Mitarbeiter.
Wir sind sehr stolz, dass Sie einen angenehmen Aufenthalt in unserem Hotel hatten und freuen uns schon jetzt auf Ihren nächsten Besuch!

Ihr Team vom Chemnitzer Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

Clean hotel, excellent room, awesome food in restaurant. Staff very friendly and helpful, Internet included in price and parking was very reasonable 10 euros for covered parking. We needed a late checkout due to local business meeting that wasn't a problem. If we return will definitely stay here again. Recommend the dinner for two chateaubriand was one of the best meals I have ever had five stars for sure.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jimnix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leichsenring, Manager at Hotel Chemnitzer Hof, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihren Besuch in Chemnitz. Das Hotel liegt im Zentrum direkt neben der Oper und somit bieten sich beim nächsten Besuch ein Astecher in die Oper oder Knstsammlung an. Besonders zuempfehlen die Wagner Woche om 30.05. - 01.06.2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canuck in Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

My husband spends a lot of time staying at this hotel and I happened to be with him on this trip. This is not a fancy place with designer furniture or artwork, but I loved this hotel. The rooms are spotlessly clean. The front desk employees are always professional and courteous. The restaurant staff treats the guests and dining room with a respect I don’t often see. The food is delicious too and presented with pride. My husband has come home with several stories of how the hotel staff have gone out of their way to take excellent care of him. This hotel was an unexpected discovery and I recommend it to anyone.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lusciouskiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leichsenring, Manager at Hotel Chemnitzer Hof, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Google Translation
Werter Gast,

vielen Dank für Ihr Lob. Das ist ein schönes Erlebnis, wenn man mit Ambiente und Gastfreundschaft Gäste begeistern kann. Besuchen Sie uns bald wieder. Höhepunkte 2013 ist das Wagner - Fest zum Geburtstag von Richard Wagner Ende Mai 2013. Bei uns im Haus wird dann ein Menü gekocht nach Originalrezepten daus dem Hause Villa Wahnfried in Bayreuth.

Udo Leichsenring
Direktor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2012

My mother grew up in Chemnitz and remembers this as the best hotel in the city. We were very happy with our stay in June 2012. I booked 3 rooms online for my family and was pleased that they were next to each other. Our rooms were on the third floor in the front of the hotel. The rooms were spotless. They are located right on the main street, however the street was very quiet at night, and noise was not a problem. The bathrooms were modern and did have blow dryers. We were very pleased with the breakfast. It included a buffet with an excellent variety of quality fruits, cheeses, meats, rolls, and juices. The coffee and tea were wonderful. Also, eggs and pancakes could be ordered. The staff was very helpful and welcoming. They provided us with maps and directions. The location is right in the city center and we were able to walk to everything. The train station is close, however, we had a car and parking was easy. Dresden and the Erzgebirge were an easy drive. I also liked that the "style" of the hotel has been preserved. There are old architectural drawings of the hotel in the lobby which are interesting.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdtravelerLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

A group of three of us stayed at the Chemnitzerhof for two nights over the October holiday weekend, in three single rooms. The whole stay was spoiled by a massive birthday party on the first night. The very loud disco in the function hall prevented sleep in one of our rooms and went on until 2.30 in the morning. A complaint to the staff got an apology, but no offer of recompense. Despite a welcoming letter in every room from Hotel manager Udo Leichsenring offering help with any questions, no senior member of staff was on duty over the weekend, and the receptionist could only say she would pass on the complaint on Tuesday. To date (2 weeks later) no-one has made any contact. It is not good enough for a 4 star hotel to allow guests to be disturbed in this way.
We were disappointed with our stay in other ways - we felt the rooms were dingy, with poor lighting and no air conditioning, and not up to 4 star standards. We would also suggest guests avoid the special week-end rate with a dinner included as it was not good value for money, since drinks and coffee were not included and came at a high price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosslynace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2010

This hotel was recommended to us by a local family and they were right - we had a fabulous experience! The hotel is located in a central location within an easy walk to the downtown area and Christmas market. Our room - with an extra bed for a teenager - was huge. It was very comfortable, clean and modern, as was the bathroom. The price included a very nice breakfast buffet each morning with breads, cereals, meats and eggs. The wait staff was very polite and attentive and the front desk staff were cordial and helpful. The price was very reasonable and we just could not have asked for a better experience!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Southernredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chemnitz hotels
Schloßchemnitz
pentahotel Chemnitz
pentahotel Chemnitz
#1 of 29 in Chemnitz
1,112 reviews
Zentrum
Seaside Residenz Hotel
Seaside Residenz Hotel
#2 of 29 in Chemnitz
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel an der Oper
#5 of 29 in Chemnitz
117 reviews
Hotel Saechsischer Hof
#13 of 29 in Chemnitz
19 reviews
Schlosshotel Klaffenbach
#4 of 29 in Chemnitz
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chemnitzer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chemnitzer Hof

Property: Hotel Chemnitzer Hof
Address: Theaterplatz 4 | Theaterplatz 4, 09111 Chemnitz, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Chemnitz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Chemnitz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chemnitzer Hof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic in new style - that is the Hotel Chemnitzer Hof. This impressive 4-star-superior house is situated in the most beautiful architectonic location in Chemnitz beside the Opera House, the art collection "Kunstsammlungen" and the "Petrikirche". Its vicinity to the city centre means, that you are just a few minutes' walk away from the main train station, the university and the expansive "Schlossteich" park. The house was built in "Bauhaus Style" after the plans of the famous architect Prof. Dr.-Ing. Heinrich Straumer between may 1929 and October 1930. Since the careful renovation the Chemnitzer Hof shines in new splendour - more modern and more comfortable. Restored are the restaurant, the ball rooms and the attractive lobby. Unchanged is everything that stands for the noblesse and the uniqueness - a great architecture in marble, sandstone, wood and brass. 89 Rooms (140 beds) in the categories of first class and comfort, 3 suites, all with bath/shower, WC, hair dryer, sat TV with free Sky Sports channels, telephone, free Wi-Fi, radio and safe (more equipment depending on class of room); Opera restaurant & lounge; sauna; business-room; lift, direct access to the city underground car park. Five rooms for conferences and functions, which hold up to 350 people and are also available for company and familiy celebrations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chemnitzer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing