We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel an der Oper

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel an der Oper
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Chemnitz
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We travelled here on our motorbikes from UK to watch Moto Gp. We had a great time, this hotel is lovely and friendly ideally placed for the Sachsenring track or looking around the city. Our room was beautiful on the top floor overlooking the opera house it had a small kitchen, living area and bedroom with en suite. Room 605. We had evening meal at the hotel as well as breakfast the food was great. Staff extra Helpful. We caught a train to the track, train station around the corner, english speaking information desk, and they helped us buy a ticket from the machine, day ticket (gruppentague) this takes you to hohenstein (15 min train journey approx) which is about 5 min walk from the track,just follow the stream of locals, seems like everyone does this rather than take their vehicles. It's not expensive for food and drink at the track not like in England. Loris Cappirossi was staying at the hotel we saw him at breakfast and also Carl Muggeridge from WSBK lots of team staff too so was great to famous people spot.

Room Tip: Room 605 overlooks beautiful Opera House, which at night has a massive open air screen for either fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TWOWHEELSMOTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    44
    25
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
19
15
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

staying there for 1 night only for business gave me just a short but good impression. the staff is very friendly and the entire hotel is absolutetely clean. location is very central, just a sone throw from the central station and the city center and the famous marx statue. having said that, there are some minor things that keep me from rating the hotel as "excellent".
The carpet in the hallway is a bit stained and the single rooms really only hold a single bed and are quite small (whereas you usually always get a double bed in 4 stars, even if you booked a single). free wifi is only available at the reception area.
thats just me nit picking but overall this place is really recommendable.
i especially liked the old GDR style architecture.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate76404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We had booked in for one night at the Hotel an der Oper but ended up staying two. Our very spacious and modern room had a lovely view of the Opera house. There are several restaurants near and in the hotel and it's in the centre of Chemnitz. Service at the hotel is great as is the buffet breakfast. Really enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the opera house
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PRAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

We recently stayed at the Pentahotel Chemnitz, after freezing our butts off from the broken heating system and waking up constantly from the most uncomfortable bed!!! OH and you WILL PAY for parking 12 euros and internet there!! We switched hotels to Hotel an der Oper, thanks to the lovely Anja who gave us a great rate. We had a beautiful suite with the MOST INCREDIBLE view of the Opera, it was a new suite with full kitchen and seperate bedroom, seriously! Free parking, free internet..The hotel was so new and nice and the service was great!! Yay to East Germany, our experience was fabulous! oh and make sure you eat at La Bouchee the best restauarant in Chemnitz besides La Strada which is their hotel downstairs, beautiful!

Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank pontyUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chemnitz hotels
Schloßchemnitz
pentahotel Chemnitz
pentahotel Chemnitz
#1 of 29 in Chemnitz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Zentrum
Seaside Residenz Hotel
Seaside Residenz Hotel
#9 of 29 in Chemnitz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schlosshotel Klaffenbach
#3 of 29 in Chemnitz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel an der Oper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel an der Oper

Property: Hotel an der Oper
Address: Strasse der Nationen 56, 09111 Chemnitz, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Guennewig Hotel Europa)
Region: Germany > Saxony > Chemnitz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Chemnitz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel an der Oper 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel an der Oper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing