We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing spectacular” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel an der Oper

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel an der Oper
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Chemnitz
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nothing spectacular”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Rooms are light, clean, normal sized.
No wireless Internet.
Bathroom normal sized,
Hallways have the atmosphere of an old school building.
Location is great.
Breakfast is nice.
Parking a little inconvenient across the street.

Room Tip: Hotel in a great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    43
    24
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
18
15
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed here for one night on business. I had never heard of Chemnitz before and the business trip was hurredly set up as well. I found Hotel an der Oper through the good reviews on trip advisor and I was not dissappointed. Clean, well appointed. Very friendly and helpful staff. They all speak English well, which is useful for someone who learnt French and Spanish at school and can't even begin in German. And very good value with free internet in the rooms.
After a long day I could not have been bothered to go exploring so I had dinner in the Scala restaurant at the hotel and again, the staff were very helpful. The food was good as well.
As others have said, the rooms at the front of the hotel have a nice view of the catherdral and musuem etc. However, they also have a nice view of the trams which trundle past. If you want quiet, ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
Oh, and there is a free car park at the back of the hotel too.
It's very unlikely I will ever visit Chemnitz again, but I would recommend the Hotel an der Oper to anyone who is going to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shcolc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Clean, not luxurious, but fine for what you pay. I would like to point out the outstanding breakfast which is above average for a 4star hotel. Staff is friendly. The single room I stayed in was practically furnished. The rooms are equipped with air conditioning. Ok for a business trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas-from-Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in April 2013.

Not a bad hotel if you are in Chemnitz for a few days. The hotel is opposite to the Chemnitz cathedral, musume and opera house.

It is around 7 min walk to the old town, very central!

We found breakfast is a bit plain but acceptable as it is part of the hotel booking, so can't really complain.

Room Tip: Ask for room opposite the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Global_travel7035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMD
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

the hotel is located in a nice spot - close to the hauptbahnhof ( 200 m ) and the downtown zentral / centrum with all the shopping ( 400 m ). the rooms look out on to the opera house and the church square - fine views.
the breakfast is filling and the bar is warm .
the staff is friendly and customer friendly - a winning combination .
all-in-all , value for money . this is the third time I have stayed in last 12 months and I would definitely go back there .

Room Tip: ask for the strasse der nationen facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vvi_amd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We travelled here on our motorbikes from UK to watch Moto Gp. We had a great time, this hotel is lovely and friendly ideally placed for the Sachsenring track or looking around the city. Our room was beautiful on the top floor overlooking the opera house it had a small kitchen, living area and bedroom with en suite. Room 605. We had evening meal at the hotel as well as breakfast the food was great. Staff extra Helpful. We caught a train to the track, train station around the corner, english speaking information desk, and they helped us buy a ticket from the machine, day ticket (gruppentague) this takes you to hohenstein (15 min train journey approx) which is about 5 min walk from the track,just follow the stream of locals, seems like everyone does this rather than take their vehicles. It's not expensive for food and drink at the track not like in England. Loris Cappirossi was staying at the hotel we saw him at breakfast and also Carl Muggeridge from WSBK lots of team staff too so was great to famous people spot.

Room Tip: Room 605 overlooks beautiful Opera House, which at night has a massive open air screen for either fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TWOWHEELSMOTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

staying there for 1 night only for business gave me just a short but good impression. the staff is very friendly and the entire hotel is absolutetely clean. location is very central, just a sone throw from the central station and the city center and the famous marx statue. having said that, there are some minor things that keep me from rating the hotel as "excellent".
The carpet in the hallway is a bit stained and the single rooms really only hold a single bed and are quite small (whereas you usually always get a double bed in 4 stars, even if you booked a single). free wifi is only available at the reception area.
thats just me nit picking but overall this place is really recommendable.
i especially liked the old GDR style architecture.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate76404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chemnitz hotels
Schloßchemnitz
pentahotel Chemnitz
pentahotel Chemnitz
#1 of 29 in Chemnitz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Zentrum
Seaside Residenz Hotel
Seaside Residenz Hotel
#9 of 29 in Chemnitz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Business Hotel Artes
#6 of 29 in Chemnitz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel an der Oper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel an der Oper

Property: Hotel an der Oper
Address: Strasse der Nationen 56, 09111 Chemnitz, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Guennewig Hotel Europa)
Region: Germany > Saxony > Chemnitz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Chemnitz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel an der Oper 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel an der Oper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing