We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and used by locals!”
Review of Villandry

Villandry
Ranked #72 of 940 Restaurants in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$39 - US$67
Cuisines: German, European, Mediterranean, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food and used by locals!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This restaurant is in Neustadt. It took us about 40 minutes to walk from the Frauenkirche. We had reserved a table in the courtyard to the rear which seats about 40 covers. This was just as well. It had been a very warm day and no one was sitting within the actual restaurant itself. However, our table awaited us and the service that came with it was very good. Our waitress spoke english and was able to explain the menu very well. The food was very good and service was just at the right pace. Villandry stocks a reasonable choice of wine although we had the house wine which proved very acceptable in quality and price. All in all, we enjoyed a good dinner within budget!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DJR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    44
    20
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and charming garden in summer ”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We were lucky to enjoy a beautiful summer evening in the beautiful garden. Food was very creatively composed, very fresh and reasonably priced. Menu is short and changes nightly but no problem finding amazingly tasty dishes. Excellent wine list and we finished with a wonderful apple brandy.

Romantic setting - too bad w my Bud and not my wife ! Go!

Helpful?
Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Excellent food in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We ate in the walled garden. The food and wine were excellent, the staff charming with excellent English, informal but very efficient and very happy to explain the menu. I had a local fresh water fish which was fresh and perfectly cooked. The best meal we had in Dresden. Good value for money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodiePenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford,UK
Level Contributor
218 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“A taste of Summer”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had a lovely meal here and would recommend. It was a warm summer night and the patio had a great atmosphere. The menu consisted of specials on a blackboard. A small but appealing selection with something to suit all tastes. Our starter salads of roasted vegetables or tender octopus were generous and packed with fresh ingredients. I also enjoyed the delicate local adlerfish and the choice of wines from Saxony. Service was charming and unhurried.
The whole experience was extremely pleasant and worth the trip up to Neustadt from the centre.
It is a long walk however and we would recommend a tram or taxi.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UnaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
292 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Excellent Food. Innovative Cuisine.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

While I don’t usually compare restaurants, Villandry does almost everything right that Lila Sosse gets wrong. It’s a short tram ride into Neustadt and an interesting area of restaurants and bars. The two rooms are very comfortable: we were seated with most on long leather banquette with facing tables and chairs in the front (two smaller rooms toward the back; overall a cool, handsome setting). The chalkboard menu was manageable with some coaching from the congenial waitstaff. For our starter, we shared a generous plate of marinated salmon with thin-sliced peppers, avocado, cucumber and marinate carrot strips – delicious. My wife had succulent beef cheeks with cabbage, carrots, and parsnips with star anise and basil – a great contemporary take on a classic. I had a perfectly done cod on roasted/braised fennel, spinach, red onions on a bed of risotto – superb! My wife had a glass of a German white (love those 2.1 – glass-and-a-half options. I wish we had in the states.) I had a German red – both very good. An excellent rhubarb crumble with vanilla ice cream for dessert. At 82E with a generous tip, Villandry delivers an excellent dinner in a lovely and comfortable setting at a fair price. And it’s nice to get off tourist central.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank robin082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villandry also viewed

 
Dresden, Saxony
 

Been to Villandry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing