We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms Feature Air-Conditioning - Yeah, Called Open The Window Dummy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aviv Dresden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Aviv Dresden
Ranked #64 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
United States
Level Contributor
218 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Rooms Feature Air-Conditioning - Yeah, Called Open The Window Dummy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

What a crock. I booked this hotel over booking.com specifically because A - I had work to do and needed a spacious, comfortable space to do it with wireless internet and B - it was going to be very warm and I wanted that space to be air-conditioned. What I got was a nice, spacious room which was very comfortable. i paid extra for the room facing the quiet side, which was a good thing, because that evening it stormed and it was perfect to sleep with the windows wide open. The next day was hot, as forecast. I returned to my room at about 2 to work and it was starting to get pretty warm. No problem, turn on the air-con. Ha ha. What a joke on me. Soon it was blistering hot in my room, no matter that I had the drapes drawn all day to keep the sun out. I commented to the person at the front desk, and got a non-reply. Back to my sweatbox to try and work. The manager/owner gave me some b.s. about how the 'hotel' has air-conditioning but the actual rooms do not. What a crock! The rooms have these remote-controlled 'boxes' which - get this - the management keeps at the front desk. Guests are not allowed access to those magic remotes. He came to my room, which was I swear about 90 degrees, and he helpfully opened my window (oh geepers, why didn't I think of that) and turned the thermostat to 16 celsius, not that I could tell that it made any difference. The point is, the hotel clearly advertises that the rooms have air-conditioning. Just like the rooms have a toilet, a shower, a desk, a bed, a lamp. Using the manager's logic, all of these things should be in the hallway, and not in the actual room. Just like the air-con. Even the breakfast room was uncomfortably hot. All of this in a hotel which advertises that it has air-conditioning. I will never stay in this deceitful place again.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel! OK if it is wintertime then you can choose the gardenside and probably not ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frequent_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    39
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
31
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

We have been at Hotel Aviv from 1rts of Nov. Till 04th of Nov. The Room was not very clean and a very bad smell came from the bathroom... The hotel is far than the city center of Dresden and it's site along the road ( noise during the night ). We choose hotel aviv for the good reviews on the web site but unfortunately we didn't get the same good experiance.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marzietta-2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

This is a very good, comfortable hotel. It's small and has got family character. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The rooms are well decorated and just right sizewise. It is clean and quiet -even the rooms towards the road. The breakfast buffett is made with love and just amazing. I loved the tea selection and the antique orange juice machine. There is parking outside the hotel too. Good connection to the city centre. We stayed almost a week. Dresden is worth a visit - loved it!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LasVegas28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szczecin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

For the price of three stars hotel we received the quality of four stars accomodation. Hotel is just perfect I can't say anything what we didn't like. Room is in kind of oriental, colonial style what makes it very cosy and elegant. Many TV channels, small fridge, free wi-fi, very effective and quiet air condition.Breakfast was worth five stars hotel: many different salads, fine snacks, warm dishes, squeezed orange juice...etc. Hotel is located in a little suburbian and may be not the most beatiful area of Desden, but it doesn't change my opinion as there is a public communication near or free parking if you got the car.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FromPoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
243 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

I stayed 2 nights at Aviv Hotel in Dresden. Building outside is quite boring (typical eastern Germany '80ies building), but pubblic area and rooms are very nice. Price was really OK (70,00 euro for the room with breakfast) and breakfast was superb: extreme variety of good quality and fresh food. Aviv Hotel is not right in the city center and that's maybe the only one negative point i could tell. However tram and bus stop at 20 mt from the Hotel and bring you to main Dresden streets in around 20 min.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fanharuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Bed for as wide as possible, room was spacious and buffet breakfast for 5 eur was really poitive surprise.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonti14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eger, Hungary
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

The breakfast was awsome. Rooms are well equipped. Everything was allright.

Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank komuvesphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Friedrichstadt
B&B Hotel Dresden
B&B Hotel Dresden
#42 of 118 in Dresden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Wyndham Garden Dresden
#22 of 118 in Dresden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kim Hotel Im Park
#41 of 118 in Dresden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aviv Dresden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aviv Dresden

Property: Hotel Aviv Dresden
Address: Fluegelweg 4-6, 01157 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden > Friedrichstadt
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aviv Dresden 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Aviv Dresden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing