We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and inviting”
Review of City-Oase

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City-Oase
Ranked #2 of 108 Dresden B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 August 2011

On a trip mainly to Prague, we wanted to spend a few days in Dresden after last seeing it some 20 years ago. At first we thought of a place in the alt stadt, but then saw on the internet how inviting the rooms were at City-Oase. We were correct. Our room, Semperopera was outfitted with beautiful opera motifs, musical instruments and colors, and included opera music on CD. Other rooms, which the very generous hosts showed us, had similar wonderful connections to other places in and near Dresden. All special and wonderful, and generally quite large. City-Oase is really a small hotel, with a nice breakfast area, outstanding breakfasts, and every help you might need from the hosts. It is about 1.5 Km walking from the Frauenkirche, but this is along the Elbe banks bicycle path, and is very enjoyable-- passing gardens and mansions. This connection also means it is a fabulous place for bicycle touring, as the bike paths go for many Km both N and S of Dresden. The location is relatively near the train station, and in an extremely quiet part of the neighborhood across the river from the alt stadt. Another plus is a nice garden that allows enjoying a coffee or good beer in excellent surroundings. Very good value!

Room Tip: Rooms have different bathroom connections and sizes, so check on this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
94  Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2011

This place is a real treasure! We left our hotel arrangements in the hands of our German friends and we could not have been happier with their selection. Our room had an attached sitting room with a pull-out, large flat screen television. The room was very creatively decorated and the bed, while not a king size, was very comfortable. I was apprehensive about the bathroom at first because it was not in the room but across an open hallway. But it proved just fine and was appropriately private. It had a tub, which I love for soaking tired, tourist feet, with a shower attachment. A blow dryer was provided and plenty of drinking glasses. A complimentary bottle of sparkling water was provided upon arrival. The hotel is about a 15-minute walk to the Frauenkirsche. Driving is a little tricky because of all the one-way streets so a GPS or a Google Map would be helpful. The buffet breakfast was beautifully presented and was generous and delicious. (Cold cuts, cheeses, yogurt with fruit, scrumptious rolls and breads, jams and cereals.) The owners are a lovely couple who are great English speakers, very friendly and a wealth of information about the city. For what you get, this place is under-priced in my opinion. I would definitely stay there again if I was visiting Dresden.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
78  Thank JillDPeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

This little pension was a wonder. Every room is lovingly furnished and decorated in a different theme -- we stayed in the Japanese Palace room. It's very clean, and so freshly redone that the inside smells like new wood. Friendly staff who let me practice my German rather than speaking English. Note that the pension is not continuously staffed, so plan ahead. The free wi-fi was great, but remember to ask for the password when you check in.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
44  Thank caminocielo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

I wanted a good price for a first-rate accomodation, and this fit the bill. Very clean, extremely helpful owners, excellent location for both business and tourism. I strongly recommend this pension.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
73  Thank coachhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: alle! vor allem Erich Kästner Zimmer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank schmittelisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Mareike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flietzens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
NH Dresden Neustadt
#12 of 118 in Dresden
853 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#15 of 118 in Dresden
2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City-Oase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City-Oase

Address: Ludwigstr. 2, 01097 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Dresden
Price Range: £76 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City-Oase 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your City-Oase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing