We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This should be a 5 star hotel”
Review of Bulow Palais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bulow Palais
Ranked #1 of 119 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is an amazing hotel. The rooms are great. The staff goes out of their way to be helpful. They ask over and over what they can do to help. The service and location are perfect. So why the star rating?? The same reason the TA person gave a few reviews ago. We went during a heat wave. The room never was cooler than 25 C if we were lucky. Not being able to sleep because you are hot and sweat is running down your back does not make for a 5 star experience. If it wasn't for this heat wave, we may have never noticed this problem, but this doesn't make for a 5 star hotel when you can't sleep, no matter how great the guests and the rooms. Sorry, Bulow... you truly deserve a 5 star.

Room Tip: Don't go if it is going to be very hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xcapeohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very nice even if it's not my personal style (it's in a rather old/conservative style, although very well maintained).

Nevertheless, the staff is great! During my entire stay everyone try to make their best!

The only low point (but very minimal) is the fact that the hotel is near the church so it can get a bit noisy in the morning.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Carlos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Located in Neustadt, this elegant hotel was beautifully decorated, with spacious rooms. A short walk over the bridge from Altstadt, with shops and restaurants nearby. Our room was quiet, cool and comfortable. The staff at the hotel were very helpful, and worked extremely well as a team. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Reception was warm and welcoming on our arrival and expectations improved when we entered our Junior Suite. The room was large and luxurious: comfortable king bed, a welcoming bottle of wine and fruit basket, and a beautiful modern bathroom with huge tub and shower. We unpacked, turned the "air conditioning" on because a quiet, cool room does wonders for our sleep. In fact, we chose the hotel because is was recently built (and thus would have good noise-proof windows) and advertised that it had "air conditioning." We set off for the city center, no more than a 15 minute walk from the quiet arts, boutique and antiques center where the hotel is located.

When we returned the room was no cooler than when we left. Promptly, the hotel arranged to change the room. We settled on the 2nd room that was shown to us and we unpacked again. We turned the dial down on the air conditioning and went down for an excellent meal in the Bulow Bistro, the second dining room that shared a kitchen with the Michelin starred Carousel Restaurant.

The room was not cool when we returned. No choice but to open our windows to bring in the cool night air. Early next morning we were awakened by bird calls, street noise and the peal of bells from the church across the street. Short of sleep, I spoke to the front desk manager. He explained to me that air conditioning means air cooling, without refrigeration. The next night we opened the windows again and the next morning, a Saturday, the bells lasted much longer than the night before. This time we asked for a fan, thinking that would help cool the room and perhaps help drown out the noise. However, he offered to place a portable Air Conditioner in the room. Why it wasn't offered the first night he could not explain. The third night was quiets and cool.

If it weren't for the air conditioning problem, this would have been a 5 star review.

Our last evening we returned to the Bulow Bistro for, again, a wonderful meal. By the way, the Bulow bartender makes one of the best Martinis I've tasted, stirred, not shaken.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the side of the hotel away from the church. Ask for the portable air conditioner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We were greeted by very friendly staff and were offered a glass of wine whilst we were being checked in. The room was simply beautiful, large and spacious with sitting area, separate toilet to a very large bathroom with bath and walk in shower. We were given complimentary fresh fruit and water each day. They have a choice of restaurants/Menus including one which is Michelin starred. The hotel is ideally situated in the Baroque Quarter amongst boutiques and courtyards and just minutes from the bridge taking you over to Semper Opera House etc.
We would definitely recommend a visit to this beautiful hotel and city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angela141250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My wife, 16 year old son and I spent three nights at the Bülow Palais in Dresden in June, 2013. I highly recommend the hotel.

We stayed in a two bedroom suite. We had a large living room with a comfortable sofa and two easy chairs, as well as a writing desk and chair. Off of the living room was a walk-in closet, with built in drawers and plenty of hanger space. Also accessible from the living room was a half-bath (more on that later).

The two bedrooms opened from opposite sides of the living room, and could be closed off by sliding doors. They were identical – each had a king bed, twin nightstands, a settee and a chest of drawers. Each bedroom had its own bathroom – with a separate tub and shower and two sinks. The suite had six total windows, so there was plenty of natural light in the space.

The only strange part about the room was that the toilet in the half bath was the only toilet in the suite. So, you had to exit your bedroom and go into the living room to use the toilet at night. From an American standpoint, that’s weird. But certainly there does appear to be a tendency in Europe to separate the toilet from the bathroom.

The lighting in the bedrooms was very good – it was easy to read in bed. In the living room, unfortunately, only one chair had a floor lamp next to it. So, as far as reading was concerned, the living room was not as successful.

The HVAC in the suite (with separate controls for the living room and each bedroom) worked flawlessly. We were very comfortable during our stay. Bedding and linens were at the deluxe level.

The service at the hotel was up to Relais and Chateaux standards. Reception was gracious and welcoming, and breakfast service and food excellent. Our requests for transportation were handled flawlessly.

I liked the location of the hotel – in Dresden Neustadt, across the river from the old city. The walk to the old city was an easy 15 minutes, and the quiet of the location of the Bülow Palais was a benefit.

All in all, this is a fine representative of Relais and Chateaux. I’d gladly return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OrrvilleRedRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

A perfect 5-star hotel: service, breakfast, fast Internet, fruit in suites, everything was all right. A nice teddy-bear as a present was so cute! Small things really make a big impression.
It is also important that the hotel is situated not in the classical centre of the city with lots of tourists but in the quiet centre which makes you feel the atmosphere of Dresden.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karina_Ponomareva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Innere Altstadt
Gewandhaus Dresden, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
#3 of 119 in Dresden
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bulow Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bulow Palais

Address: Koenigstr. 14, 01097 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden > Innere Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 119 Hotels in Dresden
Price Range: £105 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bulow Palais 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique in the world: in the centre of the Baroque quarter With the Semper Opera House, the Zwinger Palace and the Frauenkirche, Dresden is one of the most fascinating places to visit in Germany. Right in the centre of the Baroque quarter it is home to Bulow Palais. This residence has been designed with fervour and maintained with passion offering a taste of paradise to stylish and demanding guests. It boasts an elegant atmosphere, with a touch of originality designed to appeal to those who love all that is truly personal. Relax and enjoy breakfast in the light-filled winter garden, savour light German cuisine at Bulow's Bistro, or meet up with your friends at the Cigar Lounge. The gourmet restaurant Caroussel offers one of the best cuisines in the region. 58 Elegant designed rooms & suites offer the largest possible comfort. A parking garage and Meeting & function rooms complete the offer. The Hotel Bulow Palais is in a cooperation with 'Relais & Chateaux' as well as 'Feine Privathotels Deutschland'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bulow Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing