We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit outside - but perfect!”
Review of Schmidt's

Schmidt's
Ranked #21 of 953 Restaurants in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$32
Cuisines: International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Die mediterrane Loftatmoshäre des Schmidt's unterstreicht die jahreszeitlich inspirierte und wöchentlich wechselnde Speisekarte. Marktfrische Tagesempfehlungen - die jeweils mittags und abends variieren - bieten zudem die großen Tafeln.Auf dem Gelände des GebäudeEnsembles Deutsche Werkstätten Hellerau gelegen, lädt der wunderschöne Sommergarten - bei entsprechendem Wetter - zum Entspannen und Genießen ein. Für Architektonisch- und Designinteressierte ist der Standort ein "Muss"! Um unserem Anspruch treu zu bleiben haben wir im Februar 2011 das Schmidt's vorsichtig und mit Bedacht umgebaut und "aufgehübscht".Selbstverständlich steht Ihnen das Restaurant auch für Gesellschaften bis zu 55 Personen - nach Absprache zudem außerhalb der regulären Öffnungszeiten - zur Verfügung. Gerne vermitteln wir auch Tagungs- und Gesellschaftsräume auf dem Gelände.
Roma
Level Contributor
238 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A bit outside - but perfect!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We came here because of the many positive comments about this place - and they were right! Very professional, very nice location, very good food and vine. We choose the 5-course set surprise meal - they won't tell you what they will bring, but trust me it as all delicious! And all this for € 35 (8-course-menu 45 €!) Come here as a couple or with friends: you will always like it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gitiRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    25
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic food by a creative young team in Dresden”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We went for dinner at Schmidt's during a short break in Dresden and were so impressed we were back again two days later. This is a wonderful little restaurant run by a young friendly and enthusiastic team whose inventiveness and creativity are on show with every dish on the menu -- which changes each week and has daily specials. The motto is slow food with carefully sourced ingredients locally, from other German regions and further afield. Starters and puddings are typically about 8-9 euros, mains 15-20, and the large range of wines by the glass from Germany and abroad are offered at 5-10 euros a glass. This is astounding value for an establishment whose Michelin star cannot be long in coming. The restaurant is outside the centre of Dresden, in one of Germany's first garden cities -- Hellerau. So whether inside or outside you are looking at a beautiful old courtyard of apartments and craftsmen's studios, built in about 1910. If you don't have a car available, take a taxi!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jonathanlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ Superb restaurant”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

The food, service and atmosphere could not be better. Even the wines by the glass were fantastic( we were served a 16 year old smooth Spanish gem). As we live in NYC it is a long trek here but we hope to make it soon.

Helpful?
Thank Dardanelle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow, well worth a visit!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Superb food, starter and main course a glorious mix of unusual flavours, textures and colours. lovely wine, jolly staff, and clean tables, floors and toilets. The restaurant is a member of the Slow Food movement.
Thanks Ulrike for a great time in Dresden culminating in this. Hellerau is a grand place to explore beforehand. But missed sharing it with my chap!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
129 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great, willl be back”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The perfect balance great food well presented, friendly and attentive service and a relaxing ambient. The perfect place to go for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sjainslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schmidt's also viewed

 

Been to Schmidt's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing