We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel close to centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Collection Dresden Altmarkt
Ranked #7 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel close to centre”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Dresden is an amazing city reconstruction and NH is right beside one of the city squares. We had a great room in the roof overlooking one of the churches. luckily no bells at night. Only 5 minutes to middle of the city sights. Better than the 3 IBIS you pass on way from train station ( about 15 minutes walk). I had free wi-fi as Accor Platinum but the problem was very poor reception in room. Breakfast was expensive so we had coffee, orange and bread for 7 euro just outside the hotel. Make sure you take train to Meissen even if you ignore the factory, only 30 minutes to really nice sights.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    469
    56
    16
    2
See reviews for
209
611
55
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Excellent location. Posh and trendy hotel. They upgraded us without telling us. Nice everything--room, closets, shower, beds, a/c worked well. Close to tons of shopping, restaurants, bars, and most Dresden sights. Close to train, too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMULawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

first I need to confess - I was never dissatisfied staying at a NH in general. I repeatedly stayed for business at NHs in different places, e.g. in Berlin - such as Alexanderplatz, Friedrichstraße or Mitte. Which says I like the standard. However - even good quality standard hotels have to face age - but this is certainly not the case with NH Dresden Altmark. Everything is brand-new. First time I stayed there was end of June 2014 when I desperately needed printing services to prepare a press conference. Hotel staff helped me out and made my and some colleagues' day. The only negative thing I can say after this first visit is: Our booking tool says it's booked out. I would have liked to turn tomorrow night. In short: I can fully recommend this NH.

Room Tip: some rooms face Kreuzkirche, this should be considered when booking a room, churches have bells and...
See more room tips
Green Features: I saw electric vehicles to hire for small money… the hotel certainly focusses sustainability
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RainerKnirsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

It is a a very good hotel and I would have given it an excellent but for our rooms outlook. We stayed there for 3 nights and enjoyed most things about the hotel. The location is excellent being right on the edge of the historical area and opposite a historic church. The staff were friendly efficient helpful and fluent in english. The taxi fare from the train station was about 7 euros. The rooms were quiet large and very clean. We had breakfast each morning and found it to be good value with and excellent choice of different foods and no extras for different coffee such as capaccinos. There are numerous restuarants very close to the hotel and a very large shopping centre within a few hundred metres. We had room 261 and I did want to avoid overlooking the square because the Church bells can start ringing at 6 am. The only issue was that the ground outside came up to the bottom of the windows so you had the feeling of being in the ground when you looked out the window and lacking privacy. In fairness to the hotel we did not ask to be moved but I would definately avoid any of the rooms on the second floor looking over the inside/courtyard which is the roof of the dining area and covered in weeds.

Room Tip: Avoid any rooms on second floor looking into the centre of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piedpiper660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
288 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Our stay at this hotel was only overnight on a trip from Prague to Berlin, but was very pleased with the choice.
The location was excellent - between the rail station and the fascinating historical / tourist area of Dresden. The adjacent Altmarkt was a bonus for both casual food and atmosphere, as well as the interesting church directly across from the main entrance.
Dresden has a wonderful, easily walkable and compact historical area which I highly recommend.
The NH hotel is a great base for this. Rooms were spacious and well appointed. Had no difficulty with wifi connections. There were several options for dinner nearby, and the 10 minute walk to the station next morning was quite pleasant.
Highly recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WKGuy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a great location, right in front of the Altmarkt and walking distance to all of the city attractions.
The room was impeccable: spotlessly clean and very tidy. An electric kettle for coffee or tea in the room would have been nice.
Wifi didn't work very well, it was quite slow and kept asking to revalidate the password every 15 minutes, very annoying.
Overall, this is a nice hotel to stay in Dresden.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelledz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Luxurious hotel right in the middle of Dresden. Amazing location as a base to see everything that Dresden has to offer. The rooms were very nice and had Windows that opened to the streets below. Excellent restaurants are all within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshuaEasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Altstadt
Star Inn Hotel Premium Dresden im Haus Altmarkt, by Quality
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#15 of 118 in Dresden
1,889 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
#1 of 118 in Dresden
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Dresden Altmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Dresden Altmarkt

Property: NH Collection Dresden Altmarkt
Address: An der Kreuzkirche 2, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dresden
#6 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#6 Family Hotel in Dresden
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — NH Collection Dresden Altmarkt 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new NH Dresden Altmarkt is located a few blocks from the Elbe river, in the very heart of the beautiful city of Dresden. Guests are just minutes away from numerous attractions, such as the renowned and recently renovated Frauenkirche (Church of Our Lady), Semperoper (Semper Opera House), and Zwinger (Dungeon). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NH Collection Dresden Altmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Dresden Altmarkt Hotel Dresden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing