We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in typical bierstube ”

Augustiner an der Frauenkirche
Ranked #44 of 1,040 Restaurants in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: At home in Saxony! Loveably Saxon & Typically Bavarian Under this motto we welcome you daily from 10 am in one of the reconstructed baroque town houses on Neumarkt square in Dresden. Augustiner an der Frauenkirche has space over its three storeys in various lounges that can also be rented out separately. In addition there is room in the outdoor area, an open invitation to experience the pulsating life of one of Europe's most unique cities with a direct view of the Frauenkirche church. Friends of our Augustiner beer can choose between five different beer types, all of which are dispensed fresh from the barrel apart from the wheat beer which is bottled. Accompanying your beer you can enjoy the corresponding seasonally selected Bavarian/Saxon cuisine.
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

We stopped here for family lunch and small celebration and felt well looked after and enjoyed the atmosphere of this pub. Nice decor, wooden interior and attentive staff made us enjoy our meal. The beer on tap is nice and it is worth trying all their selection. I enjoyed the dark beer and weizen beer- both tasted great. The food here was very good and the portions are huge. We tried their speciality- cumin goulash and it was one of the best I ever tried. The meat was extremely tender without any fatty bits and the portion was too big even for a hungry adult male. We also tried their Wiener schnitzel which again was very large and very tasty.
Prices are slightly on the higher side, but you pay for the location (next to Frauenkirche) and the amazing quality of meat and the size of the portions. Main meals range from 12-18€, large beer is around 4€.
Highly recommended!

Thank Libor79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meinestadt, Verkaufsleiter at Augustiner an der Frauenkirche, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2016

Thanks for all positive feedback and maybe one time in the future, one will see each other again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 132 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2016

Everything was great - food, beer, atmosphere, prices! Thank you very much for service! We will be back for sure!

Thank Milana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meinestadt, Verkaufsleiter at Augustiner an der Frauenkirche, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2016

Thank you for your great Review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016

Excellent visit with a large group. Twice in one week. Down stairs first time and in own room second time.
Enjoyed food and beer. English menu.
Staff were cheerful and worked well to copy with our large group choosing and picking.
Well worth going.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stuart n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meinestadt, Verkaufsleiter at Augustiner an der Frauenkirche, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2016

Thanks for the great feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

We had a great time at this restaurant. They were fully booked and all remaining tables reserved, however we arrived a tad early in the evening and they were able to squeeze us in. The restaurant is quite large yet very cozy with its vintage cellar feel. The food was excellent, and this is where I came across Kaiserschmarrn & apple sauce for the first time... my new favorite dessert! It was a perfect German restaurant experience with great cuisine.

Thank JacquesMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meinestadt, Verkaufsleiter at Augustiner an der Frauenkirche, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2016

Thanks for the great feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

The restaurant is near the Frauenkirche, the interior is traditional (good, spacious, nothing flashy, a little Bavarian-style). The waitress was polite, friendly and helpful. At 14:30 the restaurant had about 70% of its tables free. As for the prices they are OK, even lower than in most of the neighboring places. We've got a soup, bratwurst and bier for just about €15 (pretty big portions). The thing a can praise is the Augustiner beer (Bavarian brand as I was told) - I'm not a fan of beer but that Dunkel (dark one) was great. Overall this restaurant can be 100% recommended.

Thank Freshman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meinestadt, Verkaufsleiter at Augustiner an der Frauenkirche, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2016

Thanks for the great feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Augustiner an der Frauenkirche also viewed

 

Been to Augustiner an der Frauenkirche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing