We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food”

Augustiner an der Frauenkirche
Ranked #41 of 1,034 Restaurants in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: At home in Saxony! Loveably Saxon & Typically Bavarian Under this motto we welcome you daily from 10 am in one of the reconstructed baroque town houses on Neumarkt square in Dresden. Augustiner an der Frauenkirche has space over its three storeys in various lounges that can also be rented out separately. In addition there is room in the outdoor area, an open invitation to experience the pulsating life of one of Europe's most unique cities with a direct view of the Frauenkirche church. Friends of our Augustiner beer can choose between five different beer types, all of which are dispensed fresh from the barrel apart from the wheat beer which is bottled. Accompanying your beer you can enjoy the corresponding seasonally selected Bavarian/Saxon cuisine.
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Came here slightly before 9pm. Place was still pretty packed. Had to share a table with other customers since I was dining solo (didnt mind it).
I had the pork knuckle. Very generous portion that came with bread dumpling and sauerkraut. It was really filling. Service here is ok.
Prices are a little steep, since its in a touristy area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicholas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole R, Verkaufsleiter at Augustiner an der Frauenkirche, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2017

Couldn't wait to get the suckling pig. So we shared the pig and a salad with goat cheese stuffed red peppers. Both were very good. The pig was very good just a little tough. We are use to it being melt in your mouth tender. The salad was very good but not quite as good as most in Germany. Would return. Service and atmosphere were top notch. Recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chefluee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meinestadt, Verkaufsleiter at Augustiner an der Frauenkirche, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Liked the variety of food. Good German food, we went for dinner around 10 PM, service was ok, but not exceptional.

Thank Michaela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meinestadt, Verkaufsleiter at Augustiner an der Frauenkirche, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

I liked this place, it is in a very touristy area prices are a bit high , but the service and food was good, and I enjoyed the architecture and atmosphere.

Thank shazal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meinestadt, Verkaufsleiter at Augustiner an der Frauenkirche, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

This is one of many charming restaurants near / beside newly re-built beautiful church. It will explain partly it's popularity, when tourist's are crowded to queue into visits into church especially in seasons. Best of it is perhaps outdoor / open air terrace where to sit down, enjoy coffee or eat some more & take a look at this beautiful building stood nearby.
When we visited there we decided to have some fresreshment before climbing up to tower. Sunny weather offered a charming views and also drinks were enjoyable.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JaakkoTapio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meinestadt, Verkaufsleiter at Augustiner an der Frauenkirche, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Augustiner an der Frauenkirche also viewed

 

Been to Augustiner an der Frauenkirche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing