We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre
Ranked #20 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
台灣台北市
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“In the heart of the city”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I was in the business trip to Dresden and stayed in Dresden from Jul 8-13, 2014 for attending a conference. The location of the hotel is right in the center of Alstadt Dresden. It is not too far to the Dresden Hbf (Main Station) where you only need to walk there in 10 minutes after getting off the tram. It is really convenient given that the bus/Tram stop is just in front of the hotel and city shopping galeries (Centrum and Almarkt Galeries) are in a couple minutes walking distance. It is also very close to the Alstadt historical area, where you can arrive there in a couple minutes. The life is really convenient with the hotel and the staffs in front desk are all very nice. The only disappointed experience was the breakfast. During the six day staying, the hotel-provided breakfast never ever changed which made me feel not comfy to eat the same breakfast for six days. This can be expanded a little bit more in food style. Overall, I would recommend the hotel to anyone who is interested in traveling to Dresden.

Room Tip: The room that I stayed was a single room. The room size was not big, with a queen size bed and a sof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank humwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRSCC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear "humwang",

at first we want to say thank you for your stay in our hotel and that you describe us your impressions. Our ideal location with all the public transport near the hotel and the historical part of Dresden is not only a reason to book our house for our vacation guests it is also interesting for our business guests. So it is nice to hear that you could use this advantage for you.
We are sorry that you didn´t like our breakfast after the sixth morning and that we didn´t have enough choices. But unfortunately the breakfast buffet is a standard, which must complied in all German Holiday Inn Express Hotels.
We hope you will stay in our Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Center, if you come again to Dresden. It would be a pleasure.

With kind regards
Anne Lieberum
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    424
    105
    21
    15
See reviews for
223
379
31
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
515 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel gets good points for location (just off the main shopping street end close to the tourist attractions), cleanliness and efficiency. The room was adequate, modern and had nice bathroom. On the downside, the hotel lacks a bit of charm. everything is very functional, yet highly anonymous. The buffet breakfast room, for instance, right at the entrance, is good example. Perfect for (not too demanding) business travellers. Furthermore, the parking is quite small and not suited for larger cars, I was told upon arrival. No issue, since just accross the street, there is large public parking for 6,5 euro (instead of the 15 the hotel charges).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delagioventu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRSCC, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear delagioventu,

thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre. The Holiday Inn Express is a new brand from the IHG Group which stands for a stay in central location with all needs for a short city trip or business trip. So all interiors and equipments in the guest rooms and public rooms are adapted to this.
We thank you for the time you had taken to write this review and would be glad if you would choosen our hotel the next time again you will be in Dresden.

Sincerely

Jenny Dorn
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
180 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

A year ago we visited this Location and were very pleased with our stay. We returned with my son and his Family. We had 3 rooms, and found that the Hotel and Service were still outstanding! The rooms are on the small side, but they were fine for all of the us, including 2 grandchildren. The check in Service was friendly and professional. The Young mand that checked us in, Herr Robby Schneider, went out of his way to handle all our Needs. We were so impressed we awarded him a Trip Advisor Customer Service pin. Great Job!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are more quiet, especially with the Windows open. Be Aware that you are C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nab800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRSCC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear nab800,

thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre. We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and you had choosen us again for your stay in Dresden. We gave the feedback for the professional check in also to the colleague he did it.
We thank you for the time you had taken to gave this review for the other guests and would be glad if you would choosen us again if you stay in Dresden the next time.

Sincerely

Jenny Dorn
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

When 11 people turn up of their booking of 8 rooms and the first 4 credit cards from 4 different people don't work (even though they did on the rest of the trip, before AND after) there's a problem..When these customers ring their bank and the bank say no attempt has been made to take money and VISA also confirm that no attempt has been made to take money then it's the hotel systems that has the problem - BUT! We don't need surly staff that treated us all like paupers. Some are millionaires! Other than that, just a normal Holiday Inn distress...which means it was OK. But why oh why can't hotels get their check-in procedures in order. They knew we were coming, they knew we were 11 people in 8 rooms and it took us nearly an hour to get checked in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vetoevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRSCC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear "vetoevo",

thank you that you took the time to review our hotel.
We are very sorry that you collected unpleasant impressions in our hotel and we understand your cause for criticism.
To every time we are effort to offer a perfekt service for our guests.
So we took your rating to occasion to sensitize our staff to pay more attention to the coordination of all processes at the reception, as well as to make sure that all work equipment work well.
We hope you will give us the chance to convince you and your guests of our service at your next visit to our Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre

With kind regards
Anne Lieberum
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rastatt, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Perfect hotel for weekend visit to Dresden. Very easily accessible and central. Close to the centre, walked where we had to be.

Neat and modern interior and service with a smile. German buffet breakfast included in stay.

Will definitely consider on my next visit to Dresden.

Stayed February 2013.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRSCC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear "danielleroux90",

have you many thanks for your kind review via tripadvisor.
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that we were able to convince you with the good location of our house, with the modern equipment of the rooms and the friendly service of our staff.
For us it would be a pleasure to welcoming you again in our Holiday In Express Dresden City Center.

With kind regards
Anne Lieberum
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you are looking for a quality city hotel while staying in Dresden then look no further that the holiday inn express. Location is perfect, near the attractions of Dresden and its excellent public transport system. Great value for money, spotlessly clean, rooms are comfortable, breakfast is excellent. Don`t be put off by reports of over crowded breakfast area, yes it can be busy but its well managed.

Room Tip: ignore the "traffic light" indicator in the lifts for when to avoid the peak time for brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WD402014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRSCC, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback here on tripadvisor.

We are pleased to know that you found our rooms comfortable, the location perfect and the breakfast excellent.

Whenever you are planing another stay in Dresden, we wuld like to welcome you again in our Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre.

best regards

Robby Schneider
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
230 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Holiday Inn Express. It was extremely clean even though it is very busy and has lots of rooms.

We stayed two nights and the experience was very enjoyable - great German style duvets (world's best) and comfortable pillows in wonderful beds.
Bathroom was almost new and modern and the shower pressure was exactly what we required.
WIFI in our room worked well but a little slow. Our bedroom had double glazing windows which made the room almost sound proof. We were on the church side/back of hotel and we never heard a bell - maybe they were not working!!!!!

The staff at the hotel were very customer focused and they made every effort to assist us in perfect English (I wish my German was half as good as their English).

The Location of the hotel has been spoken about before and the public transport and the hop on/hop off bus stopped outside the hotel. We used the hop on/hop off daily while our car was parked in the shopping centre across the street (under cover) for 6.50/euros a day. A bargain!!!

Breakfast was very good and all the offerings were fresh and tasty.

We will return again to this little gem when we next visit Dresden.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DFD1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRSCC, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear DFD1303,

thank you very much for your kind validation here on tripadvisor.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Dresden and in our hotel.

We wish you a wonderful time and hope to see you again here in Dresden.

Best regards

Matthias Eichler
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Altstadt
Star Inn Hotel Premium Dresden im Haus Altmarkt, by Quality
Ibis Budget Dresden City
#14 of 118 in Dresden
1,502 reviews
Pullman Dresden Newa
#16 of 118 in Dresden
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre
Address: Dr.-Kuelz-Ring 15A, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden > Innere Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Dresden
#15 Family Hotel in Dresden
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre Hotel Dresden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing