We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,213)
Filter reviews
1,213 results
Traveller rating
474
455
198
62
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
474
455
198
62
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the rivercanaletto restaurantold townstarwood preferred guestspg membershort walk over the bridgecafe barriver viewhotel has a great locationdeluxe roomlarge hoteltram stopbreakfast buffetan easy walkper daycity centreelbe
Filter
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 1,213 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I recently stayed at the Westin Bellevue in Dresden for two nights on my honeymoon trip.

The staff was very amicable and helpful in pointing us in the right way for various sights we had on our agenda.

The location of the hotel is amazing, a short walk from the bridge which leads in the heart of historic Dresden. It was very convenient for us.

However, the pool area is a bit dated, the water is kept a pitch too cold, which means too cold for many others based on my experience. They also have some kind of whirlpool, not really a jacuzzi because too cold. It was a bit disappointing.

The rooms are nice and decent, but give a little feeling of 1990's, which can be overlooked without problem. The beds could use better mattresses, being a bit too hard.

Overall, I loved my stay at the hotel, the perfect location and the good service from the staff compensating for any disappointment.

Oh, last thing, it seems to be running in the Westin family ... Overprice internet makes unhappy guests. Please, give us at least a free wifi spot in the lobby!

Room Tip: The hotel nor being located on the good side of the bridge, the view of the canal will not give you the sensational buildings on the other side of the Elbe. Might not be worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHennig, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear guest, thank you so much for your really nice comment! We really enjoyed such kind words and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Yours Westin Bellevue Dresden Team, Elisabeth H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a larger trip in Germany and the Czech Republic. I chose the hotel as a Starwood Platinum member, because of the location, and because of positive reviews. Here's a summary of my stay in Room 355:

The Good:
- excellent location across the river from the old town, with nice views
- easy walk from all sights and great restaurants
- very clean and spacious property
- prompt and efficient check-in and check-out with friendly service

The So-So:
- breakfast had a great variety, but was lacking in fresh fruits / healthy options
- bed was very comfortable, but was not a Westin Heavenly Bed as advertised
- rather than one comforter, the bed had two (one for each side), which as a solo traveler was not ideal
- parking was expensive at EUR 16/night

The Bad:
- the shower was not the typical Westin Heavenly shower, and sprayed on the side wall rather than straight ahead, making the shower experience somewhat unpleasant
- wifi signal was extremely weak in the room (only worked about 10% of the time, and in certain parts of the room). At the price they are charging for internet this is unacceptable.

In general, this was a comfortable stay in a good location, however many of the amenities that I expect of a Westin (i.e. Heavenly Bed, Heavenly Shower, good wifi access) were missing. While not a bad hotel, it seems like it would be more appropriately branded as a Sheraton. With that said, I generally enjoyed my stay and felt that it was a good value through the use of the cash+points option of the Starwood program.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cougrz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHennig, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you very much for the extra time you spent providing us with the feedback to your recent stay at our hotel. Our guests criticism is very important to us because it allows us to continuously improve our services and optimize the overall impression of our hotel. We have discussed your comments internally. Best regards The Westin Bellevue Dresden Team, Elisabeth H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We arrived for our two night stay with a somewhat overcast sky, but a leisurely stroll along the banks of the river Elbe, and a pleasant dinner, we woke to the worst possible scenario, rain and lots of it. The hotel had been flooded only a few weeks earlier, as the river started to rise again. Our walking tour of the sights of the city were assisted by the courteous and helpful reception staff, who loaned some of group with umbrellas. Dinner on the second night consisted of a very large Berger washed down with a good glass of a pleasant beer. Still raining, the river rising we retired for an early morning departure. Two excellent breakfasts, and on departure the river had reached the rim of its banks. But by then it had stopped raining. I intend to return to Dresden at some time to see what we missed. Excellent hotel, wonderful staff, attractive bar and reception.

Stayed: June 2013
1  Thank ke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHennig, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

We are really happy to see that guests are happy.
Thank you so much for your kind words and be welcome already today upon your next Dresden trip with sunshine in the sky :-). We are looking forward to you. Best regards The Westin Bellevue Dresden Team, Elisabeth H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed here 2 nights. It's a great choices for location-on the bank of the river Elbe, and a short walk over the river to the city centre. Rooms are excellent. Everything you need and expect in a good hotel. This is a big hotel and the restaurant is equally big and well appointed. Get in early to get a window seat with a view of the garden and river. Buffet Breakfast is quite good.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hunter B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHennig, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you for your very positive review. We are pleased to have achieved the success of 100% guest satisfaction. The Westin Bellevue Dresden Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Good location, just 5 min from the city center, cross the bridge and there you are. If you get a nice room views are also nice, but they charge you for it.
Building may look a bit weird from the road side but it is well cared indeed and seen from the river side is beautifull.
Furniture, carpets, linen and others are also well taken care off. The best bit is the matress, perfect.
The price for the room/location is very good. Extras such as parking, r/s, laundry and internet are expensive but you are going to a westin.
Service is good and staff is helpfull and well trained as for standards.

Room Tip: if you don't mind spending the money, then riverside.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nor3383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHennig, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the extra time you spent providing us with the feedback to your recent stay at our hotel. We really enjoyed such kind words and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Yours The Westin Bellevue Dresden Team, Elisabeth H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews