We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Dresden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Dresden Hotel
Ranked #14 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Liverpool
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is one of those hotels that it is hard to find anything negative to say about.

The address they claim, An der Frauenkirche 5, is probably the most annoying thing, as the entrance is actually on the rather less prestigious Topferstrasse, and we spent what felt like hours trying to find it before accidentally spotting it from the end of the road. Dresden is like that, the signage starts off encouraging and then disappears for just about everything.

From the beginning -

Location could hardly be better, just minutes walk from all the sights and shops, although it's about half an hour's trek with heavy luggage from the Hauptbahnhof. Dresden Mitte is slightly nearer but not nearly as nice, both the station and the walk. You pass through both on the train from the airport. But remember it's actually tucked away behind the building with the the big red tourist information "I" sign on the Altmarkt.

Reception is spacious, cool and welcoming. Check in was smooth and efficient, and we got the upgrade we had asked for. We never had any excessive delays at the lifts. The duplex suite to which they had upgraded us was huge, spotless, comfortable, - you simply run out of adjectives. Downstairs was a normal sized sitting room with 3 piece suite, sideboard, luggage rack, TV etc. Upstairs was a huge bedroom with the usual en suite bathroom and a spacious dressing room cum dining room, all fully fitted out with furniture that looked brand new and felt extremely comfortable.
There were tea and coffee making facilities, a bowl of fruit and a bottle of mineral water which was replaced every day. We also had access to the executive lounge, which provided alternative breakfasts, soft drinks and tea and coffee all day, cakes from 3 p.m.to 6 p.m. and an evening meal with soft and alcoholic drinks (everything from beer, via sekt and prosecco to scotch and cognac) from 6 p.m. to 8p.m.

Breakfast in the main restaurant on the ground floor was sumptuous, with all the cereals you would want, juice and coffee served at your table, the usual array of hot courses (plus something that looked suspiciously like tomato soup - for breakfast!), a vast selection of cheeses, cold meats, smoked and pickled fish, breads, cakes, jams, 3 different kinds of honey, fruit and yoghourt. And probably lots of other things that I have forgotten. And there was a laudable absence of piped music and plenty of room for everybody, both of which are all too rare these days.


All the time we were there, all the staff were absolutely charming and extremely helpful, which is not always the same thing.

The whole experience was one we would be very happy to repeat. You are paying for it, of course, but we have paid a lot more for a lot less in our time.

There were a few niggles.

The shower was very difficult to control and you ended up with a choice of slightly too hot or slightly too cold. This is all too common, of course, but the unique feature was the shower spray panel, which seemed to have been designed by someone who had never actually used a shower. Not only was it far too narrow, extending only about 12 inches along the bath, but there was a gap of about 2 inches between its bottom edge and the top of the bath. Combine that with the tricky shower controls and you have a recipe for constant bathroom floods. I ended up taking baths instead, which is scarcely friendly to the planet the way we are all always being urged to be these days.

There is a charge of 3 euros per person if you book anything via the concierge. This, too, is a common practice, but it is just as well to know about it in advance.

The free wi-fi access in the public areas works well, once you get a code from reception or the business centre, but if you are not careful it is all too easy to end up logging in to the in-room network instead. If you do they will charge you 15 euros a day, which is their standard charge for in room access. The words "robbery" and "daylight" do spring to mind, though not necessarily in that order.

Dresden is a fantastic place to visit, and the Dresden Hilton is the perfect place to stay while you are there.

Room Tip: The cost effective option is to book an executive room without breakfast. This costs less than a sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akathistos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Dresden, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear User Akathistos,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this detailed review regarding your recent visit at the Hilton Dresden.

With pleasure we read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services and facilities met your expectations. We very much appreciate your comments as they help us to continuously improve our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Dresden in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    899
    658
    176
    62
    22
See reviews for
334
746
133
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gerrards Cross
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Excellent venue for a conference. Good facilities in the hotel, and close to all the things you want to see in Dresden. In fact, a good venue even if you are not going to a conference. Particular good points about the hotel rooms: plentyof lights, and plenty of power sockets including a UK 13 amp, easily accessible.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Dresden, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Neil,

Thank you very much for staying with us during your visit to Dresden as well as for your constructive review.

We were delighted to learn that our facilities met with your needs as a business traveller and that you were very satisfied with your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards,
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Overall, as with all in the Hilton stable, this hotel is well maintained and efficiently run. I was there for a conference and they certainly managed to cope with the large number of delegates. I was disappointed that the housekeeper did not ever replace the used cups and glasses. Great location makes up for all of this - right in the buzzy part of the Old City without the noise.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Dresden, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Monica,

Thank you very much for staying with us during your visit to Dresden as well as for your constructive review.

We were delighted to learn that our facilities met with your needs as a business traveller and that you were satisfied with your stay. However we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused by the insufficient Housekeeping service. Your remarks have been shared with our Executive Housekeeper and we will have a closer look into training our staff more effectively in order to avoid such annoyances in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Hilton Dresden.

Kind regards
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I always try and use this hotel when staying in Dresden. The rooms are comfortable, the gym facilities are superb and all the staff are very helpful. The executive lounge is one of the best there is. Please keep up the good work..

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ctat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Dresden, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear User Ctat,

We really appreciate your nice words and would like to thank you for your review.

We devote ourselves to offer you the best services and a charming stay. We are glad that your stay was memorable and that you enjoyed our services.

Your loyalty to Hilton Worldwide is highly appreciated and we are looking forward to welcoming
you back to Hilton Dresden in the near future.

Kind regards
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I lived in Dresden for three years before I left 4 years ago. This time was a business trip. Hotel is Excellent location for family with little kids, elderly or 1 or 2 days trip. It is within 10-20 minutes walking distance to most of the attractions. But if you plan to stay more than 2 days, you can look for other 4-star hotel with $40-60 per day cheaper. Tram system is very good in Dresden.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NyBluebonnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Dresden, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear User NyBluebonnet,

Thank you very much for staying with us during your visit in Dresden as well as for your constructive review.

We were delighted to learn that our facilities met with your needs as a business traveller and that you were very satisfied with your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This was my first trip to Dresden and I found the hotel to be a jewel! From checking in and having a very knowledgable clerk assist me at the Hilton Honors desk to getting me to my room....everything was PERFECT!
The room was wonderful....the bed heaven...there is nothing I can say derogatory about this property. So central to everything....no surprises. And the Executive Lounge was so wonderful...smiling faces....lots of everything to unwind.
Do book here....I will be back with friends!

Room Tip: If you can, go to the Executive level....you will not regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dougkinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Dresden, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear User dougkinney,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Dresden and for the nice words in your review.

We are glad that your stay was memorable and that you enjoyed our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your friends again soon.

Kind regards
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Perfect Hotel in the middle of the Historic City of Dresden and near shops restaurants and cafés. A really nice experience and a super service from the personnel at the hotel. I do warmly recommend the hotel - perfect both for business needs and for vacations.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sten G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Dresden, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Sten,

It was a pleasure having you as our guest at the Hilton Dresden.
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey as well as this review with your valuable evaluation.

We have noted your room preferences in our documents for future stays.

Your loyalty to Hilton Worldwide is highly appreciated and we are looking forward to welcoming
you back to Hilton Dresden in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Swissotel Dresden
#3 of 118 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,384 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
#2 of 118 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dresden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dresden Hotel

Property: Hilton Dresden Hotel
Address: An Der Frauenkirche 5, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Dresden
#7 Family Hotel in Dresden
#9 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#10 Business Hotel in Dresden
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Dresden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the breathtaking views of the famous Frauenkirche in Dresden directly from the hotel. All major sights of this historic and vibrant cultural metropolis can be found in the near vicinity. With us you can enjoy your stay. Our numerous restaurants and cafés offer something for everyone. Stay here guarantees nothing to be desired. Spoil your loved one with a visit to our restaurant Rossini - one of the best Italians Dresden with spectacular views of the Frauenkirche - or try typical Saxon cuisine in our Bierhaus Dampfschiff. Try a perfect Steak at our Steakhouse "Alte Münze" or visit our Bistro Ecke Frauenkirche to watch a football match in a typical atmosphere and with other like-minded people. Visit our numerous terraces on sunny days. How about a delicious ice cream or homemade cakes? Then visit our Ice Cream Factory Dresden and enjoy next to all the delights the breathtaking view of the Elbe valley and Brühl's Terrace - the Balcony of Europe. Our elegant rooms and suites offer everything that could be wished for. Enjoy a drink from the mini-bar, watch the 42" LED TV, relax in comfortable fluffy slippers or get to work at the desk with wireless internet. An Executive room offers a personalised service and access to our unique Executive Lounge. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast, soft and alcoholic drinks and snacks during service hours. Start active in the day and visit our LivingWell Health Club. On the over 1,100 m2 fitness area you can enjoy a workout properly. Look for relaxation after a busy day? Then use our swimming pool or the heated outdoor whirlpool overlooking the famous Church of our Lady. Planning an event? Wonderful! With us you are in the right hands. Whether large conference, a discreet meeting, a birthday party or family celebration, Christmas party or wedding - our professional Event Team takes care to your event with passion and sensitivity . With us every event is a success - we promise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Prestigia, Agoda and Hilton EMEA so you can book your Hilton Dresden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dresden
Dresden Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing