We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Normal Hilton Treatment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Dresden Hotel
Ranked #16 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not Normal Hilton Treatment”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

The room was fine but surprised by the room maids and concierge.

Maids - the sign in the bathroom specifically says if we want towels changed, to put them all on the floor. We did that, and the maid picked them up and hung them back up, which we weren't happy with. Also, we would have the in-room tea/coffee every morning, and they never replaced it all each day.

Concierge - the male was somewhat helpful, but the female wasn't very helpful and was also a bit stingy giving out city maps.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ihearttravel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Dresden, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear User Ihearttravel100,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete this review regarding your recent visit at the Hilton Dresden.

I very much regret your impression to our hotel left by the behaviour of our Concierge staff and the Housekeeping Team. Your observations will be shared with the respective department heads, as the mentioned service does definitely not belong to the standard we strive to reach and which you may expect from Hilton.

We very much appreciate your comments as they help us to continuously improve our services and would be excited to welcome you again as our guest when you plan to visit Dresden again the next time.

Kind regards,
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    934
    696
    191
    68
    28
See reviews for
350
788
136
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is exceptional and it's really close to everything. Only problem is they don't have free wifi although you can get it at their lobby for free... so I guess it isn't too bad. You can get the wifi access from the concierge.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meilinsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Dresden, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear User meilinsha,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Dresden Hotel and for the nice words in your review.

We are glad that your stay was memorable and that you enjoyed our services.

We hope you will visit Dresden again soon and we will have the chance to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teddington
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

A enjoyable stay. Good service etc. Some of the hotel feels a little pre 1990, despite attempts to camouflage this and the decor could be improved but this is not a serious problem, particularly if you are here on business rather than a holiday. Its position more than makes up for it. More importantly I concur with previous guests' comments that it is absurd in this day and age to charge for wifi, let alone the extortionate amount asked for here. If the Hilton chain professes to be modern and forward looking then they really should accept that most people will want wifi and it should come with the room in the same way that running water does! We have not paid anywhere else in Germany.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandGUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Dresden, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear User RandGUK,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete this review regarding your recent visit at the Hilton Dresden.

With pleasure we read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services and facilities met your expectations. We very much appreciate your comments, especially regarding the internet charge, as they help us to continuously improve our services. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused.

We would be excited to welcome you again as our guest when you plan to visit Dresden next time.

Kind regards
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is an excellent hotel in the Hilton style - comfortable rooms, superb breakfast and extremely helpful staff. The only niggle that leaves this with 4* not 5, is the absurd daily charge of 15Euro for WiFi in the guest rooms. It was only on the 2nd day of a three night stay, that the concierge informed us that we could have up to two hours free access in the lobby. Thank you, but a) that is ridiculous for a three night stay and b) no other hotel in our 3 week tour of the region, charges for the internet in the room. This is 2014, not 2004, things have moved on in recent years - Hilton should be leading the pack, not trailing.
On the plus side, I have to make special mention of the wonderful service of that concierge. She arranged the transport for a day trip on the river and advised on restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Portcred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Dresden, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear User Portcred,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete the guest questionnaire regarding your recent visit at the Hilton Dresden. With pleasure we read that you enjoyed your stay with us in general.

We very much appreciate your comment regarding the internet charge as it helps us to continuously improve our services and we sincerely apologize for the impression.

Thank you very much for having stayed with us. We would be excited to welcome you again as our guest when you plan to visit Dresden the next time.

Kind regards,
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Absolutely loved our 3 night stay in the Hilton which was booked as part of a special deal through British Airways Holidays. The location is perfect within a short walking distance of the city's main attractions such as the Frauenkirche and Bruhlsche Terrace, as well as many shops and restaurants.

The hotel is modern and clean, the staff were exceptionally polite and helpful. We had rooms on the third floor, both very spacious and spotless. Lovely and comfortable king bed, large flatscreen TV, desk with a proper office support chair, a good sized wardrobe with an iron. The bathroom was modern with a good shower, overall very well decorated and maintained.

We never had breakfast in the hotel as not part of our reservation and shame there is no free Wi Fi for all guests. Will definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durhamguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Dresden, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear User Durhamguy,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Dresden Hotel and for the nice words in your review.

We are glad that the stay with your family was memorable and that you enjoyed our services.

We hope you will visit Dresden again soon and we will have the chance to welcome you again as our guests.

Kind regards,
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Perfectly situated quite literally steps from the principal buildings.
Comfortable with a most helpful and friendly staff at Reception. Particular mention must be made of the Concierge who was a highly efficient, helpful and delightful lady. I left my wallet on a chair in the lounge where the staff picked it up and kept it safely until I returned a little later.
Black marks however for the lack of access to the breakfast room for a wheelchair! My husband had to be escorted through the kitchens to access it. The fact that there was another breakfast room was pointed out to us without apology. I trust Hilton will improve these facilities shortly although I do appreciate the steps already taken in the city

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Dresden, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Kate,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and for your appreciation of our services and team. We are delighted that your experience with us was fulfilling and you enjoyed the hotel.

However we sincerely apologize for the circumstances caused by the location of our Breakfast Restaurant and the difficult access for your husband.

We hope you will visit Dresden again soon and we will have the chance to welcome you again as our guests.

Kind regards,
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Hilton Dresden didn't let me down in my Hilton experience but Cindy from reservation was so kind to me since I was disturbed about the noise from street she kindly changed my room to 4th floor. I think she is big credit to the hotel. Breakfast was fantastic. Only disappointment was I had to pay for Wifi. I still think that should definitely change!

Room Tip: If you like quiet room ask one looking at court yards
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms

Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessandThePea72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Dresden, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear User PrincessandThePea72,

Thank you very much for staying with us during your visit to Dresden as well as for your constructive review.

We were delighted to learn that our facilities met with your needs as a business traveller and that you were very satisfied with your stay, especially with the helpfulness and friendliness of our staff.

We are happy to inform you that we offer internet access to our guests in the public areas of our hotel free of charge.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Hilton Dresden.

Kind regards,
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
#2 of 118 in Dresden
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dresden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dresden Hotel

Property: Hilton Dresden Hotel
Address: An der Frauenkirche 5, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Dresden
#7 Family Hotel in Dresden
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#10 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#10 Business Hotel in Dresden
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Dresden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the breathtaking views of the famous Frauenkirche in Dresden directly from the hotel. All major sights of this historic and vibrant cultural metropolis can be found in the near vicinity. With us you can enjoy your stay. Our numerous restaurants and cafés offer something for everyone. Stay here guarantees nothing to be desired. Spoil your loved one with a visit to our restaurant Rossini - one of the best Italians Dresden with spectacular views of the Frauenkirche - or try typical Saxon cuisine in our Bierhaus Dampfschiff. Try a perfect Steak at our Steakhouse "Alte Münze" or visit our Bistro Ecke Frauenkirche to watch a football match in a typical atmosphere and with other like-minded people. Visit our numerous terraces on sunny days. How about a delicious ice cream or homemade cakes? Then visit our Ice Cream Factory Dresden and enjoy next to all the delights the breathtaking view of the Elbe valley and Brühl's Terrace - the Balcony of Europe. Our elegant rooms and suites offer everything that could be wished for. Enjoy a drink from the mini-bar, watch the 42" LED TV, relax in comfortable fluffy slippers or get to work at the desk with wireless internet. An Executive room offers a personalised service and access to our unique Executive Lounge. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast, soft and alcoholic drinks and snacks during service hours. Start active in the day and visit our LivingWell Health Club. On the over 1,100 m2 fitness area you can enjoy a workout properly. Look for relaxation after a busy day? Then use our swimming pool or the heated outdoor whirlpool overlooking the famous Church of our Lady. Planning an event? Wonderful! With us you are in the right hands. Whether large conference, a discreet meeting, a birthday party or family celebration, Christmas party or wedding - our professional Event Team takes care to your event with passion and sensitivity . With us every event is a success - we promise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Dresden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dresden
Dresden Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing