We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Several nuisances”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Ranked #7 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed 09-11 April 2012. There were many positives of the hotel (location, cleanliness, spa, bar, friendliness of most staff) however several nuisances spoilt the experience significantly:
- Standard Regenten rooms have problems with loud humming background noise of air conditioning and ventilation. It cannot be switched off.
- On one occasion room service food was requested at 23:25 and rudely refused by reception staff claiming it was 23:30 already (closing time for room service) when it was not.
- Background music in Intermezzo fine dining restaurant and in breakfast room is continuously repeating itself and this is annoying.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Taschenberg, Manager at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear A T,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your residence at the Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski Dresden. We are pleased about your satisfaction with the location, cleanliness, spa, bar and especially the friendliness of our staff.

However we regret that there are certain aspects which were disturbing your stay.

First we would like to apologise for the technical problems you had with the air condition. Be sure that we will offer our guests a high standard of technical amenities. Therefore we will pass your feedback through to our technical department.

In addition it surely is not one of our service standards that you did not get your room service order after 23:30. As a consequence we will talk to our restaurant manager about your complaint. Also, we will discuss the music selection during the breakfast.

We are grateful about your comment because this is a chance for us to optimise our services. Nevertheless we hope you enjoyed your stay in Dresden and we would be delighted to welcome you again soon.

The team of the Taschenbergpalais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,337)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

An amazing experience...the staff treat you like royalty, the rooms are clean, big and comfortable, and the large breakfast spread is 100% worth waking up for!

The location is top notch - right across the street from Palace, Castle and Opera House. Everything else is well within walking distance.

The hotel's many restaurants are worth checking out and their bar is a wonderful place for a night cap (although pricy).

You can also easily park your car (valet) here for 20 eu (pretty average for european city hotels) and not worry about it again. The hotel did charge me another 6 eu for going over my time in the garage when I checked out - something I was unaware of and the hotel staff did not share with me.

Overall, strongly recommend for a luxury night or two in Dresden!

Room Tip: Ask for room packages, ensure breakfast is included in your room (worth it)
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcm_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This was our second time in Dresden (a city worth visiting over and over again), and the Taschenbergpalais Kempinski is definitively the place to stay! Nice service, wonderful interiors, spacious and comfortable rooms/bathrooms, really tasty breakfast (it was included in our rate, but if you have to pay extra, go for it!), and in our case, a killing view to the Zwinger!! And the Semperoper is just accross the square. Parking was EUR20 or EUR25 a day (don´t remember it exactly), which is not cheap, but OK. The only real complain we have is the paid internet access. Wi-fi should be free, after all, this is the 21st century!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klara_SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I went with my company and all I can say is WOW, I thought I was staying in the Palace of Versace !!. I stayed in a suite which was hugh. The mini bar was amazing full of chanpagne, spirits & expensive chocolate. As for the bathroom wverything you could wish for even a set of scales.... I would compare it to my review of the Ritz but a tad better.I slept like a log the beds were so commfy. Went down for a very good breakfast. Faultless saty but you only get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stonelea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We staid at several locations in Dresden, but our favorite is this one. Because....
Service... we forgot to book a third bed for our son... No problem at all ... special soap, little duck, nice bed, bath robe ... and I guess also an upgrade. We had again a nice dinner at the Bistro and a great evening at the bar. The pool area is small, but clean and quit (even with our four year old). Service at breakfast again great ... People make the difference.
We will come back, for sure !!!

Room Tip: We like our room on the first floor ... facing the back road.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank_and_Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We have been at the Kempinski Taschenberg Palais at the beginning of January after the rush of the beautiful Christmas markets. At that time of the year, you can enjoy the hotel for a quiet affordable price. In the yard of the hotel, you can go have ice skating and for the rest you have very luxurious facilities in a real palace.
We would be very pleased to get back there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonardo_1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Just spent a couple of days in the Taschenberg Palais. The room was very spacious very nicely decorated and contrary to previous reviews equipped with a flat screen tv !! Normally I have problems to sleep in hotels, however a Tempur pillow was supplied on request and I slept like a baby. The location is simply superb. In the hotel we ate at the Palais Bistro unfortunately there was a very pricey menu that night (I did see 'a la carte' on other days). After a 90 euro bill consisting of 2 drinks and 2 ridiculously small main courses we went very hungry to the Karl May bar and had something to eat !! We had a laugh when we saw another couple from the restaurant who had sat beside us doing the same! The cocktails in the Karl May are to be recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
#2 of 118 in Dresden
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#17 of 118 in Dresden
2,004 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Gewandhaus Dresden, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski

Address: Taschenberg 3, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden > Innere Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dresden
#5 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#6 Business Hotel in Dresden
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
Price Range: £112 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 18th century by the Saxon king, August the Strong, as a pledge of love to his mistress and faithfully restored in 1995, Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski is a beautiful combination of historic glory and modern design. The hotel offers 182 elegant rooms, 32 luxurious suites and culinary excellence from five different venues including: the gourmet restaurant Intermezzo, the Palais Bistro, the Restaurant Lesage in the Transparent Factory of Volkswagen, Cafe Vestibul and the Karl May Bar. In addition, there are six elegant conference rooms on the Bel Etage and a divisible meeting and ball room. The hotel has also its own spa lounge with a pool and offers five-star catering services in and around Dresden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taschenbergpalais Kempinski Hotel
Taschenbergpalais Kempinski Dresden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing