We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“high quality in the city center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Ranked #6 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“high quality in the city center”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

the kempinski in dresden is located 300m to the semper opera and city center. valet parking is available for 25 euros per day and you should use it although pubplic parking is not far away , but crowded.the atmosphere is very original and given the 5* level the service and the rooms are luxury. the breakfast is on international level and you must not forget to ask about the special menue withdifferent eggs and asian food.the pool is boring, just a 6 by 11 metres pool with nothing special. there is a gym and a solarium as well but eg no whirlpool.the service is very dedicated but when we have been here first december weekend it turned,out they are overloaded and with very limited time to serve you.there is a ice area where you can practice during winter months, really well made and with lots of fun for the kids.several restaurants in the building offering great variety with different price levels.given price level there are other locations as well. we will not come back here, being a crowd for a family annual meeting with 16 people.

Helpful?
Thank andro7077
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Team_Taschenberg, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear andro7077,

Thank you very much for the detailed review of your recent stay with us! We were delighted to learn about your particularly nice recollections of our hotel and especially in regard to our level of service, the interior and our inner-courtyard ice rink. Moreover, we sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused by the relatively high occupancy during this first weekend in December. Saxony is Germany’s Christmas hub and consequently, especially at the beginning of the holiday season, we are happy to welcome a significantly higher number of visitors to Dresden. We do love the hustle and bustle caused by the colourful clouds of people, however, we are aware that, at times, it can get a little busy and we are deeply sorry if this has affected your tranquillity.

Dear andro7077, thank you once again for your extensive as well as factual feedback and we remain with our very best regards from Dresden,
Your Team at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    902
    258
    95
    23
    11
See reviews for
226
610
84
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The Taschenberpalais Kempinski is an excellent example of the unique recovery effort in Dresden. In the middle of the monumental city centre provides a classy accommodation in a rebuilt palace, all in an elegant, discrete environment. Charming and non intrusive service. Plus details for our anniversary

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaimeAndes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Taschenberg, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Mr. JaimeAndes,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us! We were delighted to read that you have so thoroughly enjoyed your time in Dresden and that the city’s architecture has left a lasting impression on you. Moreover, your description of the Taschenbergpalais as classy, elegant and discreet has very much pleased us as has your comment about our charming and non-intrusive service.

Dear Mr. JaimeAndes, thank you very much for your kind words. We cordially congratulate you once again to your anniversary and we would be happy to welcome you to the Taschenbergpalais whenever travel brings you back to Dresden.

With our very best regards,
Your Team at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Badung, Bali, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Guests can expect anything you'd expect from Kempenski's standard (from the usual strategic location to the elegant interior), but Taschenbergpalais had delivered the level of service beyond my expectation. You don't usually expect that level of hospitality in Europe but I left the hotel with very good memories. Well done!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cintha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Taschenberg, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Ms Cintha,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski. We were delighted to learn that the hotel’s interior was to your taste and that you have thoroughly enjoyed our service. We are happy that you have collected so many good memories and, for us as hoteliers, it is the biggest compliment to read that you have especially valued our level of hospitality.

Dear Ms Cintha, thank you again for your kind and honest feedback and we would be delighted to welcome you again whenever your travels bring you back to Dresden.

With our best regards,
Your Team at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We have stayed at three of the Kempinski hotels in Europe and this group is very hard to beat.
Once again the service is faultless and the location is excellent with a massive shopping centre just a few minutes walk away along with all the major tourist attractions. Although this time we stayed a couple of nights with a tour, we were given a lovely room. The restaurant was nice but be warned that about the time it takes on some of the courses.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Taschenberg, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Mr. Ross C,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay with us! We were very happy to read that you liked the hotel’s location as well as your room and that you have thoroughly enjoyed your time in Europe and Dresden in particular. Moreover, we apologise sincerely for the prolonged waiting time you have described in regard to some of your orders in one of our restaurants. We really appreciate your honest feedback and we assure you that our team at the front desk is also keen to answer your concerns personally at all times.

Dear Mr. Ross C, we would be delighted to welcome you again to the Taschenbergpalais whenever your travels bring you back to Dresden.

With our very best regards,
Your Team at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

If you can afford it, this is a fantastic hotel. I was very fortunate to spend five days at this hotel thanks to my company. I was astonished to learn that the building had been destroyed during the firebombing of Dresden during World War II. The restoration was so very well done that I thought the building had survived. All of the staff were very helpful and the service was excellent. Kudos to the kitchen staff -- the quality and variety of food was, again, most excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMack38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Taschenberg, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear PMack38,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay with us. We were delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your time at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski and that you have collected so many positive memories of the hotel and especially of the service. We have forwarded your nice comment to the staff right away.

We would be very happy to welcome you again to the Taschenbergpalais whenever your travels bring you back to Dresden.

With best regards,
Your Team at the Taschenbergpalais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We spent 3 wonderful days in this remarkeable hotel. The location is unbeatable, right beside the main attractions of the 'old city" including the fabulous green vault. The service was also top drawer and the concierges were extremely helpful.
i would definitely stay here again if I revisited Dresden.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettylow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed here 2 nights as part of a gropu tour on the Orient Express back in July 2011.

The location of the hotel was excellent for tourists, close to a lot of sites you would want to visit.

Breakfast was very good as far as choice and quality was concerned. You could even have champagne, if you so wished. The service during breakfast was OK. We had a private group lunch on our first day. The quality of the food was excellent but let down by slow service.

My room was large with beautiful views and very comfortable indeed.

My main gripe with this place was the service.

Lunch Service in their Cafe/bar was very slow. I advised the waitress that I only had an hour for lunch as my transport to the train station was coming in an hour's time, so asked her for suggestions on what to order that would be quick. She suggested I get a sandwich which I then ordered. Over 40 minutes later the food had still not arrived and I had to chase twice before it arrived just 10 minutes before we were all leaving.

The service at conscierge was unhelpful and bordering on rude. When we stayed here, they had some antique jewellery on disaply near the main Lobby with a sign up advising any guests interested in purchasing the jewellery to speak to Conscierge. I queued up patiently at the Conscierge counter to make an enquiry. When I finally was seen by a member of the Conscierge team, I explained that I was interested in the jewellery on display to which he replied: "you need to hurry up because I am busy". There was no-one in the queue behind me, so there is just no excuse for the unhelpful comment that he made to me. I didn't take a complaint to the manager. I chose instead to say nothing because I didn't want to ruin the holiday, but really this isn't service. Either remove the sign asking people to enquire at the Conscierge or teach the Conscierge staff how to be helpful and approachable.

So my only negative regarding this hotel is service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miranda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Taschenberg, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Ms Miranda,

Thank you for your reviewing your stay from July 2011. We were sorry to learn that your experiences with the service have retrospectively not been satisfactory. Unfortunately, at this point we are no longer able to clarify the specific incidents you have described in your comment. Nevertheless, we are still very sorry for your inconvenience and we would like to encourage you in future to voice any concerns or comments directly at the time of occurrence. This would enable us to react immediately and take corrective actions right away.

Dear Ms Miranda, we would like to thank you once again for your honest feedback and we would be happy to welcome you back to the Taschenbergpalais.

With kindest regards from Dresden,
Your Team at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
#2 of 118 in Dresden
640 reviews
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#16 of 118 in Dresden
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Neustadt
Bulow Palais
Bulow Palais
#1 of 118 in Dresden
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski

Property: Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Address: Taschenberg 3, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden > Innere Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dresden
#5 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
#6 Business Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 18th century by the Saxon king, August the Strong, as a pledge of love to his mistress and faithfully restored in 1995, Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski is a beautiful combination of historic glory and modern design. The hotel offers 182 elegant rooms, 32 luxurious suites and culinary excellence from five different venues including: the gourmet restaurant Intermezzo, the Palais Bistro, the Restaurant Lesage in the Transparent Factory of Volkswagen, Cafe Vestibul and the Karl May Bar. In addition, there are six elegant conference rooms on the Bel Etage and a divisible meeting and ball room. The hotel has also its own spa lounge with a pool and offers five-star catering services in and around Dresden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taschenbergpalais Kempinski Hotel
Taschenbergpalais Kempinski Dresden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing