We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Western Macrander Hotel Dresden
Ranked #52 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I tend to stay at this hotel when I’m on business in Dresden, which is about three or four this a year.

Pros
-Clean and comfortable rooms.
-Great Wi-Fi, and it’s free.
-Location. It’s a short walk to many restaurants and bars. There’s a bus stop literally across the road and a tram stop a little further up the street which will bring you into the centre of the city.
-Nice breakfast.
-Friendly staff.
-Quiet

Cons
-The hotel has the use of the hotel next doors gym (in fact it’s basically the same hotel). Unfortunately the cardio equipment is particular poor and in a state of bad repair.
-No restaurant or bar in the hotel although you can use the hotel next door.

Although pretty basic , If it’s a clean and comfortable hotel your looking for I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stimpyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

One more star if it were closer to the city. Price was right, they honored by request for a room change to the non street side. Sister property to the Holiday Inn next door, but surprise, as the "little" sister it provided better wifi/ Rooms are typical German mid range. Nothing special. WIfi (as noted) worked great.

Short walk to the Stauffenbergerallee tram stop, but still a walk. Longer walk to dining options.

I'll likely stay here again for business

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Good service. Large parking. Very nice landscape for the rooms at the top floor. The binoculars in the top rooms are very appreciated to look at all details of the city.
The restaurant shared with another hotel close to Best Western is very nice and the personnel is extremely customer oriented (in January 2012).

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VoyageurdUnJour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I stayed in this hotel recently when visiting the city to attend an exhibition. It is 2 miles from the city centre.
The hotel interior is kept in excellent condition and I found both the staff and the facilities to be very much up to a 4 star rating. The breakfast was actual one of the best that I have had in any hotel with plenty of choice and prompt service.
Ivery much enjoyed my 5 days in this hotel and would use it again without hesitation. Overall very good value.

Room Tip: Use the Best Western website as it often offers the best value and shows good details of the propert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJEStephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Clean and modern hotel.
Costs 7 euros per couple/family to travel down to the historical centre and back. Breakfast excellent. Free Internet access.
Price is a bit steep considering the location.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValEqHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Very nice hotel in a good area with lots of smaller bars close to downtown Dresden. Graffiti all around but the area is safe. Large rooms with large bathrooms. Clean and spacious with comfortable beds and good air-conditioning. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet has a large variety of items but some gluten-free and non-dairy standard choices would be nice for the steep price of the breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mianne109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

I had to stay in Dresden for two weeks and this hotel was perfect for my needs: I don't even consider a place if there is no free internet connection! I had a large room, absolutely newly furnished, flat TV screen, good bathroom, air conditioning working perfectly. Did not need much help from staff, but on the occasion I had to order something, or during check-in/check-out operation, they weere very pleasant and professional. Parking is no problem, free of charge in the parent hotel Holiday Inn. Very easy to reach from the motorway,
The hotel has no restaurant, but there is one in the nearby Holiday Inn, where Best Western customers are welcome (this applies to the Fitness Center, too).
Room service is quick, however the only thing you can order is Pizza or Flammkuchen, so if you are tired and do not feel like going to a restaurant, you are left with very few options... certainly not a great issue!
I sleep with earplugs, so I don't really care about street noise, but 90% of the rooms overlook a street with some traffic, and this could be a problem for some travellers.
If you don't have a car, consider walking to the city center can take about 45 minutes (3/4 km). Public transport however, are nearby.
Should I ever go to Dresden again, I will most certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ildegonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
NH Dresden Neustadt
#12 of 118 in Dresden
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichstadt
Hotel Aviv Dresden
Hotel Aviv Dresden
#58 of 118 in Dresden
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Macrander Hotel Dresden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Macrander Hotel Dresden

Address: Buchenstr. 10, 01097 Dresden, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Comfort Hotel Dresden)
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Dresden
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
Price Range: £52 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Macrander Hotel Dresden 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Macrander Hotel Dresden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dresden
Dresden Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing