We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good business hotel, depending on required location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Macrander Hotel Dresden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Macrander Hotel Dresden
Ranked #50 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Gencay, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good business hotel, depending on required location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

If you don't need a hotel in the centre of the city with all the associated "glamour" and cost, the Best Western is quite adequate. It's run as a business along with the Holiday Inn next door, so BW guests get to use the HI facilities (restaurant, Gym, sauna, bar etc) at no additional cost and anything can be cross charged to your room from there. Which is probably just as well really, as the BW has no restaurant and the bar can normally be described as "empty and devoid of soul".
Nothing wrong with the breakfast in the BW, although it's slightly limited in choice compared to the HI. Although you're not likely be troubled by hoards of foreign bus tourists who invade for a night or two and clog up the facilities. NH and and Park Plaza, this means you.... The staff and normally very helpful. On-site parking is limited, although the parking garage can only be entered once you've checked in - you need your keycard to open it.
The rooms are ok, nothing special - a little spartan but quite acceptable for a few nights. If the room is unused for longer periods they turn the heating off, but the radiators soon warm it up. The desk has enough power sockets for working away from the office, and tea/coffee facilities are provided. More than 1 sachet of coffee per day would be nice in a double room, though. The rooms have recently had minor make-over with faux wooden floors; i preferred it when the rooms were carpeted. The room is always clean, as is the bathroom. Although why there is a shaving/make-up mirror above the toilet, i have no idea.
The low corporate rate means that i'll probably be back again soon. But i'd prefer to stay in the HI if i had a choice.

Room Tip: Lower numbered rooms on the top floor (rooms 801-81x) have a view to the historical city centre abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MalR372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda G, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Macrander Hotel Dresden, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear MalR372,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +49 351 8151 500.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Linda Grumbt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    63
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
36
9
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I ended up here because Dresden is fully booked.

The definition for 4* is among other criteria's: has room service (not 24/7) and one restaurant.
This place has no restaurant and no room service.

The hotel might argue I am wrong, but "their" restaurant is in the Holiday Inn next door (and is the restaurant of that Holiday Inn), you have to leave the house, you have to leave the plot.

That the staff of that restaurant are completely of industrial comedians is another story.

Marking this hotel as I did is only because of the mis-labeling and (as a result) mis-selling.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanillaDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda G, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Macrander Hotel Dresden, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear VanillaDream

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at +49 351 8151 500.

Yours sincerely,

Linda Grumbt
Front Office Manager
BEST WESTERN Macrander Hotel Dresden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed here for two nights but found it a bit odd that there was no restaurant in hotel had to go to joint hotel of Holiday Inn and on Sunday night there was a very restricted menu that you had to have in the bar. Had dinner in restaurant on Monday night quite expensive. There was nowhere else locally that we could find to eat. Swimming pool also in Holiday Inn this was very cold.

Room Tip: This hotel was quite noisy as there was a busy road outside with bus stop, so maybe a room on the in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saz500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda G, Leiter Front Office at BEST WESTERN Macrander Hotel Dresden, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Saz500

Thank you very much for evaluating us on tripadvisor.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at +49 351 8151 0.

Yours sincerely,

Linda Grumbt
Front Office Manager
BEST WESTERN Macrander Hotel Dresden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

I have been staying 3 nights in Best Western during the business drip to Dresden. I mainly picked it due to a location – close to my business destination, outside of city center but not too far.
I don’t know if it is due to some maintenance or other but my entire stay was nothing but disappointment. Originally I booked for entire week but later on, moved to Holiday Inn – What a difference.
The hotel shares the same management and some facilities with it’s neighbor Holiday Inn, the prices are also the same but the facilities and atmosphere is not even close.
The disappointment with Best Western starts with a bad smell in the corridor, poor breakfast, off-camber beds, miniature blankets, all “after-work” facilities are next door in Holiday Inn and so on. The only bright spot is the shower.
The hotel that positions itself as a business hotel (due to booking.com), can’t be as it is! Next time I’ll try to shoot for Holiday Inn at the first place.

Room Tip: Look for it's neighbor Holiday Inn - same price, great difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shimon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda G, Manager at BEST WESTERN Macrander Hotel Dresden, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear sir,
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At our Hotels we strive every day to provide superior customer service. I am sorry we were not able to do that for you at the Best Western. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future. In Fact the Holiday Inn Rates are about 15.00 EUR higher than Best Western Rates. You could enjoy this upgrade as a benefit.

I hope you will consider staying with one of our Hotels again so that we can have another chance to provide you with exceptional service.

If I can provide any further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at +49 351 8151 442.

Cornelia Batzke, Revenue Manager on behalf of LindaG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

Room is clean and big enough .
Good wifi speed and coverage.
Breakfast is ok but may have to walk to Holiday Inn for Breakfast for some days.
Pool and Gym are at holiday Inn.
The staff are ok but not so friendly.

The night before checking out, I check with the reception to clear all outstanding bills as I have an early flight. However on the day itself, another staff inform me that I have additional bills to pay as I was checking out. This is really bad experience as I do not have time to check or argue with them about the bill as I was rushing to catch my flight. I hope they will improve on their staff service.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidNite23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

I tend to stay at this hotel when I’m on business in Dresden, which is about three or four this a year.

Pros
-Clean and comfortable rooms.
-Great Wi-Fi, and it’s free.
-Location. It’s a short walk to many restaurants and bars. There’s a bus stop literally across the road and a tram stop a little further up the street which will bring you into the centre of the city.
-Nice breakfast.
-Friendly staff.
-Quiet

Cons
-The hotel has the use of the hotel next doors gym (in fact it’s basically the same hotel). Unfortunately the cardio equipment is particular poor and in a state of bad repair.
-No restaurant or bar in the hotel although you can use the hotel next door.

Although pretty basic , If it’s a clean and comfortable hotel your looking for I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stimpyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

One more star if it were closer to the city. Price was right, they honored by request for a room change to the non street side. Sister property to the Holiday Inn next door, but surprise, as the "little" sister it provided better wifi/ Rooms are typical German mid range. Nothing special. WIfi (as noted) worked great.

Short walk to the Stauffenbergerallee tram stop, but still a walk. Longer walk to dining options.

I'll likely stay here again for business

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
0.0 mi away
Court Inn Dresden
Court Inn Dresden
#35 of 118 in Dresden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rothenburger Hof
Hotel Rothenburger Hof
#61 of 118 in Dresden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Plaza Dresden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NH Dresden Neustadt
NH Dresden Neustadt
#13 of 118 in Dresden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dorint Hotel Dresden
Dorint Hotel Dresden
#17 of 118 in Dresden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
4.8 mi away
AZIMUT Hotel Dresden
AZIMUT Hotel Dresden
#26 of 118 in Dresden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Macrander Hotel Dresden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Macrander Hotel Dresden

Property: BEST WESTERN Macrander Hotel Dresden
Address: Buchenstr. 10, 01097 Dresden, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Comfort Hotel Dresden)
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Dresden
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Macrander Hotel Dresden 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Macrander Hotel Dresden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dresden
Dresden Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing