We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to try harder”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Dresden
Ranked #35 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I am a little surprised by the high Tripadvisor ratings.

There is nothing majorly wrong with this hotel, it just needs to raise the bar in so many areas in order to deliver what I would expect.

The guestrooms are tired looking, scuffs on walls, stains on old carpets, dated bathroom with ugly looking shower curtain. The curtains did not meet in the middle, so each morning I had to wake up when the sun did. The cleaners make the best of it though, everything is clean. The room just somehow did not have the right ambience, maybe Holiday Inn should invest in some interior design.

Wifi was hopeless, constantly dropping connection, so I gave up in the end.

The reception staff were just ok, there was no warmth there, it felt like they were just going through the motions, no real focus on customer service.

For a short stay on business, especially if you have a car, this hotel will be ok, but do not expect anything special, there are no doubt far better options all over Dresden.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AFCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dresden, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear AFCW,

Thank you for taking the time to write a candid review. We appreciate your positive feedback regarding the cleanliness of the hotel. Conversely, it is regrettable that the room quality, amenities, and front desk service failed to meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience these aspects have caused.

Please be assured that all feedback will be acted upon as we rely on you, our valued guests, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel is a bit too far to walk to most of the usual sights, but has free parking. New rooms (some have only a shower, some have bathtubs), nice beds, everything works. Friendly staff, everything was functioning.

Room Tip: Executive rooms (top floor, seperate area) are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unterwegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I had the pleasure to stay at the holiday Inn for just one night while working in Dresden. It's a very comfortable hotel not far from the city center, with very welcoming rooms and offering an amazing continental breakfast. I really hope to enjoy the spa next time :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kottrerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda G, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dresden, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Kottrerina,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Linda Grumbt
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

During a trade fair I stayed in the Holiday Inn in Dresden. It is perfect for Business. The rooms are big, clean and WiFi works perfectly well. I had Dinner in the Restaurant and can recommend the buffet offers. Good, tasty and healthy European Food. Nice Bar. Friendly Team, very efficient at check-in and check-out. Safe parking facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KLH2012Riyadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed for 2 nights there, most impressive was the peach scent you feel immediately after getting out from elevator on the rooms floor. Room was really clean, spacious and couzy. Breakfast was good and staff really professional answering to all needs very quickly.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Aytun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda G, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dresden, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Aytun

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +49 351 8151 0.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Linda Grumbt
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

It's far enough out of downtown that it's worth taking a taxi, tram, or subway downtown but the rooms are very nice. The staff very helpful, and it was a relief to come back to every time after being out all hours of the day or night. Breakfast was excellent, I am a fan of bacon-wrapped anything.

Room Tip: The view of the city from the top floor is amazing, but I'd prefer a baclony without the view ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDWOODYARD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda G, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dresden, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +49 351 8151 0.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Linda Grumbt
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Nice hotel in a quiet area. Parking available. Wifi OK. Excellent breakfast with large selection of food and fine tea's. Staff very friendly and helpful. Some colleagues also used it for a city trip and the hotel provided bicycles for them. It's close to the tamway line that takes you to the center of town, so no need to take your car.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bart_denturck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda G, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dresden, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear bart_denturck

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Linda Grumbt
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
NH Dresden Neustadt
#12 of 118 in Dresden
843 reviews
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#15 of 118 in Dresden
2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maritim Hotel Dresden
#10 of 118 in Dresden
677 reviews
Wyndham Garden Dresden
#20 of 118 in Dresden
763 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Gewandhaus Dresden, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Dresden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Dresden

Address: Stauffenbergallee 25a, 01099 Dresden, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Holiday Inn Dresden)
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Dresden
#15 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#23 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
Price Range: £73 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Dresden 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the hotel Courtyard Dresden in the heart of Dresden’s Neustadt you can quickly and easily reach the baroque old town centre, the central station, the airport and the motorway. Part of the free amenities are: coffee and tea bar, W-LAN Internet access, parking and use of the body&soul™ spa facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Dresden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dresden Hotel Dresden
Dresden Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing