We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Hotel, nothing to write home about”
Review of Am Blauen Wunder

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Am Blauen Wunder
Ranked #79 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Reviewed 7 December 2012

The hotel is a short walk from the Blauwn Wunder bridge and quite a way out of town, about fifteen minutes on the tram. Not the best or worst place I have stayed in, a dullish, cheap business hotel in an ok area, at least it is right by a tram-stop for several different trams and buses as well.

The room was ok, make sure you ask for at least two extra pillows as the one they left me was useless to the point that I pulled out the spare duvet and rolled it up as a pillow. The tv had BBC Worldwide and CNN but no music radio, the room did have a bath which was a bonus after two flights, one train, two tubes a bus and a taxi and it was a nice quiet spot. The highlight of the hotel were the extremely friendly and helpful staff, the lowlight was probably the terrible breakfast, save your money and eat elsewhere as it is seven euros, wait till the airport or town centre.

Wifi is four euros an hour, I thought this pricey but at time of writing I am in Ulm, southern Germany and it is the same here. As I was going to the hospital in the morning it was in a perfect position about two or three tram stops away. You buy your ticket at the stop before boarding and stamp it once you get on, two euros buys you an hours travel in the central zone. All in all an ok place but nothing to get excited about and I'm sure there are way better hotels in Dresden.

Room Tip: Try to get one that doesn't look over the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phatbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in September, and the hotel was certainly adequate. Clean, the room was quiet and big enough, there is cable TV and wireless internet connection. The staff is very friendly, the breakfast selection good (but not great). There is a bar, but I was a little disappointed by the rather small selection of wines (3 whites and 3 reds by the glass).

The overall appearance of the place is a bit dated (in all areas of the hotel), which is a good reason to take a step outside and stroll along the river Elbe, which is a short walk (400m) away.

Overall, this is not the place where I would necessarily take my family, but if you are on your own and if you can get a good proce, this is a perfectly reasonable option.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

My stay at the Am Blauen Wunder was pleasnat. The staff are friendly and accomodating.
The rooms are standard, with essentials provided.

I did not have a very good sleep due to persisting air conditioning noise.
On the other hand, the breakfast was tasty and fresh. lots of choices available.

The hotel is about 10 minutes by taxi from the main Dresden train station.

My only complaint is the price of the WiFi - at 4 euro per hour, its just too expensive to be justified.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wanderlust_6282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Columbus, OH
35156
Reviewed 14 August 2004

I stayed here twice in spring 1999 and fall 2000. This is a medium sized hotel a 10 minute tram ride from the Aldstadt. The rooms are quite large by European standards and clean (as is every hotel room in Germany), but the furniture is dated, possibly left over from the Communist era. The area is quiet and safe, and the Blue Wonder bridge is a short walk away. The tram stop is a 45 second walk from the hotel. The staff are polite, helpful but reserved, and the staff at the front desk all speak English. The breakfast buffet is decent, and the one meal I ate in the restaurant was good but not memorable. Perfectly acceptable hotel, but nothing special or memorable. It is the most convenient hotel to the medical school / institute.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Beate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: rückwärts hört man die Straßenbahn weniger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Franz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
2.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Dresden
2.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Plaza Dresden
2.3 mi away
Dorint Hotel Dresden
Dorint Hotel Dresden
#17 of 118 in Dresden
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Dresden Hotel
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#15 of 118 in Dresden
2,042 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hyperion Hotel Dresden am Schloss
2.8 mi away
AZIMUT Hotel Dresden
AZIMUT Hotel Dresden
#23 of 118 in Dresden
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Am Blauen Wunder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Am Blauen Wunder

Address: Loschwitzer Str. 48, 01309 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden > Blasewitz
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Price Range: £71 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Am Blauen Wunder 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Am Blauen Wunder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing