We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dresden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ringhotel Residenz Alt Dresden
Ranked #62 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Southampton
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Dresden”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Arrived in 37 degrees of heat to find that aircon is only in public areas downstairs and nothing in rooms. If this is a 4 star hotel they should have had fans for rooms. I asked but nothing available.

Hotel is about 15 mins by car from centre with convenient S Bahn down the road. 2 supermarkets within 5 mins walk (Lidl - out of hotel turn right walk down road til first left & Edeka on main road at junction - both are very new) plus shops opposite hotel.

Rooms were comfortable and clean.

Staff helpful and gave out free maps. Why is wifi in Germany chargeable? Another hotel profiteering from what should be free or hidden within room rate!

Public areas quite small given that this hotel takes coach parties.

Recommend that you take breakfast after 08.45 to avoid any coach melee.

Breakfast was varied and very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    32
    26
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
38
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I have been there one night during a concert tour in Germany (I went to Berlin and Munich also) The location is not difficult to find, it stands around 15 minutes from the centre. There are several stores nearby including a supermarket. The hotel is in a quiet part of the town. The room has appropriate space with a wonderful bathroom (but no air-con). There was a welcome card and some snacks, I think it's lovely. The bed is quite comfy but when I was there they are painting the outer wall of the hotel (I had to close all windows all day). There were many kinds of food served for breakfast. If you are interested in cycling there are a bike for rent at the reception. To conclude it's such a good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poumpak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

ten mins out with regular trams around, and a local bakery across the road, that makes sandwiches for you at 7am in the morning great cakes as well, nice hotel, good rooms nice and quiet, good food in the restaurant and plenty at breakfast, mini bar a little expensive beer at e2-70 when local shops or supermarkets have the same for 50 c but great place staff very friendly

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank roaminfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Comfortable,clean and gave good value.
Restricted public space in hotel.
Located in pleasant residential area .
Food portions rather small but may have been as a result of being part of tourist group.
eaing from a fixed menu. Desserts like the experience rather unispiring.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jomelco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2008

Perhaps we were spoiled by earlier and later hotels on the organised tour.

This hotel was what I'd call very basic. The rooms were clean but small and devoid of any of the "niceties" one often finds in "better" hotels. Staff were mostly friendly and spoke English. Breakfast was good, but as others have said, tended to get very crowded and disorganised at peak times.

Convenient for the tram service - but then if it had been central (as the Ibis is, say) then we wouldn't have needed this.

I wouldn't choose this hotel unless it was jaw-droppingly cheap! I'd go more central out of choice.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Tiny rooms, location
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SCAN60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2007

The hotel is in a quite good location being only a short walk from the tram line to the centre of Dresden. The tram ride took about 10-15 minutes.

We found the hotel easily enough and got a parking space really close to the entrance.
The reception staff seemed friendly and competent when we checked in.
The room was clean, reasonably sized and well presented.
There was a colour TV and mini bar. Soap and shower gel was also included.

I have a few gripes though. I needed to iron a shirt and some trousers so I called reception and asked if it was possible for them to bring and iron and ironing board up. This was not possible as hotel policy did not allow ironing in the room.
The only possibility was for me to go to the hotel laundry area and stand in the middle of the hotel staff to do my ironing.
I am very surprised that this was not sorted. It was inconvienient and a little embarrassing.

I took a shower later and ran out of the complimentary shower gel after a short time. It must have been nearly empty.

Our room was over the car park so we were woken in the morning by coach parties leaving early.

The breakfast buffet was a good selection but it seemed that the
room was not big enough for the residents and it was chaotic. The orange juice ran out. The tables were not cleaned quick enough. More staff were required and a bigger room.

I would probably stay there again but for the price I would expect better (and we got it at a good rate).

  • Liked — Clean and modern.
  • Disliked — Breakfast was chaotic.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Moonstomper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2006

the hotel is less than 100m walk from the no 12 tram line. I'd booked over the internet, all was in order when we checked in, just had to show my voucher. Two really nice, reasonable sized rooms on the third floor for my husband, 11yo and 9yo daughters and myself. Bathrooms clean, modern. Enough wardrobe space. Had CNN TV. Was able to use the washing machine and dryer at the top of the apartment block over the road, also owned by this hotel. Only ate breakfast at the hotel because we were out and about during the days but it was fabulous; a huge spread and you could see why it was hard to get a table, as it was so popular. We ate breakfast sitting outside every morning overlooking the carpark which sounds not that nice but there was some greenery between us and the carpark, and so it was very pleasant. And even better as the price was included in the room rate. Good customer service at reception and all spoke English. We were able to buy tram tickets from reception. We slept with the windows open as it was warm, there was little street noise. I thought the hotel good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MelbGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Friedrichstadt
Hotel Aviv Dresden
Hotel Aviv Dresden
#60 of 118 in Dresden
77 reviews
Hotel Novalis Dresden
#63 of 118 in Dresden
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wyndham Garden Dresden
#19 of 118 in Dresden
687 reviews
DORMERO Hotel Dresden City
#51 of 118 in Dresden
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringhotel Residenz Alt Dresden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringhotel Residenz Alt Dresden

Property: Ringhotel Residenz Alt Dresden
Address: Mobschatzer Str. 29, 01157 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ringhotel Residenz Alt Dresden 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ringhotel Residenz Alt Dresden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenz Alt Hotel Dresden
Dresden Residenz Alt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing