We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth seeing”

Church of the Holy Cross
Ranked #36 of 167 things to do in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
“Worth seeing”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The interior of this church is relatively plain and simple and provides such a contrast to most other churches in Dresden particularly the Frauenkirche. It is also very peaceful and a few minutes here during a busy day is a great way to recharge the batteries.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank longhaulfromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    75
    13
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
1,018 reviews
791 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 759 helpful votes
“Church and choir well worth a visit”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The interior of this church is remarkable. The almost ubiquitous off-white plaster is very effective and enhances the tranquil space. There are some lovely features, including architectural comprising the fine balconies, arches, roof and altar. The organ against the particular background is fabulous. The artwork is minimal but does include a stained glass window and some paintings.

We were fortunate to attend the Saturday 5pm vesper with the Kreuzchor. It was almost full to capacity; our seats were on the first balcony affording us a good view of proceedings. It was interesting to attend a Lutheran ceremony. The Choir was exceptional.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank permia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Church of holy cross”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Not really a must see in Dresden but worth the visit all the same when open. I only visited because we were staying across the road at the excellent Nh Altmarkt Hotel opposite.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ivor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silicon valley ca
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The boys choir concert is very moving”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I feel so lucky to have heard them together with the local chamber music group and some soloists. To acknowledge that you are in a 800 year old holy space with a boys choir that has been kept intact even while the church was 99% destroyed buoyed my faith in mankind. For me it was both musically lovely and inspiring and almost made up for the wasted afternoon at the green vault and the stale Cake in the shishi cafe. The boys choir concert ticket at e2 costs less than a glass iof water in a cafe!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank deb666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
752 reviews
336 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“Beautiful Music in Dresden”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I had heard about the Dresden Boy's Choir (Kreuzchor), one of the oldest in Europe, and decided to attend a concert they were doing at the restored Kreuzkirche (Church of the Holy Cross) in Dresden. The Dresden Boy's Choir along with two adult singers and the Dresden Philharmonic Orchestra performed the music of Johannes Brahms. The Kreuzkirche (Church of the Holy Cross) was a perfect setting for Brahms music and the singing was truly amazing.

The concert was at 5PM. My seat was in the top section of the church, but because of it's location, didn't offer a view of the concert. I ended up standing the entire time so I could see the performers. You may want to purchase your tickets further in advance to get a better seat. I highly recommend visiting the church when you can see the choir perform. The Dresden Boy's Choir has DVDs available for purchase at the concert.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank StockholmKindaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Church of the Holy Cross also viewed

 

Been to Church of the Holy Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing