We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyperion Hotel Dresden am Schloss
Ranked #3 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
tel aviv
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I stayed one night in this wonderful hotel as a solo traveler. The staff are exceptionally nice and quick, lobby is specious and warm. The hotel seems very modern but still has a lot of charm. Room is big, I liked the high ceiling and the decor, it gives a nice happy feeling. Wifi is totally free and fast. The hotel is centrally located.
I didn't try breakfast, I thought EUR 22 is pricey, so I went for a small breakfast in the bakery at the same building, which was very nice.

I recommend this hotel to everyone visiting Dresden. This is the best hotel I've been to in Germany.

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank 5starlovertlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Hyperion Hotel Dresden am Schloss, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Guest,

We trust that you had a save journey back home. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay in Dresden and at the Swissôtel.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if there is anything we may do for you.

With best regards,

Yvette Thüring
Director & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,952
    424
    69
    10
    6
See reviews for
361
1,260
116
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Swissotel Dresden in the first week of September. The hotel commands a top location across the street from Grünes Gewölbe and is within easy walking distance of all attractions in Dresden Altstadt. The street around the hotel is almost a pedestrian area nevertheless you can drive up in front with your car. Friendly staff takes care of your luggage and parks the car in the underground garage. The team at the front desk gave us a warm welcome and let us choose our room: street view or courtyard,lower or higher floors, king or double bed. We took room 450 with Schloss view.
Our room was spacious in a contemporary design and made us feel comfortable from the start. We liked the Nespresso machine which we used frequently and the pillow menue to choose from.Try the Zirbelkiefer pillow, it's like sleeping in a swiss forester's house. The hotel and surroundings are quiet enough to sleep undisturbed even with an open window. The room features an open plan bathroom: Washbasin behind a small wall to look over with a lighted mirror on top. Shower and lavatory seperated with a glass wall and glass doors.The shower offers ample room. This open plan living might be irritating for some as the restroom is not soundproof. Free highspeed WLAN internet worked seamless throughout.
The breakfast was comprehensive and offered a large variety of food and beverage. Here again the staff was kind and polite and service very good. Same goes for the Schlossbar in the evening.
We enjoyed a wonderful stay in great atmosphere from check-in to late check-out.
The friendly and helpful staff with its passion to serve is a big asset and makes the difference. Two examples: Thanks to Nora at the front desk for giving us the choice of rooms on arrival and getting us tickets to the opera on short notice very late in the evening. Thanks to Thomas serving us breakfast most kindly, greeting us by name every morning and bid farewell on our last day.
Needless to say that you get swiss value for money.
Any short comings?
Not really.
They don't prepare the rooms for the night therefore used coffeecups from the frequently running Nespresso machine are not changed in the evening in order to have fresh cups in the morning. However, room service will take care of that if you ring up and they refill on the Nespresso as well.
Parking the car downstairs in the hotel garage has its price, but that comes with the location in the Altstadt. If you are not shying away from a 10 minute walk to a garage the Tourist office at the back of the hotel could offer parking near the Altstadt for a fraction of the price.

Room Tip: Take a room with view on the Schloss/Grünes Gewölbe
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atlantis2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

After spending almost a week in Berlin at the Pullman - which was excelent - we drove to Dresden. we booked the swissotel in advance. the Hotel is perfectly situated in the middle of the old town with everything at your footstep. the hotel is new, has a parking lot (20E a day), a gym that is basic. room are big with a starnge feature - the WC and shower are in the room with half a wall seperating them from the sleeping area. some will like it some ?. breakfast was OK - no more than that. service - wonderfull.
overall a great hotel and a beautiful city with everything in reach

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ositi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Hyperion Hotel Dresden am Schloss, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear Tripadvisor-User,

We trust that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a save journey back home.

Thank you for taking the time to assess our hotel. It is thanks to the valuable feedback from our guests that we feel encouraged to continuously improve our service and product.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if there is anything we may do for you.

With best wishes

Yvette Thüring & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhasset, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This was an excellent deal for a modern, well-appointed room with a great view in the heart of Dresden. Very helpful and friendly staff despite not speaking German. We only wish we could stay longer! Even the basic room was very nice. A practically new hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TornBetweenCoasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

we stayed in the Swissotel Dresden for two nights and we can clearly say, this hotel with his excellent service, excellent food, the kindness and politness of the in house team, the management alwaays present, from the day of reservation until checkout we was really in a great atmosphere
all requested support and questions was straight answerd
the sleping quality is absolut top, the cleanliness is absolut top, the breakfast service and the buffet absolut top, all in all we can reccomend this hotel warmly

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdobritzsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore,MD
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Modern -new boutique hotel across from the Green Vault entrance--Staff was very helpful and friendly--great location for touring the historical district---suggest that you join their frequent stay program to get plate of fruit on arrival--newspaper-and room upgrade--saw no large tour groups in hotel---free Wi-fi---Breakfast varied and excellent-room clean and very attractive

Room Tip: Ask for high floor -quiet room facing the palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzannePC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed on the 4th floor. Altogether a very nice experience. Hotel has some weaknesses though. Upper floor rooms are like attic rooms, which is romantic, but also somewhat inconvenient: The luggage rack was right underneath a sloping wall and very hard to access for a tall person. There is only a shower in the room, no bathtub, which my wife found inconvenient. Breakfast is 22 Euros per person and of high quality. Capuccinos or Latte macchiatos are included, available on request. Selection of breads is okay, quality could be improved. Same applies to meats and cheeses. There is a parking charge of 20 Euros per day, which is (almost) impossible to find out when booking through the Swiissotel home page.
Staff are very friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boardshorts48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
#2 of 118 in Dresden
640 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#16 of 118 in Dresden
1,916 reviews
Innere Neustadt
Bulow Palais
Bulow Palais
#1 of 118 in Dresden
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyperion Hotel Dresden am Schloss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyperion Hotel Dresden am Schloss

Property: Hyperion Hotel Dresden am Schloss
Address: Schlossstrasse 16, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Swissotel Dresden)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyperion Hotel Dresden am Schloss 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyperion Hotel Dresden am Schloss welcomes its guests to the heart of Dresden, just behind the historic facade. The 235 rooms and suites of the hotel have a modern design with unusual room sections. They also offer free Wi-Fi, bathrobes, slippers and a coffee machine in the room, as well as a beautiful view of Dresden's old town. In addition to the hotel's restaurant and bar, the hotel also offers a spa and fitness area for a relaxing stay, as well as the vault cellar from the 15th century, which is located under the Hyperion Hotel Dresden am Schloss. Thanks to its central location in the heart of Dresden's old town, you can walk to numerous attractions in just a few minutes, e.g., the Frauenkirche or the Semperoper. So after an extensive breakfast from the vast buffet, you can easily enjoy your city visit. For companies and business travellers, seven meeting rooms (482 sqm) are available with modern conference technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hyperion Hotel Dresden am Schloss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing