We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swiss perfection in perfect setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swissotel Dresden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swissotel Dresden
Ranked #3 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Lahr, Germany
Level Contributor
280 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Swiss perfection in perfect setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Was here for business and enjoyed the beautiful surrounding. Almost all Dresden attraction are in in walking distance, very convenient! Hotel is wonderful: Rooms are big and very well equipped with all the little precision in details I love (and expect) in a Swiss driven companies. Internet complimentary. Very attractive prices in low season. Parking ridiculously expensive!
Room for improvement? Yes, on very high level: Fruit salad at breakfast is not completely fresh fruit, but they provide freshly cut fruit on demand quickly. Secondly, the Samsung TV remote control is disgusting, if you want to use it without glasses. It's simply impossible to guess on which keys you are (reason is the flat foil-like structure of the keys). Sorry, but in bed I don't wear glasses....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dils2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Dresden, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire Swissôtel Dresden Am Schloss Team a BIG THANK YOU for taking your time to comment on your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your overall excellent rating.
Thank for your comments, especially in regards to the TV remote control. We shall keep it in mind for possible alternatives in the future.
Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon,
with best regards,
Yvette Thüring
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,893
    407
    65
    10
    6
See reviews for
347
1,216
113
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santry
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

very comfortable rooms, friendly & efficient staff, great location. My first stay in a Swissotel property, I will definitely return again. lived up to my expectations.highly recommended ..............

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Dresden, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast,
herzlichen Dank für Ihr tolles Feedback. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass es Ihnen bei uns gefallen hat und hoffen, Sie bald wieder einmal bei uns willkommen heissen und verwöhnen zu dürfen.
MIt besten Grüßen vom gesamten Swissôtel Dresden Am Schloss Team,
Yvette Thüring
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Nice and clean hotel and certainly different with the bathroom build in the bedroom.
The air is very dry in the rooms due to airconditioning.
Mixed sauna for both man and woman, too many naked people around, could not make you feel relaxed.
Visited restaurant in the evening, the service was poor for such a restaurant. Nobody payed as attention for at least 20 minutes, needed to wait for everything long time and than received defrosted cold monk fish :((

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabriela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Dresden, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guests,

On behalf of the entire Swissôtel Dresden Am Schloss Team we thank you very much for your time and feedback.

We deeply regret that you could not enjoy your stay completely. We thoroughly enjoy looking after our guests and it is thanks to the valuable feedback from our guests that we feel encouraged to continuously improve our service and product. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if there is anything we may do for you.

Thank you for staying with us,

Yvette Thüring & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and have nothing to complain. The hotel is a modern, clean hotel with big rooms. The size of our double room could be compared to a junior suite in other hotels, The staff was very service minded and helpful. We even got a late check out without extra charge :) The bathroom in the room could be a bit inconvenient to some as they are situated in the middle of the room with seperate shower and toilet with no where to change/get dressed if you want to do this in private. Also the toilet "room" only had a glass door witch can be a bit disturbing. But we didn't see this as a big problem. There is free wi-fi at the hotel as well as in the rooms. There is a restaurant for breakfast and dinner, But we did not try this as the breakfast was overpriced (25 euro pr. person) and we wished to go out for dinner. The hotel is situated in the center of Dresden close by the Frauenkirche and with easy accsess to all the main tourist attractions.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanzjenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Dresden, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire Swissôtel Dresden Am Schloss Team we thank you very much for your time and most flattering feedback. We thoroughly enjoy looking after our guests and it is thanks to comments like yours that we feel encouraged to live our passion for perfection every day.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Thank you for staying with us,

Yvette Thüring & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Visiting Dresden for just one night during low season. Great value for money (at least during low season) with friendly and efficient staff. Enjoyed parts of the spa facility. Skipped breakfast (I normally find them over priced at up-market hotels). My only remark is that I'm not overly enthusiastic with the "open designed" bathroom. I do prefer a little bit more privacy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOC5800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Dresden, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire Swissôtel Dresden Am Schloss Team we would like to thank you for staying with us and that you spend your time to share your impressions with other guests. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if there is anything we may do for you.

Thank you for staying with us,

Yvette Thüring, General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanzibar
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I stayed at the hotel in November between 7.11.14-10.11.13.A very modern hotel with very friendly staff and the management and the GM.
The staff went out of their way to look after us during our short stay.I attended the Tourism Fair in Dresden.
Breakfast was Execellent.All Dietry requirements were there.The nice Cosy Lounge and the rooms and accomodatio was just splendid.Separate Shwoer room and WC rooms.very elegantly decorated.
The hotel is right in the heart of the town about 10 meters from the famous Frauen Kirche.I have been to Dresden many times cause my own daughter is married to a Dresdener.I can recommend this hotel to everyone who like to enjoy the Swiss Hospitality.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very well deocrated and are cosy.All with WIFI and Internet etc.Its a value worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SumaKiwengwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Dresden, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We trust that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a save journey back home. Thank you for taking the time to give us your most valuable feedback, which is showing us that we are on the right way to make every guest´s stay a wonderful one where they feel welcome and cared.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if there is anything we may do for you.

With best wishes,

Yvette Thüring, General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

This hotel is fairly new and right in the middle of everything. We got there kids deal where you pay for one room but get the kids in the attached room. My teenager loved the games and sweets. This hotel thinks of everything including a selection of pillows, usually my biggest problem in Europe with most hotels often just giving you a soft continental pillow resulting in a stiff neck in th morning. The rooms were whisper quiet. Also a nice touch was a simple manual clock which you can set yourself easily as the curtains and lack of noise are extremely conducive to a good nights sleep. The staff were lovely and very efficient and the coffeemaker in the room was top-notch. We did not have breakfast as there are lots of places around that seemed a lot cheaper. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have kids ask for their deals as it is wonderful not to have the kids share your room or have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrainChangeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Dresden, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guests,

On behalf of the entire Swissôtel Dresden Am Schloss Team we thank you very much for your most flattering feedback. We thoroughly enjoy to look after our guests and it is thanks to comments like yours that we feel encouraged to live our passion for perfection every day.

Thank you for staying with us,

Yvette Thüring & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
#2 of 118 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Neustadt
Bulow Palais
Bulow Palais
#1 of 118 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#14 of 118 in Dresden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Dresden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Dresden

Property: Swissotel Dresden
Address: Schlossstrasse 16, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Dresden 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new hotel Swissotel Dresden Am Schloss opened in the centre of the historical old town. Its central location, great shopping, entertainment and nearby historical sights such as the Semper Opera and Zwinger Palace make this the perfect gateway to the city's business and culture. Swissotel Dresden's historic facade houses stylishly modern interior design, with cutting-edge technology and the warmth of Swiss hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Swissotel Dresden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing