We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant Hotel But Not in Downtown” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Romantik Hotel Bulow Residenz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Bulow Residenz
Ranked #24 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
370 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Elegant Hotel But Not in Downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

No question this hotel was the most elegant that we visited during our trip to Germany, 4-stars instead of the usual 3. Unfortunately, while nice and luxurious feeling, this does one no particular good when one doesn't wish to hang around one's hotel. If you are someone, however, who wishes to lingerl, then this would be an excellent, cost-effective choice.

Hotel is located about a 15 minute walk, mostly uphill, across the river and away from the downtown area of Dresden, where all the tourist sights are located, which explains the excellent price for a night's stay. Room is elegant and large, as is the bathroom, with high-end features. Hotel offers breakfast for an additional 18 Euro (that's about $25! per person). We chose, instead, to get an early start and go to one of the many local places on a nearby shopping street.

One evening, we also ventured deep into this side of the river, walking into a neighborhood off-the-beaten-path packed with young people hanging out on a street filled with restaurants and jazz clubs. In that sense, it was good that this hotel took us away from the conventional areas of the city.

The tourist areas of Dresden have many places to visit, among them the Semperopera, various churches, and the Zwinger and Alte Museum, so there is both the conventional and unconventional in Dresden.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GEDLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    33
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
85
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Bulow Residenz provided a great base for our too short three day stay in
the wonderful city of Dresden. The location is in the lovely Inner Neustadt
neighborhood a ten minute walk across the Elbe to the Frauenkirche area.
The rooms are quiet and luxurious. The breakfasts (not included) are elegantly presented and quite good. The area abounds with lovely restaurants. We had a lovely stay here. The only problem was constant problems with wifi which explains the demerit for service.
The hotel staff was very apologetic and explained it was a general problem affecting Apple products in the local area, not limited to the hotel. It was not a big issue for us. I mention it because I do know absolutely reliable wifi access is a nonnegotiable for some. The hotel should find a way to correct the only thing lacking in this first class hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Staying outside the walls, but within easy walking distance was a treat, as eel could easily visit the City but also appreciate all of the rebuilding that has been going on. The service is fantastic, the rooms well-appointed, and the kitchen serves excellent food. All in all, a very good value.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed here to attend the Christmas markets and was more than pleasantly surprised! Charming property, generously sized rooms with loads of charm. The staff was helpful and easy to volunteer their English translations.
Would recommend this lovely hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
113 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Bulow Residenz the roads around the Hotel were being repaired
and some of the roads were blocked so the sat-nav was having trouble finding the hotel. Once we had checked in the young lady on reception directed us to the Bulow Palace Hotel car park
as the hotel Residenz does not have its own. Our room was vast and very comfortable with a very large bed and view over the street outside , we thought it might be noisy but be had no problems. Breakfast was quite expensive so we did not bother with it as there are plenty of small cafes close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tvrpieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

This is a wonderful and charming hotel located in the older part of Dresden, close to all the attractions of the city. The breakfast was outstanding as was the service. They do not have a full service restaurant but you can eat at the sister property, the Bulow Palace just down the street. We ate one meal at the Bulow Palace, which was excellent, but more expensive than the quaint restaurants in the neighborhood. Our room was one of the larger rooms in the hotel, and had all the extras, including a magnifying makeup mirror, heated towel bars in the bath, a refrigerator in the room, flat screen TV and complimentary wifi. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I would ask for one of the larger rooms if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanne043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach
Level Contributor
200 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

My husband and I decided to leave Berlin a day early and stop in Dresden on our way to Prague so having looked at Trip Advisor reviews we chose Buelow residenz. It's the sister hotel to a Relais and Chateau hotel just down the street and benefits from this designation. We had a lovely corner, large room with windows all around, The bathroom is quite small. The location is perfect, just over the bridge from the old town so just a bit away from the crowds. Dresden was magnificent to visit...the green vaults, museum, churches,etc. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and breakfast the best ever! Lots of choices as well as cooked to order things...if you like fish you will love it...smoked salmon, herring, etc. Not to mention the homemade jams and the darling breakfast room. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ConnieLongBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Neustadt
Bulow Palais
Bulow Palais
#1 of 118 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Swissotel Dresden
#3 of 118 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Altstadt
Gewandhaus Dresden, Autograph Collection
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
#2 of 118 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Bulow Residenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Bulow Residenz

Property: Romantik Hotel Bulow Residenz
Address: Raehnitzgasse 19, 01097 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Romantik Hotel Bulow Residenz 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bulow Residenz is a former Manor House from year 1730 and offers luxurious comfort with inimitable historic flair. With its 28 elegant rooms & suites as well as individual function rooms, it can also be booked exclusively for family events and business occasions. Start the day with a relaxed, sumptuous breakfast in the charming court yard or breakfast restaurant. Guests of the Bulow Residenz are of course welcome to use all facilities of the neighbor Hotel Bulow Palais - only 50 Metres away. The 28 hugely comfortable rooms and suites in the Bulow Residenz are presented with baroque overtones and impress with a more traditional red/gold colour scheme. Contemporary facilities are skilfully integrated to ensure comfort of highest international standard. Opulent fabrics, large flat screen televisions, a big bottle of water and complimentary high-speed internet access are customary throughout. Three individually designed rooms & salons are available for business meetings and private celebrations for up to 60 guests. Up to date technical equipment or individually chosen decorations are at clients' disposal and tailored to fit the occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, HRS, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Romantik Hotel Bulow Residenz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing