We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Am Terrassenufer Hotel
Ranked #47 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Good standard hotel, very friendly staff, good location close to all sightseeing!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THEEHETE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    97
    30
    11
    3
See reviews for
20
65
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greece
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

+ Overlooks the beautiful city attractions and the river. We got a room in the 12th floor with the most beautiful view to the whole city and to the river. The room was big and comfortable.
- too high internet proces, 8 euros an hour!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roudi48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweinfurt
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2009

Just returned from two nights at the Am Terrassenufer. It's all decorated for Christmas, and looking very festive indeed. The rooms are large, with a great view. Several reviews mentioned plastic bathrooms--ours was tile, and fine. I have three basic criteria: real water glasses (not plastic), hooks in the bathroom, and good reading lights in bed. All three were met, with added pluses: the minibar to store cold things, an additional angled reading lamp at the desk. And, yes, the breakfast was very superior--a very wide assortment, and tasty, too. We used the public parking across the street for E6 a day. Friendly staff. I would return, for sure.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelgaHond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Stayed here with a friend while on a motorcylce tour of Germany. We had a very enjoyable stay in the Am Terrassenufer Hotel.

Hotel is in a great location close to the centre and beside the river. It is only a 5 minute walk into the centre and the tourist attractions.

Rooms are nice, however there is no air conditioning and that may be a problem for some. However, there are free standing fans in each room which do help.

Breakfast was excellent. Good choice and very tasty.

Very helpful staff let us park our motorcycles beside the main door for security - not that this is an unsafe area.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VFR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

This hotel is within 5-10 minutes walking distance to the Altstadt. It looks like a 1960/70s concrete tower block but it has been refurbished inside and our room was large with wall to wall windows and from the 7th floor where we stayed we had a great view over the river Elbe and the old town. The bathroom was budget size with budget fittings (plastic). It only had a shower cubicle and no bath. The buffett breakfast was very good. Free parking at a public car park was just around the corner from the hotel. This hotel is excellent value for money considering it's location. No coffee or tea making facilities in the room - but that is typical for hotels in Germany.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidAMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland, USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2008

I was in Dresden for a meeting in October. I booked too late to get a hotel in the center of the old town. I found the Am Terrassenufer and was convinced to stay because of the good reviews here. I was not disappointed. Good price, very helpful staff, relaxing bar, nice rooms (had a view of the old town and the river), and nice cheerful dining room with a great breakfast and a decent dinner menu. It is a very short walk to the old town. In fact, it was pleasant to be away from all of the old town congestion. My only caveat is that it is on a busy road, so in the summer with the windows open, it might be a bit noisy.

  • Liked — Great Staff
  • Disliked — On a busy road
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2008

We enjoyed a great package price - 165 euros per person for three nights, including the huge buffet breakfast. The location is superb - just outside the old town and even closer to the riverbank where Dresden's famous Weisseflotte ( White Fleet ) departs from. Dresden's new synagogue is also directly across the road. There's a Happy Hour every night and the staff are excellent - from the cleaning ladies to the reception staff. The views from every room really do look like a picture postcard of the Dresden skyline and, as another member suggested, they are best viewed from rooms on the higher floors. The rooms are not beige but nor are they opulent. Since I had lasted stayed here four years ago the rooms had been redecorated and reminded me of less gimmicky art hotels. The "apartment block" look stems from the fact that the hotel was built as a hotel for young people travelling through the old East Germany but any whiff of the old Soviet era has been completely eradicated. A great place to stay - we stayed four days - and far cheaper than the clutch of high-priced five star hotels surrounding the Frauenkirche in the centre of town. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Impeccable cleanliness, great buffet breakfast, proximity to major attractions
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FlashSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Star Inn Hotel Premium Dresden im Haus Altmarkt, by Quality
Dorint Hotel Dresden
#19 of 118 in Dresden
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Dresden Bastei
#30 of 118 in Dresden
750 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Am Terrassenufer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Am Terrassenufer Hotel

Property: Am Terrassenufer Hotel
Address: Terrassenufer 12, 01069 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Am Terrassenufer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Am Terrassenufer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Am Terrassenufer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing