We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not only for business travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AMEDIA Hotel Dresden Elbpromenade
Ranked #49 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Reviewed 10 October 2012

When I planned our trip to Dresden I found out that all the downtown hotels in our price range had no more rooms left, so we decided we would give the Mercure Elbpromenade a try and we did not regret it.

Check in by a friendly, enthusiastic and efficient young man was a breeze. Our room was big by European standards and had the usual amenities except a room safe, so I had to bring my laptop to the reception for safekeeping during the day when we were sightseeing. We had a room with water view that was absolutely quiet. (room 227) Everything was spotlessly clean and worked well. Two complementary bottles of mineral water and one of apple juice were in the mini-fridge.

The breakfast buffet had a wide variety of food to suit all tastes, staff was well-trained, friendly but not intrusive. The hotel is situated about 3 km or a 10 minutes tram-ride from downtown in a mostly industrial area. A train station is about 130 metres away if you want to travel by train, there is free parking on the hotel grounds or an inside parking for a fee. On the day of our departure we simply walked the few steps to the train station "Bahnhof Cotta", took a local train that brought us to Dresden Main Station in 7 minutes and took a train to Berlin.

Internet is provided by an outside supplier and has different rate plans. I used a 60 minutes plan where you log on and off at will and it lasted me two days at a cost of 3.95€.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back are quieter and have water view, but across the water there are a few industr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WolfyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvie_ward
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Hotel location is poor, rooms 3* just a standard Mercure, nothing special. When you come there please ask for the room overlooking the river, from the main street are noisy.
NO air conditioning, temp inside the rooms more than 30C

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wkulisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frielo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 April 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil_E2012
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The breakfast buffet is great - there's even bacon which is not easy to find in Germany. I enjoyed pressing my own orange juice unlike another reviewer - it's not that difficult. The staff was great, I got an extra pillow immediately when I asked, but more than one extra might be needed - the beds and pillows are lame. The view was good but the room was designed in a way that made it impossible to walk to the window - the space between the bed and the desk was too tight so if someone is sitting at the desk, you have to crawl over a bed to get to the window/other bed. (I don't know what the single bed rooms are like.) The bathroom has no fan, something that should be required in hotels. This hotel is located far enough from downtown that it's quiet, and there is also free outdoor parking. The breakfast buffet was the best part.

Room Tip: Just try to get a better one, I don't know what to say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eli b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

A good choice for Business and also private travel. Price and service ok. Good Breakfast Buffet. Only the Orange Juice (if you like fresh one) you need to press by yourself. Maybe the need to invest in a electric machine instead of this manuell one. But they have also orange and multivitamin juice from a machine.
The Hotel is near by the Elbe River and you can enjoy to go there in a few seconds. A Fitness Room is missing, they have only a Bike in room and you need to ask for the key. But you can go to the riverside and make some Training there.
The Towncenter is only a few minutes away by car, so it is not a Problem.

Room Tip: Smokes are located in the 1. floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMB500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Dresden
6.7 mi away
ACHAT Premium Dresden
ACHAT Premium Dresden
#72 of 118 in Dresden
196 reviews
5.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Dresden
Wyndham Garden Dresden
#19 of 118 in Dresden
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
AZIMUT Hotel Dresden
AZIMUT Hotel Dresden
#25 of 118 in Dresden
475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ringhotel Residenz Alt Dresden
2.5 mi away
NH Dresden Neustadt
NH Dresden Neustadt
#12 of 118 in Dresden
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AMEDIA Hotel Dresden Elbpromenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AMEDIA Hotel Dresden Elbpromenade

Address: Hamburger Str. 64-68, 01157 Dresden, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Mercure Dresden Elbpromenade)
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Dresden
Price Range: £54 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — AMEDIA Hotel Dresden Elbpromenade 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on the River Elbe in the so called Florence of Germany, this youthfully designed hotel offering 103 modern rooms and apartments is just a few minutes from the historic heart of Dresden, 3 km. The 3 star superior hotel is located onone of the mostbeautiful cycling routes in Germany and is dedicated to the life and work of the Italian painter Bernardo Bellotto, known as Canaletto. It features a restaurant with a winter garden and terrace, a lobby bar, a sauna and steam bath and ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your AMEDIA Hotel Dresden Elbpromenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Dresden Elbpromenade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing