We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I really want to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lollis Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lollis Homestay
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I really want to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I loved this hostel. It was clean and friendly and just felt cozy, as well as being pretty easy to find. I stayed in the apartment with friends (not a dorm or regular room). It was down the street from the main hostel, but not far enough to be a problem. It was very clean and spacious and felt like a place you'd actually want to live. The kitchen was also nice. On Christmas eve they had free food and it was fun to hang out with new people. The front desk was very helpful in telling us where things were (especially the Christmas markets). We didn't do much site-seeing (we were there over Christmas), but it seemed like a cool town that didn't feel like a massive city. I'd love to go back, and I would try to stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    87
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
14
43
102
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I really loved my stay in Dresden and in Lollis Homestay. This Hostel was extremely artistic, homely, clean and spacious. The use of space in the room was both artistic and practical. The communal areas were warm and inviting. It was more like being in someones house than just a hostel. I highly recommend this place to stay. It is in a great neighbor hood to explore.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahLouise1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Upon our arrival, the receptionist was helpful, providing us with all the details we needed regarding linen, breakfast, wifi, etc. The room we stayed in was a 5 bed dorm arranged on a lower and higher platform that resembles a treehouse. There is lots of room for your luggage underneath as well as a locker for each guest. The higher platform of beds can be a little noisy. Breakfast is ok, just the basics (€4), however there is a fridge and kitchen to use if you would prefer. The living area is quite funky. The map we found really helpful as it's designed for young people and we really enjoyed the area of Dresden. Bathroom was cleaned thoroughly everyday. Worth staying in for young people on a budget.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Perfect. Best place I've every stayed. So welcoming, trusting and fun
Perfect. Best place I've every stayed. So welcoming, trusting and fun
Perfect. Best place I've every stayed. So welcoming, trusting and fun
Perfect. Best place I've every stayed. So welcoming, trusting and fun
Perfect. Best place I've every stayed. So welcoming, trusting and fun

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnykings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suceava, Romania
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I liked to stay at Lollis.( was in 2010 for a conference) ..the price/ quality is good , friendly staff, the people from there made once a week a dinner for everyone..or a trip,it's a cozy place; I liked the way they hang your luggage for a short period..!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

The hostel had by far the most unique design that I have encountered during my travel - That was one of the main attraction points for me to stay in Lollis. It was small and cozy and definitely placed emphasis on interacting with other guests (e.g. hosting a dinner for guests). I felt that that was good. However, there were some drawbacks that would make me hesitate recommending this hostel to my friends, the greatest being the subpar service standards. The hostel appeared to be understaffed, and I was often left waiting for a long time before I was attended to. The lady whom first attended to me on 31 Jul afternoon was also unfriendly, and her attitude was by far one of the worst that I have seen. I was left waiting at the desk waiting for her to attend to my room reservation, whilst she chatted on the phone and made herself a drink. When she finally came back, there was no word of apology and I certainly did not feel like I was welcomed. Thankfully, the other guests in the hostels were generally nice and friendly. There was also no lift in the hostel, and the presence of flies in the kitchen area made me suspect that the hostel maintained a low level of cleanliness. Bed sheets were also worn out and old. Wifii was restricted to a few hours, and guests had to log out of the wifii frequently to prevent it from expiring prematurely. Hence, I felt that in terms of service and facilities, Lollis has much to improve on.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mysticalsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

I cannot fault this hostel! The room decorations were amazing, rooms and bathrooms were clean, and the common room and kitchen were great. The staff were friendly, fun and really helpful. 24 hr reception which is awesome, and the hostel is in a great area for nightlife and food. My stay here was a wonderful experience :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Ibis Budget Dresden City
#15 of 118 in Dresden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Swissotel Dresden
#2 of 118 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Innere Neustadt
Bulow Palais
Bulow Palais
#3 of 118 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Dresden Neustadt
#13 of 118 in Dresden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Hostel Mondpalast
#28 of 61 in Dresden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lollis Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lollis Homestay

Property: Lollis Homestay
Address: Gorlitzer Strasse 34, 01099 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lollis Homestay 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We colour your stay!! Free (old, but roadworthy) Bicycles Free WIFI Free city map Free tea & coffee Weekly Events: Sunday: free dinner Monday: BBQ Tuesday: german course Wednesday: free dinner Thursday: Guided Nightwalk in Neustadt area for 5 Euro only We are the genuine backpackers hostel in the center of Dresden with the bit more information, personality and coziness. Our style is an authentic mirror of the surrounding Dresden Neustadt neighbourhood, a quarter home to artists and characters, with the lingering smell of the anarchistic spirit, born in the time before the iron Curtain fell. Meet people from all over the world, listen to and learn from their stories. Enjoy a little oasis of world peace in the beautiful and exciting city of Dresden. We offer individually designed rooms for everyone and staff that loves its job. Top 5 reasons to stay at Lollis Homestay 1. Central location: close to historic downtown, 15 minutes to the Dresden Neustadt Train Station and right in the middle of Dresden's lively trendy district. 2. Reasonable prices: from 13, including free tee and coffee, free map, free towels, free bicycles and much more. 3. Wide-ranging facilities: fully-equipped guest kitchen, book exchange, free lockers,a female only dormitory, free walking tour guide-books, internet access... 4. Good ratings 5. Experienced receptionists: friendly, multi-lingual, know everything about Dresden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Lollis Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing