We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CoolHostel”
Review of Lollis Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lollis Homestay
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“CoolHostel”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Great hostel to stay in, Good Atmosphere & some cool featured rooms. The Hostel is close to lots of good bars, Easy to walk/public transit to train stations & main sights. Staff are really helpful & have activities organised every night

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    87
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
14
45
102
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Lollis Homestay is definitely the spot for backpackers passing through Dresden. The neighborhood of Neustadt has a great nightlife scene, while being a short tram ride away from the Old Town and other popular tourist sites. The rooms were clean and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osaka, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed here solo during the Christmas holidays in 2013. I stayed for like four nights and it was great! Being alone, Lollis had a great atmosphere for meeting other travelers to chill with, go out drinking in the Neustadt (where Lollis in smack in the middle of), or check out cultural stuff which is within walking distance.
The staff were really nice, and they had a nice little kitchen area where you could make your own food (there's a super market right around the corner), which helps save that money in expensive Germany.
Specifically for Christmas, it was great. The staff cooked up a huge free Saxon-style Christmas dinner for us and all the guests hung out in the common area.
The beds, rooms, showers, ect. are pretty basic, and the laundry was kind of expensive, but those are the only knocks I have on the place (other than the old man staying in my dorm room who snored EXTREMELY loudly).
Overall I highly recommend Lollis Homestay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Hentges831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Great location, nice price and friendly staff. Clean design-rooms and posibbility of getting lot of information about culture events in the Neustadt.

It gives there every week a day, when the visitors can get some meal, which is cooked by the staff there, for free.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Lollis Homestay is what I would call a perfect hostel. Located in the charismatic old building in the heart of the pulsing Neustadt quarter, with all the services and staff a traveler may need (stuff they sell or borrow, equipped kitchen), with comfortable common room where it is easy to meet other guests, with friendly and interesting personalities behind the counter, and pleasing "something extra" like great local and cheap beer and free bikes for rent. And on the top of, it is calm and safe, thanks to good windows and door and their security key/chip system.

Room Tip: Room no 2 / double room. Spacious and cozy. Disadvantage: the door to the floor is just opposite to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I loved this hostel. It was clean and friendly and just felt cozy, as well as being pretty easy to find. I stayed in the apartment with friends (not a dorm or regular room). It was down the street from the main hostel, but not far enough to be a problem. It was very clean and spacious and felt like a place you'd actually want to live. The kitchen was also nice. On Christmas eve they had free food and it was fun to hang out with new people. The front desk was very helpful in telling us where things were (especially the Christmas markets). We didn't do much site-seeing (we were there over Christmas), but it seemed like a cool town that didn't feel like a massive city. I'd love to go back, and I would try to stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I really loved my stay in Dresden and in Lollis Homestay. This Hostel was extremely artistic, homely, clean and spacious. The use of space in the room was both artistic and practical. The communal areas were warm and inviting. It was more like being in someones house than just a hostel. I highly recommend this place to stay. It is in a great neighbor hood to explore.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahLouise1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Ibis Budget Dresden City
#14 of 118 in Dresden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Innere Neustadt
Bulow Palais
Bulow Palais
#2 of 118 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Dresden Neustadt
#13 of 118 in Dresden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Hostel Mondpalast
#29 of 62 in Dresden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lollis Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lollis Homestay

Property: Lollis Homestay
Address: Goerlitzer Str. 34, 01099 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lollis Homestay 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We colour your stay!! Free (old, but roadworthy) Bicycles Free WIFI Free city map Free tea & coffee Weekly Events: Sunday: free dinner Monday: BBQ Tuesday: german course Wednesday: free dinner Thursday: Guided Nightwalk in Neustadt area for 5 Euro only We are the genuine backpackers hostel in the center of Dresden with the bit more information, personality and coziness. Our style is an authentic mirror of the surrounding Dresden Neustadt neighbourhood, a quarter home to artists and characters, with the lingering smell of the anarchistic spirit, born in the time before the iron Curtain fell. Meet people from all over the world, listen to and learn from their stories. Enjoy a little oasis of world peace in the beautiful and exciting city of Dresden. We offer individually designed rooms for everyone and staff that loves its job. Top 5 reasons to stay at Lollis Homestay 1. Central location: close to historic downtown, 15 minutes to the Dresden Neustadt Train Station and right in the middle of Dresden's lively trendy district. 2. Reasonable prices: from 13, including free tee and coffee, free map, free towels, free bicycles and much more. 3. Wide-ranging facilities: fully-equipped guest kitchen, book exchange, free lockers,a female only dormitory, free walking tour guide-books, internet access... 4. Good ratings 5. Experienced receptionists: friendly, multi-lingual, know everything about Dresden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lollis Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing