We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in the Kavaliers Haus”
Review of Schloss Eckberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Schloss Eckberg
Ranked #30 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My Husband and I traveled here for a wedding weekend, we opted to stay in the Kavaliers Haus. The rooms were basically a standard room you would find at any 3 star hotel, I didn't feel there was anything special about them being that it was at a castle and the price wasn't cheap either. The beds were okay but not the most comfortable. The castle itself was gorgeous, I would recommend staying here but spend the extra money and stay at the castle if you are looking for a better experience. The wifi was also not the best quality.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2012

Spent 7 nights at the Schloss Eckberg 3rd week of September 2012. The location is absolutley stunning. We were in the Kavalier House, but on the 3rd floor so we had a upper floor 'loft' for the king bed. Rooms are sensible; not large, not extravagant, but just what you need and very attractive. Guests at the Kavalier House need to walk to the castle for meals, etc., it is a bit of a walk. (200 yards) But the walk is very beautiful as the grounds are wonderfully kept. At night the grounds lighting is very magical.

Kavalier House rooms have a mini bar, and you CAN get room service there. The dining was fantastic at Schloss Eckberg, every meal was excellent and the waitstaff was very attentive, and very able to converse in English and my broken German was appreciated! (Herr Hodeck was a standout waiter - we hope you have him as your waiter at some point) Breakfast is a very good range of Euro and U.S. dishes, buffet-style.

A tram stop is but 300 yards west of the Schloss entrance, and can get you to the city center very quickly. (a full grocery is 3 stops west on the tram for water, snacks, etc.)

Far better to stay here than at an in-town hotel. What a way to enjoy Dresden!

Room Tip: Being at the Castle itself is better for those with mobility concerns. Also - no clothes irons ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IllinoisILtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I recently spent three nights at the Schloss Eckberg, Dresden, Germany ( third week of Sept 2012), . It was the most wonderful experience I have had in recent past. The property is a fabulous castle which was originally built for an English businessman and now is a hotel and restaurant.
There are two places to stay, one being the Cavaliers House (reduced room rates) and the other is the castle which overlooks the Elbe river.
The sylvan surroundings are extremely pleasant and meticulously maintained. An early morning stroll through their beautiful garden was very refreshing followed by a sumptuous breakfast.
The rooms at Cavalier House are suitable for singles as well as couple - very clean and nicely designed. Turquoise blue tiles in a spic and span bathroom added to the beauty.
The tram station which is @ 100 mtrs from the hotel takes you to the down town in 20 minutes.
Very convenient for people who would want to stay away from the city buzz.
The staff was extremely co-operative and helpful.
I am certainly going to stay there on my next trip and would definitely recommend it to all who want to visit the beautiful city of Dresden.

Room Tip: Couples should definitely go for the rooms at the castle. For singles and if you want to save money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abhay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Just returned from a short break (four nights)in this delightful hotel.
We paid the extra buck to stay in the castle itself, rather than the 'Kavalier House' which is the hotel annex, which looked OK but was full of a conference group.
You arrive at the Reception which is in a 'lodge' by the front gate. After signing in they call a golf cart which drives to the castle, an magical approach through the lit-up grounds.
Our room was very comfortable, though obviously not the best, and had a sumptious bathroom - towels and sheets were changed daily.
Breakfast, which was included, was in the former 'garden room' and was full of hot and cold choices. Although every member of the staff was charming there did not appear to be an overall manager, or if there was we missed him.
TIP: When you go into town get the No.11 tram from across the road to the hotel entrance; the first stop is for buses and the second yellow and green stop is the one for trams. We used them every day and they get you straight to all the important places.
This hotel is not really a castle in the English sense but rather a mansion or Country House.
It was built in the mid 19th. century in the German Romantic style, like a mini Neuschwanstein.
You can buy a book all about it at reception. The grounds are wonderful, and if the weather is kind you can eat meals outside. We had one meal in the restaurant, not cheap but very good food.
Dresden has so much to offer we can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Schloss Eckberg is one of three magnificent residences overlooking the Elbe on the outskirts of Dresden. It is set in very attractive and extensive grounds where lawns, treees, and fountains abound. The Schloss, a nineteenth century extravaganza, provides some rooms and the restaurant, but also in the grounds is the modern Karvaliershaus, where the rooms are very reasonably priced.
Arriving from Berlin we tried to follow the detailed instructions for reaching the hotel without going through the centre of Dresden and, apart from a point when there were roadworks, they worked. You have to watch carefully to spot the entrance, and then turn in through the gate to find you are in the castle grounds. We parked near reception, in the lodge, were welcomed, and taken to our room in the Kavaliershaus. We had a spacious ground floor double room, which had views into the woodland. The Kavaliershaus lacks the romantic feel of the Schloss but the rooms are spacious, very clean and comfortable.
To get to breakfast we had a gentle stroll through the gardens to the Schloss itself. It was a suberb breakfast with lots of choice, cereals, fruit, breads, cooked dishes and a large pot of coffee or tea if preferred. The view from the dining room is amazing, over the terrace and gardens down to the Elbe, including several of the bridges. The spires of central Dresden can also be made out. The gardens are planted with flowers including lots of roses at the top and become more informal as you walk down the steep bank. At the bottom we managed to find the way through to the riverside walk and followed it upstream, noting the marks which showed how high the Elbe had risen during the various floods.
Our hotel package included a two-day pass for the public transport system, which is extremely efficient. The hotel is well placed for public transport, the 11 tram gives a frequent service into the centre of Dresden and further out. By linking this with other trams and busses we were able to get around easily, including a trip to Pillnitz, a lovely summer palace with parkland and gardens just upstream.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret_&_Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We read all the previous reviews before booking a short stay in Dresden and Schloss Eckberg exceeded our expectations.
Staff were very friendly and helpful; we were able to buy tickets for public transport at reception: city centre is easily accessible form the tram stop at the gate: Kavaliershaus was perfectly comfortable; eating and drinking happens in the main castle building and it was a fantastic experience to sit on the castle balcony, overlooking the city, drinking a beer. Breakfast similarly was taken outside on the balcony.

The grounds and gardens provide a buffer from the outside world - and somewhere to walk after dinner (but note that the side gate is locked at 5 pm).

A trivial quibble: our "double-decker" room was rather warm in the hot weather. We found the air conditioner eventually - but no instructions and no remote control. We turned it on after balancing on the banisters at the top of the stairs: there must be an easier way!

We expected this level of luxury to be very, very expensive. In fact this hotel was the best value we found in a week of touring Germany.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisdrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We recently returned from a European trip where Dresden was
also on the agenda. I am happy to report that choosing Schloss Eckberg for our 4 day stay was spot on. We stayed at the Kavalierhaus in a split-level room with beds upstairs and bath and living quarters downstairs. If you have mobility issues I would not recommend such arrangements. Climbing up and down about 13 stairs to visit the bathroom can be daunting. There are, however, plenty of one level rooms on lower floors.
All bathrooms in the Kavalierhaus are small, with showers only.
Good water pressure and pleasant views over castle grounds.
Somehow, I could not escape the feeling that the Kavalierhaus
was built to accommodate former party bosses. The rooms are
functional and comfortable but have little charm. No prints or
pictures on walls. Rooms have good size flat screen TV and good reception. The best part of our stay was the breakfast in the castle and enjoying the grounds. Staff friendly and helpful.
Excellent public transportation just outside the hotel. Tram #11
gets you to all the sights in less than 20 minutes. Leave your
car parked and take the tram, as parking in town is expensive
and limited. You can purchase tram tickets at the reception desk. Should we return to Dresden again, I would opt for a room in the castle. Overall, Dresden has a lot to offer; from the
green vault (should be visited) to the Bastei. We took the train
to Bad Rathan and hiked up to the Bastei. If you are energetic
I would highly recommend a hike up to the restaurant for a
fabulous, unforgettable view of the river below and the whole
Sandsteingebirge. The food is also quite good. There is a taxi
service from Bad Rathan - takes up to 8 people - but do not know their schedule. The hotel could find out. Visiting the Moritzburg nearby is another nice excursion. Easily reached by tram and bus. I believe the rooms have A/C. We kept the windows open, had no problems with bugs, but there are no screen on windows. The castle terrace is also a great place to
relax after a full day of sightseeing.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues request a room on a lower floor not a maisonette where beds are upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frances008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Gewandhaus Dresden, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Smetana
#38 of 118 in Dresden
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schloss Eckberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schloss Eckberg

Address: Bautzner Str. 134, 01099 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden > Loschwitz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Price Range: £57 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Schloss Eckberg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you visit a castle you rightly expect something special. At Eckberg you will find the unforgettable charm of an historic castle complex set in a wonderful park landscape, coupled with the individual services of an establishment run in a personal manner. The 15 acre park combines the Hotel Schloss Eckberg and Kavaliershaus an absolute gem. As a guest you can choose between reserving your exquisite room in the main building of the castle on the steep banks of the river Elbe or staying in the Cavalier House, idyllically located in the park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Schloss Eckberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing