We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Dresden”
Review of Pension Kaeubler

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dresden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pension Kaeubler
Ranked #16 of 106 Dresden B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Dresden”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This was our third visit to the beautiful city of Dresden. We chose Pension Kaeubler because we had a car and didn't want the hassle or expense of parking in the city. We could not have made a better choice.

The owner was just delightful and very welcoming. He gave us a rundown on the history of the home which was fascinating; and the home itself was just beautiful. I really wish we could have stayed longer.

Our large room, although facing the street, was very quiet, and sported a few little Christmas decorations which was very nice. The bed was super comfy.

The most amazing thing was the breakfast - talk about fine dining - and delicious! I even had the urge to Skype my Mum at home in Mackay so I could show her the lovely table setting!

The B&B is a little way from the city centre but I can't see that this is a problem. When we next return to Dresden we will definitely stay here; no doubt about it. I wish I could remember the owner's name - he was just so lovely and made us all feel so welcome. If you are reading this - thank you so much for your incredible hospitality and for such a wonderful stay in your beautiful home.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeingisBelieving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester England
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This four storey property was built in 1906 and is now owned by the grandchildren of the original owner who was a painter. The house is a shrine to his works and his portraits are particularly fine. The house fortuitously avoided the 1945 bombing and is structurally and decoratively little changed from the day it was built. New bathrooms have been installed and there is free wifi throughout the house. Parking is on the street, but was completely safe whilst we were there. The property is only 50 meters from one of the main entry roads into Dresden but is totally quiet and there was no traffic noise at all. We were on the fourth floor - 52 steps- no lift, but with a light airy room which was not overlooked. Breakfasts are exquisitely served on bone china, with a good choice of cereals, yogurts, cheeses, meats, and fruit. The house is three bus stops, No.66, Mommsen str, from the main railway station, or it is a gentle downhill walk- about 15-20 minutes. However to get to the old town is as far again so a dresden card or bus pass is useful. The area around the property is entirely residential and has been largely taken over by the Technical University and there are unfortunately not many restaurants within easy access. We found it easy enough to take a tram to the Neustadt where there is an abundance. As a base for exploring Dresden this would take some beating for comfort and value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanky01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

My husband & 2 adult children had two rooms at Pension Kaeubler for one night in September. It was about 2 minutes walk from the bus stop & about 10 minutes from Dresden station on the bus. The rooms & bathrooms were lovely. There is no lift. Breakfast was very nice. Located in a quiet area, close to public transport, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Leandro, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Pension Kaeubler is a wonderful choice for your stay in Dresden Germany. Our double room was both spacious and wonderfully decorated (as the entire home is). We looked out on their back gardens which were as pretty as the rooms. The walls are covered with Petra and Lutz's great-grandfather's paintings, Paul Poetzch, a famous German painter from the early 1900s. The breakfast serving on antique china was the icing on the cake of a wonderful stay. Reasonably priced, a bus ride away from the trams and the main train station (about a 15-20 minute walk)

Room Tip: As with all of Europe, be prepared for stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This is a fantastic Pension near the university about a 20 minute walk from the main train station or a quick tram ride. The building is a 1900s private home filled with memorabilia from a bygone era yet it has all modern conveniences including free wireless internet. My single room was spacious but a little dark as the window was small. I had a look at the double rooms across the hallway and they were very bright and spacious. Accommodation prices were reasonable and all rooms were immaculately clean and comfortable. Breakfast was unbeliveable! Superb selection of food served on the finest china. Perfect place to unwind after a day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ankicaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayslake, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We wanted to stay in Pensions and small Hotels on our North & East German trip. We found this very nice and very clean pension (B&B) on the web. It is conveniently located near a Tram or one can walk (2 miles?) to the Main Rail station. Maybe it was not the least expensive place but it was a charming old, private home with several (4 - 5) room to rent. Breakfast was just perfect - excellent food, service and presentation (the best china)! The owners are retired and take great care of the place. It is not close to downtown but with the tram you are there in 10 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MeinhardG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Spotlessly clean and charming rooms in beautiful home. Great breakfast. Located on quiet street with easy access to Dresden's attractions. Nice local cafe called Muellers across the street.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Canadian_Ramblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
1.1 mi away
IntercityHotel Dresden
IntercityHotel Dresden
#22 of 118 in Dresden
493 reviews
1.6 mi away
NH Collection Dresden Altmarkt
1.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Dresden City
Ibis Budget Dresden City
#15 of 118 in Dresden
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
AZIMUT Hotel Dresden
AZIMUT Hotel Dresden
#27 of 118 in Dresden
434 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Dresden - City South
4.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Weltemuhle Dresden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Kaeubler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Kaeubler

Property: Pension Kaeubler
Address: Zeunerstr. 72, 01069 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden > Plauen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing