We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a must be seen when you're in Dresden”

Semper Opera House (Semperoper)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$53.51*
and up
Dresden Day Trip from Berlin
Ranked #5 of 159 things to do in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Restored to its former magnificence after its destruction in the 1945 bombing of Dresden, this elaborate, High Renaissance style opera house presents opera, ballet and jazz performances, and is worth a visit if only to marvel at its ornate interior.
Oldenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“a must be seen when you're in Dresden”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

...but to be honest: expected more when walking around. To be honest: there are other places at town who did attract me more than this, just because I didn't get any chance going inside during my stay...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelbearnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    863
    283
    57
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Plan well!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Make sure you check the posters outside of the opera house that will tell you when you can enter. The hours seem really random and I am not sure the most up-to-date times are on the internet. We wanted to go one afternoon but it was closed. It would have been open at 11 pm for a tour but that was too late for us.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank FrauSok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Visited for a performance”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Not unexpectedly, the Semper Opera House proved to be a beautiful building inside and out. I had booked tickets for "the Gods" online and printed off the tickets. We had no difficulty at all when we presented them, and walked up the several floors to gain comfortable seats near the top of the house. The building is very well air conditioned, with individual air conditioning units at each seat which was much appreciated as it had been a particularly hot day. Because we attended a performance, we didn't bother applying for tickets to see through the building.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DJR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The Barber of Seville at the Semperopera”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We attended the above performance in the wonderful arena on 21st June and it was a fantastic experience. Wheelchair access was pointed out to us and we found our way to the auditorium. It was not possible to avail ourselves of the interval refreshments as these were down stairs.

A wonderful building but.......... Is it necessary to restore EVERY building to its original or near original? Just a thought.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
台灣台北市
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“中世紀的建築”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

It locates right beside the Zwinger the building looks amazing. It looks like a building that has been experienced centuries life which you are unable to tell that this is a renovated building. The re-construction of the building was nice.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank humwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Semper Opera House (Semperoper) also viewed

 

Been to Semper Opera House (Semperoper)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing