We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Hotel Kipping

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kipping
Ranked #36 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Lovely old building near centre of city. Everything clean and perfect. Comfortable, quiet. Good breakfast but an optin o a full english would have been welcome.

Room Tip: Be polite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolm1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    60
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
76
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

I ordered a single room at the last minute online and it was excellent: well-fitted out (marvelous shower) and very well maintained. It was small, too small really for a second person but just right for me. The breakfast was very good, great way to start the day, and the location behind the main railway station was superb - two minutes on foot, even with luggage. And for this quality residence, attractive prices. The staff were helpful to me (I arrived late and they were awake to let me in; and they helped me with my computer).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lxj9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2010

I chose this hotel becasue of the free wireless internet and the handy location to the train station. Walked easily there with my luggage. The hotel certanly met my basic needs. Rooms was small, but very functional and clean. Breaksfast was good and plentiful. The staff are certainly not charasmatic but more like the room itself-- functional and adequate for the basic needs. Nice tourist map was provided. All questions quickly answered.

Nothing to get excited about but I felt I got my money's worth.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OCMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shandtastic
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Hotel Kipping is in a convenient location with onsite (free) parking. The rooms and hotel are very nice. We found the staff to be a bit cold and not very helpful. I would not suggest this hotel for families, but would not hesitate to recommend for singles or couples.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shandtastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Beach, Fla.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

We stayed just one night to break up the trip from the Frankfurt airport to Prague. The hotel is very convient to the main train station. You can easily walk there even with luggage. It is nice and functional and worth the price. The breakfast was also good. In the evening we walked back to the train station and then into the old town which begins right on the other side of the train station. We were pleasantly suprised by our short walk through Dresden. It is a very nice medium size German city which has been rebuilt. It would be worth a longer visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbed_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

I stayed at the Hotel Kipping one night as part of a Rick Steve tour. It is located very close to the train station in Dresden, yet I did not hear any noise from the trains. We ate a group dinner that was excellent at the hotel. I had fried my hair straightener in Berlin and was fortunate that a large shopping area is located north of the train station. This district is very modern, full of shops and restaurants. I found my new German hair straightener in a LARGE department store in this area.
I traveled on a single supplement and was assigned a cute twin bed room at the hotel. The room was nice sized, clean, and the manager was very nice. He first tried to help me with the hair straightener and when that did not work, he directed me to the correct store in the nearby shopping area. Breakfast was included in our stay.
The historic area of Dresden is FABULOUS. Make a reservation for the Historic Green Vault (well worth it) and don't miss the Old Masters Painting Gallery. It is fairly small in scale, but it is mighty in masterpieces. I thoroughly enjoyed my too short stay in Dresden. Enjoy your time in this wonderful city!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHROrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2009

It was hot during our visit to Germany and this was one of the few hotels we stayed at that had AC. It was glorious. Oh, and the hotel was well-located near the train station and the Innenstadt as well as the Strassenbahn stops. Our room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Parking was free and the hotel was easy to get to from the Autobahn. The staff was friendly and helpful as we planned our sightseeing. Dresden is definitely worth a visit. Mostly German and East European tourists, not many Americans. You get a good perspective of what it was like before the war, after it was annihilated on 2/13/1945, how it was rebuiltas part of the DDR, and how it is regaining its former glory after the reunification. Don't miss the Historical Green Vault- what an opulent collection of treasures from Augustus der Starke and other Saxon kings. You must buy your tickets online many months in advance (go to www.dresden.de or do a Google search--we bought ours in Feb for June). You won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjpmdpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
InterCityHotel Dresden
#23 of 118 in Dresden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Ibis Dresden Bastei
#30 of 118 in Dresden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Hotel Smetana
#37 of 118 in Dresden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Altstadt
Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre
ACHAT Comfort Dresden
#52 of 118 in Dresden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Pullman Dresden Newa
#17 of 118 in Dresden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kipping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kipping

Property: Hotel Kipping
Address: Winckelmannstr. 6, 01069 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kipping 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the center of Dresden, close to the main station. And public transport means and the historic old town, quiet location. Family run, 20 modern rooms with shower / WC, hairdryer, cable TV, telephone, radio, partly air-conditioned and Non smoking floors, parking fee at the hotel, lift, w-lan free, small summer terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Kipping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kipping Hotel Dresden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing