We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small But Nice Very Near the Main Dresden Train Station”
Review of Hotel Kipping

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kipping
Ranked #43 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Small But Nice Very Near the Main Dresden Train Station”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The little hotel is old but very comfortable and closest to the Dresden Hauptbahnhof. To find it exit the train station on the south side which is the exit onto Bayerische St. at the Track 1 side. It's straight ahead from there not more than maybe 50 yards and can be spotted from the train station. Train noise not that noticeable and otherwise in a quiet neighborhood area. The few rooms are large with high ceilings and a small but adequate bathroom. It has internet, a lift, and a nice little restaurant on the ground floor. Breakfast comes with the room and is not only ample but has a large variety of cold and hot items, as well as many homemade things set out each day at 06:30 weekdays or 07:00 weekends. The food is very good and dinner can be obtained there at very reasonable prices. May serve lunch as well but wouldn't know as we were always out at that time. The small staff is attentive and friendly. Beds are typical German in that they are narrow single beds pushed together and are very firm to sleep on. Rooms have phones,flat screen TV with many channels, etc. so all the comforts one would need in such a small place. S-Bahn street cars run nearby as well as taxi stands are close by with only about a 20-30 min. walk along pedestrian-only zones to the Old Town area and most of the best sights and activities.

Room Tip: As usual upper floors are best to get away from the cobblestone streets below and into the cool bree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnandSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    62
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
77
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I celebrated my wedding in Dresden last year and had to accommodate my family from all over the world. This individual family owned hotel was our starting point for everything and all my guests were impressed of this truely lovely hotel right in the centre of Dresden. Therefor also most of guests had a tight schedule they still managed to do some sightseeing as everything is in close distance. We were greeted friendly, the rooms were all clean and well equipped, baby cots were available on request. The staff was friendly and welcoming and tried to accommodate all our extra wishes. We were given the separate part of the restaurant for the breakfast so all friends and family could sit together. The breakfast must be one of the best in town and hardly leaves any wishes. Even kids that are usually hard to please enjoyed there breakfast;) With the help of Hotel Kipping our wedding organisation was made a bit easier and people will always remember their stay in Dresden in a good way. THANK YOU to ALL the STAFF and carry on what you are doing so well. We all will be back!

Room Tip: The wedding suite is a superb room. AC is installed in higher level rooms and was great during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the Kipping in late May, about the 4th or 5th time since 2007, and as usual, we loved it. As is often described, it is a small, family-owned hotel that is about 1 to 2 minutes from the main hauptbahnhof making it most convenient for train travel. Our room was quite large, the WiFi worked perfectly all the time, and unlike many hotels did not require continuous logons if one closed an iPad or smartphone for a bit. There is an elevator that is also very handy. The breakfast buffet should satisfy any palate, and there are even some different options each day. Meats, cheeses, scrambled eggs, cereals, great juices, breads and rolls, yogurts - really very good. My wife is an especially great fan of the homemade cheesecake which she says is to die for. Dinners are available in the evening, and the menu is quite traditional for this area and is very good. The staff are most friendly, and English is spoken very well by them. We love the Hotel Kipping, and we will definitely be going back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jcu1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Many places are cheaper, but if you're not on a super tight budget, this is a place to splurge a little. If you are taking the train out of Dresden (we went to Prague) on a day trip, no place is handier. It is literally 1 minute walking to the train/bus station. Despite that, we had no noise issues at all. The breakfast is stellar. Comfortable rooms with plenty of space. Very clean and tidy. The building could use a coat of paint, both outside and common area interior, but the room interiors are very nice. Excellent plumbing, plenty of hot water. The working staff is friendly and spoke decent English. Free, private parking. The owners (brothers, if I understood correctly) are somewhat stereotypical Germans. Some might think them a bit gruff, but they run a very tight ship and they speak excellent English. We had no issues whatsoever.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel, right near the banhof, was friendly with good food, clean rooms, and a friendly host with a great sense of humour in several languages. The restaurant served good meals at a good price, of course celebrating asparagus ("spargel") as all Germay seems to do.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon_Stahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just across the road from the main station and yet the street on which it is located is quiet and you hear no traffic in the night. Comfortable and spacious rooms. Free good wi-fi. Helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast good. The restaurant was a surprise: we had a splendid meal two nights running, with superb zander. Service a little slow at dinner, but the wait is worthwhile as the food is certainly freshly cooked. If you are near the station and feel hungry at dinnertime, this is the place to eat. Location, as others report, is perfect: 4 minutes from the tram stop into the centre. We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adspharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We arrived by train, so only a couple of hundred metres to the hotel. Friendly desk staff, with good English. Short walk to the Old Town, via the shopping district. On site Restaurant food was great, especially the Snitzels (what else would you eat in Germany) and good value. The waitress was a little 'grumpy', probably just having an 'off' day. Room comfortable & functional. WiFi access good, for those all important Facebook check in's.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
IntercityHotel Dresden
#20 of 118 in Dresden
497 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Star Inn Hotel Premium Dresden im Haus Altmarkt, by Quality
ACHAT Comfort Dresden
#56 of 118 in Dresden
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Smetana
#34 of 118 in Dresden
121 reviews
Pullman Dresden Newa
#18 of 118 in Dresden
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kipping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kipping

Property: Hotel Kipping
Address: Winckelmannstr. 6, 01069 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kipping 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the center of Dresden, close to the main station. And public transport means and the historic old town, quiet location. Family run, 20 modern rooms with shower / WC, hairdryer, cable TV, telephone, radio, partly air-conditioned and Non smoking floors, parking fee at the hotel, lift, w-lan free, small summer terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kipping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kipping Hotel Dresden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing