We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, correctly-priced Dresden hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe
Ranked #11 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Singapore
Level Contributor
249 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Excellent, correctly-priced Dresden hotel”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This perfectly-situated hotel in the heart of historic Dresden is walking distance from every site you will probably want to visit. The best restaurant in Dresden is 3 minutes one way (Kastenmeiers); the museums 5 minutes another way, neighboring the beautiful Elbe River; and the famous Frauenkirche on your doorstep. Reception was courteous and friendly and the restaurant, although a little 'stiff' (formal) had a wonderful menu. There weren't many amenities other than shampoo/conditioner, but it did have a hot water kettle and packets of coffee/tea, much appreciated by me as I'm an early riser and need that first cup of coffee while still in bed.

I would definitely return and absolutely recommend it anyone looking for a hotel in Dresden that offers value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front overlooking the square if you're a people-watcher. There are cafes o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,161
    833
    157
    18
    7
See reviews for
337
1,161
76
414
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights towards the end of our 2 week honeymoon. I wish every hotel was this good! Super excellent location, we were able to walk to everything and I enjoyed being able to open the windows to listen to the music being played in the square below. This is a European hotel with American touches. The staff was very nice and the room was super clean. This was my favorite hotel our whole trip. I hope we get to come back to it!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alicia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoteldeSaxe, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Alicia,

it was our pleasure to have been able to welcome you at our hotel for this special occasion. Thank you very much for taking the time for a comment at TripAdvisor.
We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and service. We wish you and your husband all the best and are already looking forward to the opportunity of extending our hospitality to you again on your next visit to the heart of Dresden.

Best regards

Heidrun Waschhausen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This is a very good hotel with spacious modern rooms and modern bathrooms. Ask for a room at the front where there is a lovely view across the central square. The location is excellent with a very short walk to major attractions, the Elbe River, and many restaurants. The hotel breakfast was terrific with a wide range of food - cooked and continental. Parking is available and the service was excellent. I would definitely recommend it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mosquito Magnet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoteldeSaxe, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Mosquito,

thank you very much for your visit and for your comment at TripAdvisor. We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and service, especially our breakfast buffet. We are already looking forward to welcome you again on your next visit to the heart of Dresden.

Best regards

Heidrun Waschhausen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Hotel location is wonderfull, in the middle of the city. Almost all that you want to see is in walking distance. The hotelroom self is neat, clean and well kept. There is more than enough choice for breakfast. Car park is not of the hotel, but it is possible to pay beforehand for a few days so trhat you will get a card for those days.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kong18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had 2 nights here as part of a Riviera Travel Tour. The hotel is in the best position in Dresden overlooking the main part of this beautiful city. Despite this it is a very quiet hotel and a perfect size so that the staff could get to recognise us. Our room was large and sumptuous and the breakfasts first class. We dined elsewhere but others praised the restaurant. We would love to visit both again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadPat83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharnbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a Riviera tour. It's central, friendly and basically ticks all the boxes. Lovely rooms and excellent breakfasts . We used the bar in the evenings and found it just a great hotel and would be happy to go back to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights as part of a tour with Riviera Travel, very smart city centre hotel on one of the main squares in Dresden, excellent position for walking around all central attractions in Dresden. Lovely spacious room, very comfortable ,really good breakfast, couldn't find a fault. Happy to recommend for a city break.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking square probably have a lovely view but may be more expensive, our room was at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crees50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#15 of 118 in Dresden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,869 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
#1 of 118 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe

Property: Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe
Address: Neumarkt 9, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dresden
#4 Family Hotel in Dresden
#5 Business Hotel in Dresden
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#8 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are unlikely to find a more beautiful and more central place to stay in Dresden than the Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe. It is located opposite the famous Frauenkirche (Church of Our Lady) and in the middle of Dresden's grand old town district with the most important tourist attractions just a few minutes walk away. The bright and upmarket ambience of the hotel's 178 rooms and 7 suites is sure to impress. Worthy of special note are the generous proportions of the hotel rooms, which, together with the elegant furnishings, guarantee a pleasant and relaxed stay in the heart of Dresden. It is not just the impressive view from the "Restaurant de Saxe" over the Frauenkirche and the Neumarkt that will impress you but also its exclusive flair. First class service, some choice wines and fine international and regional Saxony dishes enthral every guest. The 240 m² wellness area at the Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe offers a pamper-programme with its sauna, its green sanarium, its steam room and range of massage and cosmetic treatments. The hotel also has two Kneipp hydrotherapy baths and for the more sporty guests, there is also a fitness studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Dresden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing