We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful nature right next to Dresden”
Review of Kim Hotel Im Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kim Hotel Im Park
Ranked #45 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Peaceful nature right next to Dresden”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Very cosy, clean and quiet hotel with remains of some old castle.
There are several small houses with rooms and parking. Great breakfasts in the restaurant. For kids there's a playground and it's easy to see a squirrel. There is a botanical garden with huge old trees and a bench with a view of Dresden. There's a bus stop near the hotel, but we rent a car, so i can't tell if it's easy to get to the city from the place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gulbesheker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    41
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
33
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Natick, MA
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We travel with our daughter who lives in Germany a lot. In Germany most hotels do not have rooms for 3 or more. So we generally have very limited choices. We enjoyed our stay. This hotel is a couple miles from tourist center of Dresden. So would not advise staying here without a car. GPS does not work to find the hotel. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous. It is on a hill and you can see the city below. The rooms are fine nothing special, they were very clean. If you are looking for a charming or romantic getaway this is not for you. The price 109 euros was very affordable for 3. Breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

I don't understand how some people can rate this hotel as "very good or excellent". My initial problem was that two GPS units (both less than a year old) were unable to locate the hotel due to changes in the roadways. You would think the partner hotel in town could give you adequate directions but it took three stops there to find it. (When the desk person says it always happens, would it be too much of a stretch to print a map?) Once locating the correct hotel we were told our room was in another building. In freezing temperatures while dragging luggage around it would have been helpful to tell us the (non-visible) entrance was to the right side of the building because we followed the driveway to the left and had to walk 3/4 of the way around the building. Once in the room, there was a strong PineSol-like stench. It was to the point where it would irritate your sinuses. When we found no information regarding restaurant hours we decided to call reception but there was no phone in the room. Even a Motel 6 has a phone in the room! So, now I have to walk to the other building just to find out the hours or request another towel or a wake-up call? Forget internet access (not even a phone line or a wireless signal in the area). The room was like an old dorm room with beds along the wall on the left and right and just a narrow (maybe 3.5-4 foot) walkway down the middle. Tiny room, tiny shower, no phone, no internet, inconvienent, smelly, nowhere near the city..how is $120 a night for a triple room on a Tuesday night in December a bargain? Much better value for your money available in the area.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonovanNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rural Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2008

Good hotel, nice location, very welcoming, friendly and helpful reception staff. The stay was paid for by a third party, but from what I saw, this hotel is excellent value for money.
Rooms very clean, but somewhat stuffy - even if you left your window open for a longer period of time. They had a wedding party on during the tirst night of my stay, I was glad to have been allocated a room away from the noise (hotel had capacity). I also had access to a 'noise side' room (to use the phone, which did not work in mine) and confirm that it certainly pays to request a quiet room away from functions, especially if you like sleeping with your window(s) open.
Food average, restaurant service average, you could certainly do better in down-town Dresden (and I did), but perfectly adequate if you don't want to leave the property. Breakfast good despite grumpy waitress (on both occasions). All in all definitely worth considering when visiting the beautiful city of Dresden.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Nossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2007

This hotel has a very beautiful setting in a park outside of Dresden. You can have breakfast outside on a patio with a view of the park. The location is also the downside, it is a bit far from the center of town. I wouldn't recommend this without a car, unless you're ready to take taxis back and forth. On the other hand, the other reviewer (the one before me who wrote in German) said that he didn't need a car, due to good public transport. If you don't have a car I would check with the hotel to see what transport options there are. If you have a car, stay here!

Price was very good, 50-60 Euro. Room was okay, typical for a European single room (i.e. small, but like I said, typical), but very good value for the money. Service was very good, very friendly and helpful people at the front desk.

Note that there are two Kim hotels in Dresden. This is the Kim im Park.

Recommended.

  • Liked — Quiet, pretty location
  • Disliked — A bit of a ways to town
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank eddie7654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Kim Hotel Dresden
#40 of 118 in Dresden
117 reviews
Wyndham Garden Dresden
#21 of 118 in Dresden
707 reviews
AZIMUT Hotel Dresden
#27 of 118 in Dresden
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loschwitz
Schloss  Hotel Dresden-Pillnitz
GreenLine Landhotel Dresden
#77 of 118 in Dresden
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kim Hotel Im Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kim Hotel Im Park

Property: Kim Hotel Im Park
Address: Otto-Harzer-Strasse 2, 01156 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kim Hotel Im Park 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kim Hotel Im Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kim Hotel Dresden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing