We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looked nice, but they canceled our rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AZIMUT Hotel Dresden
Ranked #27 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Looked nice, but they canceled our rooms!”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

After 20 hours of international travel, we arrived at the Azimut, only to be told that the pipes in the 2 rooms we had reserved (many months prior) were broken, and they were very sorry but couldn't accommodate us, as there were no other rooms available for us. The hotel clerk was apologetic, and had identified another hotel in the area, and arranged for us to stay there for the same rate as the Azimut booking. This unexpected development was disappointing, since the primary reason for us choosing the Azimut was so that we could be within walking distance of the family we were visiting. It was also frustrating to watch other people continue to check into their rooms, seemingly with no issue. The other hotel we ended up at was in fact lovely, so it all worked out, but needless to say it was a bit of a rude start to a trip which had been planned long in advance.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ardenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    232
    57
    13
    5
See reviews for
86
235
18
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munster, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

My husband and I spent two nights here before going on a bike tour along the Elbe. Let me start by saying, don't be put off by reports which say the hotel is too far out of town. It is in fact 6 Km from the centre but the tram stops about 100m from the hotel and in 20 minutes you are in Dresden centre. A day ticket for the tram is only 5 Euros so it's not exactly expensive.The hotel itself is by Dresden standards very reasonably priced. The standard is good, although when we were there it was very warm and with no air conditioning, was quite uncomfortable in the room. The breakfast (which we had included in the room rate) was also good. People who are quite light sleepers might find the hotel a bit noisy, as it it quite near to the main road. We had no problen with that. All in all, considering the room rates (we paid 116 Euros for two nights including breakfast) I think the hotel is ideal for a sight seeing holiday and have no reservations about staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We got a super deal in Hot wire, it's not a 4* as advertised but a 3* superior Very convenient if you are driving since it's a bit off the city. It has parking, comfy beds, clean and spacious rooms, old tv's and no much amenities. The breakfast it's very good for 9 Euro if you book in advance the night before or 13 Euro the same day.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FerdieGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukegan, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Hello,

We recently stayed in this hotel when we were on a short trip of East German Cities. I review the hotel as below:

Location
I know it's not quite right to start on a bad note but this is where we had our expectations not meeting. The fault is all mine as I didn't use internet to confirm its location and went by hrs.de rating.

The hotel is located in an area (reick?) that's painfuly distance of 30 minutes away from City Centre by public transport. After 9:00PM, you need to plan your journey back to hotel carefully, if you don't have your own vehicle.

Nearest supermarket is Netto Supermarket which is 7 minutes walking distance from hotel. The hotel has recently opened a new Italian restaurant that we didn't try.

Rooms
Room that we were offered was a triple-bed room. It had a small 21" TV and a small fridge. The room was quite clean and had a balcony. It, however, opened up to building that is quite old and not in very good condition. The road nearby has traffic even in midnight (though occasional).

Staff
Staff wanted to be helpful but may not have been very well trained. We were frustrated by its location and wanted to cut short our stay by a day. The receptionist available during the night time said this wouldn't be a problem. However, the one during morning said that this will mean 90% of the room price will be charged! Sadly, we had to stay in this hotel for another night.

Nothing else to talk about the hotel. We didn't opt for the breakfast neither we asked about the fare.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the backside that face the tram route.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misslinius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Nice hotel just outside the main city. easy to get to, just cross the road from the main train station and get on tram 9. we stayed for 4 nights very nice room, very nice helpful staff most with good english. Had to pay extra for the breakfast but it was worth the money. Staff gave very good advice surrounding travel and places to visit. Dont be put off by all the german reviews, we took a chance and it was well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harris02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2006

Expedia claims 3.5 stars, and Belmondo itself claims 4 stars. While this is a decent 2 star hotel, anything higher is not accurate. Rooms are very small and have no A/C. There is no dresser and no closet (there is a 2 foot clothes pole in an open corner with a few hangers that do not hold pants). Furniture is somewhat worn and lighting is poor. Bathrooms are small but well done, parking is free. Rooms are clean and people are pleasant. Location is outside downtown area, about a 40 minute trolley ride away. Trolley is around the corner. With no A/C and windows open it gets noisy.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
Thank euro727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Wyndham Garden Dresden
#22 of 118 in Dresden
701 reviews
NH Dresden Neustadt
#12 of 118 in Dresden
786 reviews
Ibis Budget Dresden City
#14 of 118 in Dresden
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Novalis Dresden
#64 of 118 in Dresden
76 reviews
ACHAT Premium Dresden
#63 of 118 in Dresden
190 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AZIMUT Hotel Dresden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AZIMUT Hotel Dresden

Property: AZIMUT Hotel Dresden
Address: Huelssestrasse 1 D, 01237 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Dresden
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
#20 Family Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — AZIMUT Hotel Dresden 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AZIMUT Hotel Dresden 4* is located quite close to downtown Dresden in the Reick area of the city. On public transportation one can reach the heart of the city in 10 minutes admiring the Elbe valley, Baroque architecture and cultural treasures in such museums as Dresden’s Old Masters Gallery or Grünes Gewölbe (Green Vault) Museum with its jewel collection. We invite you to visit one of Germany’s most beautiful cities and stay at the AZIMUT hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotel.de, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your AZIMUT Hotel Dresden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmondo Hotel Dresden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing