We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value Apartment”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dresden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Apartments an der Frauenkirche
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value Apartment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

This large apartment has a direct view of the famous Frauenkirche, is close to shops, museums and restaurants, and is extremely roomy - you coud live in it.The apartment has a kitchen with hotplates, washing machine, large bedroom and living area, plus (in our apartment, anyway, 5.15) a second small bedroom with two single beds and a second toilet downstairs. A nice balcony, too.

Best rate for this hotel was to book direct.

Service is friendly, fast and very good and staff speak good English, although attempts at German are well received.

Only (very small) downside is the lovely Frauenkirche bell, which starts tolling at 7.00am, but it's wort it for the views.

Room Tip: Go for the apartment on the top floor, has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HobiKanobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    17
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
43
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Very good central location in the tourist section of town. There was some street noise so request a unit that does not front the street if you are noise sensitive. Living room kitchen was large and bathroom even had a washing machine which was great for laundry. Beds comfortable and people at reception pleasant and helpful. No problems at all free wifi

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fogsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

The features described in other reviews generally appear accurate. The location was wonderful (right next to Frauenkirche), parking available on-site for an extra $25, and the accommodations were good. The only problem (and this was a significant one for me) was that the elevator was broken and we had to walk up 6 flights of stairs to the unit (parking was two flights below ground plus 4 flights to our unit). The staff helped carry luggage, but there was no option to move to a ground floor unit, and they seemed indifferent to the fact that the lack of an elevator was a serious problem for a person with physical limitations. The elevator was fixed briefly but broke down again almost immediately. This problem significantly diminished our experience in Dresden as I could not easily return to the apartment during the day and it took me a long time to make it up and down the stairs. I cannot confirm the following, but another guest told me his mother had a similar problem, and that the elevator broke down frequently. As a result, if you have any sort of mobility limitations, I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Make certain that you will be able to access your room if you have mobility limitations. Do not cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarclavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

The apartment hotel is located in the center of the old town. You can walk to all the sites and restaurants. The place was spotless with all the conviences - free internet, washing machine, flat screen TV, etc. Having a fully furnished kitchen enabled us to have breakfast without having to go somewhere. It was less expensive and much more confortable than staying at one many hotels in the area. Once you check this out, it will be difficult to justify staying at a regular hotel.

Room Tip: I would choose a room on one of the top floors. You will have a better view from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasPandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

We managed to find the apartment reception quite easily after about a 20 minute walk from the train station. Staff were helpful and, as we arrived quite early, were able to leave our luggage whilst we went for lunch and a walk prior to checking in. The apartment was well laid out and had everything we needed including a small washing machine. Our only real complaint was that there were extractor machines from neighbouring restaurants at the back of our flat which were quite noisy at times and emitted cooking smells. However, other than that it proved a very handy place to stay close to all attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcraib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

We spent two nights in a one bedroom Altes Dresden apartment. Our room was in a very narrow glass building sandwiched between two restored baroque buildings. There was a floor to ceiling window which ran the whole width of the apartment which was filled with Frauenkirche. We spent hours sitting in the window gazing at the church and the lively square below. There was double glazing so the room was very quiet.

There was a large and comfortable sofa bed in the lounge room for a third person.

The apartment was very large, modern and beautifully decorated. The kitchenette was not really equipped for major meals: just a microwave and coffee machine, but perfect for breakfasts and snacks. There were two flat screen TVs: one in the bedroom and one in the lounge. There was excellent wifi.

Finding the reception was a bit confusing. We firstly went to the office on Munzgasse, because that was the address on the top of the confirmation we had. They re-directed us to the Neumarkt reception which is a souvenir store. This was around the corner from our actual apartment.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Swissotel Dresden
#2 of 118 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
#1 of 118 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#14 of 118 in Dresden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Star Inn Hotel Premium Dresden im Haus Altmarkt, by Quality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments an der Frauenkirche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments an der Frauenkirche

Property: Apartments an der Frauenkirche
Address: Muenzgasse 10, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden > Innere Altstadt
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Apartments An Der Frauenkirche Hotel Dresden
Apartments An Der Frauenkirche Dresden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing