We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must-see for all car fans!”

The Transparent Factory of Volkswagen
Book In Advance
More Info
US$187.92*
and up
Full-Day Private Tour of Dresden from Prague
Ranked #5 of 47 Tours in Dresden
Attraction details
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Must-see for all car fans!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Amazing building (looks more like a modern gallery than the car factory), excellent and very interesting tour, fantastic car tower and much more - Dresden VW factory is simply something extraordinary and an absolute must-see for every car enthusiast! Highly recommend to visit! (PS: Many thanks to Andrea Jirků, our nice, fun and very helpful tour guide!)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FrancescaDrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    82
    23
    14
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxury”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

When you visit the Transparent Factory of Volkswagen, you will really feel the luxury. It was interesting to see the factory.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank penty_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
644 reviews
234 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“A fascinating, private tour at a great price”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We have visited car manufacturing plants in Munich, Bowling Green, and Detroit. This was unlike any of them. It is an amazingly quiet environment and spotless. There are only 4 robots in the entire factory and they do those things that humans cannot do better. The rest of the assembly jobs are done by teams of workers who learn several of the many stations and can organize their work as they see fit to get the job done.

I booked our tour on line ahead of time. They will not confirm it if you try to book too far ahead but, if given dates, will get back to you once they determine the tour schedule. It may be difficult to actually see the factory in full operation. We were on the 3 o'clock tour and the workers were finishing their day. Another reviewer said they were not starting until 2:30. When booking the tour, it might be a good idea to find out about the work schedule of the day you plan to visit.

While there were several tours going on when we were there, we were the only 2 on the English tour. With the senior price of 3 Euro each, it was quite a bargain. Our tour guide William was great. His English was impeccable. He took plenty of time to answer all our questions and explain the factory's unique methods thoroughly. The hour tour lasted about 90 minutes and we enjoyed every one of them.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank solomon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Schedule in advance for a true "German Engineering" Experience”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

If you are requesting an English speaking tour email or call in advance to ensure it is running that day. We received amazing service when we booked our tour--both an email and phone call confirmation. If you are interested in manufacturing, cars or systems processes this tour will be a highlight of our trip to Dresden. Our guide was wonderful and provided details of the manufacturing process. However, you can also drop in to just see entrance to the factory without a tour. The restaurant is good but not something worth adding to your schedule. If you are driving you can use the car park--the information desk will provide a token so there is no parking fee.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkskytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Stunning building, excellent restaurant.”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This "car assembly plant" is architecturally stunning and is worth the 5 euros entry fee on its own. VW assemble the phaeton models here. This is their top of the range model and it is interesting to see the assembly process, and check out the cars after the tour.Tours in English take place at 12 and 3pm and last about an hour. When we visited in September the assembly workers did not start till 2.30 pm, so the place was eerily quiet. I would recommend having lunch and booking for the 3pm tour so that it is possible to see all the automated procedures which have been built into the plant. Lunch for two courses plus drinks was 17 euros and is provided by the 5 star Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski- so not your average canteen grub. You can also try VW's own Curry wurst which is made to a secret recipe for VW workers, It is served with chips and a tomato sauce, which again is made uniquely for VW. Delicious!!! The plant is reached on the number 10 tram from the main railway station, get off at Strassburgerplatz.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank lanky01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Transparent Factory of Volkswagen also viewed

 

Been to The Transparent Factory of Volkswagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing